Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 18 August 2017
Very funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2010
Unfortunately, this is not the follow-up to the 9th Adrian Mole book 'The Prostrate Years' but the first 2 books combined with a couple of 'new' pages. The 'Prostrate Years' has recently appeared in paperback with an amusing CV supposedly by Adrian himself and a potted history of the Adrian Mole chronology. Both of these are of considerable interest to Molophiles but not really worth the purchase of a book that has been already read and presumably purchased.
The same criticism can be laid at the covers of this 'new' book. It is a great pity that the publishers do not make completely clear what one is actually buying when a 'new' Adrian Mole book hits the bookshelves. There are plenty of Adrian Mole offerings which have never been published which could be combined to make a slim Adrian Mole volume of material which would make an ideal appetiser that would suffice for Adrian addicts until a really new book (believed to be in 2011) appears.
The material that many have never seen could include (1) the hilarious account in the 1993 Christmas edition of the Radio Times of Adrian's "festive fowl-up", (2) the equally hilarious account in the Radio Times (?) of Adrian's Christmas 1992 & New Year 1993 in Oxford & Leicester, (3) Adrian's account in The Guardian on 4 Sept 2010 which includes his review of Tony Blair's "A Journey", (4) the account by Adrian about the filming of 'Adrian Mole: the Cappuccino Years' in the 27 January 2001 edition of The Radio Times which gives an extremely amusing insight into Adrian Mole "schoolboy poet manque, failed romantic and diarist extraordinaire" and (5) the Daily Mail (?) extract from Pandora's diary in which she attends her first Labour conference as a junior minister but is distracted by a phonecall from Adrian in which his car is the victim of a controlled explosion.
Surely these 'new' extracts would be of more interest than a rehash of old books which appear to masquerade as new chronicles of Adrian's chaotic life.
44 Comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 September 2014
The second volume in the series of Adrian Mole books, another re-read from my youth. This covers the period from the Falklands War in April 1982 to the eve of the general election in June 1983, when Adrian is just about to sit his O levels (as was I). These first two books were really good, and the humour is laugh out loud funny. The early 1980s do feel like a different world in many ways, a world without the internet and mobile phones. I was shyer than Adrian, but my family background was a lot more stable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2017
I first read this when I was 14 or so and it went straight over my head. Now, reading it as an adult it's an entirely different book to me and by turn heart breaking and funny at the same time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2015
A worthy follow up to the original and Sue Townsend manages to maintain the same high and hilarious standard of writing and revelation. This also makes for an amusing time capsule of early 80s Britain through the eyes of a confused teenager. The beauty of this book is that it effortlessly appeals to people of many age groups and is testament to the quality of the writing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2007
Sue Townsend's inimitable character, Adrian Mole, again provided me with much amusement. This is his diary circa 1982, 1983. It's wonderful to see the early nineteen eighties through the angst ridden eyes of the neglected tortured soul that is the eponymous Adrian. Okay so, he is not in actuality "a tortured soul", but Sue Townsend's brilliant portrayal of Adrian Mole's overreactions, mixed in with his literary intellect, innocence, inexplicable recesses in knowledge, and accidental humour make for another fantastic read. I simply love how unique and original the Adrian Mole diaries are. I have given it a four rather than a five because I thought the first diary was slightly better. It is still a fantastic read and I would certainly recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2009
After reading the first book in this series, I proceeded to buy all of the others and I'm reading through them (I won't say "working my way through them" because reading Sue Townsend cannot be described as "work"). That a woman well into her adult years has channeled the angst of a teenage boy fairly screams of chutzpah - that she does it so believably and humorously is nothing short of a miracle.

Adrian Mole is in the wrong place at the wrong time. His parents are in financial trouble; Margaret Thatcher is ruling the country with an iron fist; he is madly in love; he has spots. Adrian is an astoundingly naive teenager, but also kind and loving in ways that are surprising. He takes care of his elderly friends Bert and Queenie with a tenderness that belies his occasional selfish behavior. At one point in the book, he writes a poem about Queenie, and it moved me to tears.

Make no mistake, however. This novel is riotously funny.

Reference: "I lay back listlessly on the pillows and let him feel my pulse, etc. He muttered 'Bloody Camille,' as he left the room. Perhaps Camille is a drug that he's thinking of using on me." (an excellent example of the naivete, as well as the humor)

I read several passages out loud to my husband, and because I am not a native-born Brit, there were some referenced he had to explain to me. All of Adrian's experiences take place against a backdrop of Prince William's birth, the Falklands War, the Thatcher administration and the ramp-up of fears over nuclear war. I remember very well being worried about these things (I was about Adrian's age at the time they were happening) and I also remember how much of my day I spent worrying about things I couldn't control. Sue Townsend manages the reality of this feeling masterfully.

I can't wait to move on to the True Confessions of Adrian Mole.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2016
Oh my grandson read this on my wedding day. In a bout an hour, was not happy about the post but I need the book for my grand son to much when u order a lot to thing sorry
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 February 2007
It's 1982 : Margaret Thatcher is Prime-Minister and Britain is at war with Argentina over a couple of sheep-infested islands in the South Atlantic. Meanwhile, the second instalment of the Mole Diaries is being written by a spotty, fifteen year old intellectual from Leicester.

Adrian proves to be a slightly different character in this book - I suppose he's actually grown up a little. He still has a pretentious streak, he continues to be a touch insensitive at times, he doesn't always see the blindingly obvious and he still (mistakenly) sees himself as an intellectual. However, sometimes, he gets the point all too well and delivers a well-penned (not to mention a well-deserved) kick in the arse. "The Growing Pains of Adrian Mole" covers a traumatic period for Adrian : his O-Levels and CSEs are looming while the significant fallout from his parents affairs have to be dealt with. He's still in love with Pandora, though the path of true love has a few tumbles in store for our spotty Lothario. (He's very keen to see a bit more loving, though he'd happily settle for a glimpse of nipple. Pandora, on the other hand, isn't in quite such a rush). The young couple still help Bert Baxter (a war veteran in his eighties) and Queenie (Bert's recently acquired second wife). Despite Bert's hobbies - drinking, smoking and communism - Bert appears to be one of the closest friends Adrian has. Adrian still has the problem of Barry Kent, the school bully : however, some very surprising progress is made over the course of the year.

Starting in April 1982 and finishing in May 1983, some of the big news stories at the time are touched on - the arrival of breakfast television in the UK, the kidnapping of Shergar and the Falklands War, Overall, it does prove to be a very funny book - though there are a couple of sad moments and a few serious points made. Depressingly, some of the points Adrian makes are just as relevant today as they were over twenty years ago. Listening to Radio Four at one point, Adrian notes that the government has decided to spend a billion pounds on war equipment. He then mentions that one of his school's science laboratories is being closed down because it can't afford to employ a new teacher. (Blair is throwing money at the Iraq War having conveniently forgotten all about "education, education, education"). Then Adrian's Irish neighbour, Mr O'Leary, returns to Ireland to vote in the Irish General Election. On his way back to Leicester, however, Mr O'Leary is detained at the East Midlands Airport on being suspicion of being a terrorist. (Admittedly, today the focus has shifted a different group). Later, when a General Election is called in the UK, one of the candidates mentioned is Duncan McIntosh. A member of the "Send `Em Back Where They Came From Party", Mr McIntosh advocates compulsory repatriation of people with black, brown and yellow skin, the Irish, the Welsh, the Scottish and all those with Norman blood. (With all the recent hysteria about immigrants, Mr McIntosh's party would probably have a good shout at government). Well worth reading, and highly recommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2013
Fun book, the second volume of the Adrian Mole diaries. But one of the weaker in the series. Parts are absolutely brilliant, but long sections are quite frankly dull. But if you have enjoyed the first book in the series, you will propably like this one too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse