Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
143
4.7 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£12.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2015
I have very fond memo0ries of beating up family and freind's while playingg Mortal Kombat. Gameplay is very repetitve and somewhat challenging(even on the beginner difficulty setting).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
FINISH HIM! Brutal fighting and awesome fatalities. And in this edition even more characters! Buy it now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Kids loved this game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
GREAT GAME!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Delivery on time and item as described. Very good game!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2012
So after Mortal Kombat's long awaited return last year, this year sees the release of the Komplete version. The game is the same but with the addition of extra downloadable content which had to be purchased separately if you bought the game last year.

This includes four new characters (Skarlet, Rain, Kenshi, and Freddy Krueger), 15 skins and three original fatalities (for Scorpion, Sub-Zero, and Reptile).

The new characters are good, they don't just look different, they feel different and add a different gameplay element. They all have their own unique moves and fatalaties, unlike some of the older games where the new characters were clearly just based on existing characters but with a different look.

The game itself is identical to the release last year, but for those of you who want a recap here you go:

So Mortal Kombat is back on your console, meaner than ever. The story starts at the end of Mortal Kombat Armageddon which was released on the PS2, before a back in time trip to save the day. The story mode has 16 chapters with an interesting storyline in classic Mortal Kombat style, fighting your way to the top before the ultimate battle.

There are different modes to play such as Arcade Ladder mode (knockout rounds where you fight your way to the top before you get to fight Shao Kahn) which keeps the game fresh once you get stuck in Story Mode and want a break fighting someone else. There are also multiplayer modes which is always great fun, and you can either play against each other or with each other against the computer.

The gameplay is brilliant, it really is a step back in time to the classic days of 2D platform games. The characters have some great combos and you'll still be able to find your favourite character and learn all their moves.

Overall it's a great game, especially if you like the traditional Mortal Kombat game style. If you didn't buy Mortal Kombat last year then buy this version, but if you already own it then the extra content probably isn't worth it.
22 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
Bought as a present so difficult to review
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2012
This is the first fighting game I have ever purchased, although I have played a few. Great graphics, a solid story and some awesome x-rays! Definitely worth it. Don't think about getting the game, just buy it. You also get 4 DLCs and Kratos who has some pretty badass moves. An absolute blast of a fighting game, GET YOUR COPY NOW!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
I am old enough to remember the controversy caused by the first Mortal Kombat game. The trauma of seeing a badly digitised sprite was supposed to cause my generation to become violent criminals! Such hysteria seems laughable now and it's an interesting reflection of modern society that the most violent Mortal Kombat ever did not provoke the slightest peep out of the press. It's safe to say the 'moral guardians' of society well and truly lost the argument.

For those who don't know, MK1 was terrible, MK2 and 3 were brilliant and then every subsequent MK was awful. I had therefore written off a series that I once considered to be my favourite in all of videogames. Then MK9 came along...

The first thing that grabbed me was ho they absolutely nailed the 'feel' of the game (something badly missing from recent instalments.) Intuitive controls, easy to pull off combos and really satisfying sound effects all combined to create a game which feels every bit as good as the acclaimed Street Fighter 4, but was arguably more user friendly.

The visuals are patchy: outstanding in places and ropey in others. The Sindel character model is particularly rough and made me feel she should have been left out of the game. Also, I wasn't keen on the hand drawn images on the character select screen.

Where MK9 excels against other games in its genre is in its sheer range of content. I doubt there has ever been a fighting game which better catered for the single player, with a huge and challenging story mode and tons of unlockables and bonus games. You could lose your life in this. The multiplayer mode offers everything you could expect it to.

Characters wise it offers all of your favourites like Sub Zero, Scorpion and Liu Kang, and there are great introductions, like Freddy Krueger. (Yes, you read that right!)

I must say I was unimpressed by the finishing moves which were graphic but unimaginative and samey. However, they are in my mind an unimportant element of the game so I wasn't too bothered.

Overall, this collection represents outstanding value for money, being one of the most enjoyable fighting games of the last console generation and the most generous in terms of content. Roll on MK10!
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Mortal kompakt is great fighting franchise and The ninth instalment is The best one in my opinion, absolutely love this game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)