Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



on 9 June 2016
My second purchase in this series. These are great poetry books for someone new to poetry. I particularly liked that there was a poem in that I had learned at school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
Got this ages ago when it was poetry week and I was all inspired to read some. Haven't looked at poetry since school. I liked it, you'll know most of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
The Kindle version is good as you can search the content, which is very handy when you can remember only a snippet. It is the nature of books of poetry books that you dip into them rather than cover to cover, so being portable is ideal.
Of course there are omissions you will think should be in there, but it would be an enormous book if it catered for everyone's esoteric tastes, which is why it has the word Favourite in the title. However, I'm sure there is more than a few people out there that think that if John Cooper-Clarke had more exposure he would be among the Favoured.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
not as enjoyable as the selrction in his earlier edition which is terrific
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
Part of the BBC series which will never lack a wanting public.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
I bought this to take to a Care Home, but unfortunately it does not contain enough of well known poems which will stimulate
some of the residents to search their childhood memories. The meanderings of Sylvia Plath and that type of poet are not generally
well known, better to have included W B Yeats, The Lake Isle of Innisfree or John Masefield, Sea Fever, they are more universally
remembered.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Very good anthology of 20th poems. Much enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
This poetry book is ideal for those new to poetry or for someone wanting to reread an old favourite. Good compilation of the classics and more contemporary poems.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 December 2014
My sister has enjoyed these poems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
Great for dipping in and out of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse