Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
104
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2015
Nora Roberts - aka JD Robb - hardly needs another review. She is a publishing phenomenon with over 200 novels under her various pen names including around 40 of the In Death series featuring future cop Lieutenant Eve Dallas and her billionaire husband Roarke. As usual, this one is set in a near-future New York with the familiar list of regular characters all present and correct. This novel initially had a strong flavour of an earlier work, Witness In Death, which also features fatal goings on in the acting business. Celebrity In Death involves the cast and crew of a film being made about one of the Lieutenant's earlier cases (the Icove murders, as covered in the excellent Origin In Death). And that was perhaps a weak point for me. Inevitably in a series with such a long run there will be some recycling of material and scenes. That seemed prominent here as well as a more Mills & Boon style concentration on the steamy relationship between Dallas and her unfeasibly rich husband. Ms Roberts started out writing in that genre but the In Death series is usually much more hard-edged. The other danger is that the characters tap dance on the edge of cliche - the troubled cop; the darkly mysterious leading man. Tossing in some pretty standard acting and actor cliches just highlights that (the bitchy and vicious actress providing the first corpse is a case in point). The story eventually takes off after a relatively slow start, with the actress murder taking place under Dallas and Roarke's noses. The Lieutenant is soon on the case, uncovering dark doings under the glitz and glamour. Ms Roberts just about gets away with it all thanks to the quality of the writing. It won't win the Nobel Prize for Literature but it is just superior entertainment, and that's difficult to achieve.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Another triumph in the Dallas/Peabody series. Every episode just gets better and better. Can't wait to get into the next one. I have nearly caught up from my last 'In Death ' marathon so it gets even better from now on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
This book is of the same standard of all JD Robb books. The lady is a first class author with a great imagination. Enjoyed a lot of her Nora Roberts books in paperback and now working my way through "in death".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2017
Excellent series great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Excellent condition and a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Very good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 February 2012
but it's still a great read! Dallas & Roarke attend a dinner party for the cast of the new film, based on Dallas' solving of the Icove case, the book having been written by Nadine Furst. During the showing of the 'gag reel', a woman is found drowned in the rooftop pool. Was it an accident or murder? Dallas is once more on the case, with Peabody at her side, and soon finds out that she on the trail of a deadly foe... Im not giving the game away, buy it! Great characters, a runaway plot and the tension builds nicely, page after page. All the old favourites are there, and it's unputdownable. JDR or as she is better known, Nora Roberts, has done it again! Classic stuff!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2012
How do you follow all the dramatic events in New York to Dallas, quite easily if your JD Robb, this book has got to be one of the best in the series, the plot very complex, an actor working on the movie "the icove project" is murdered, while at a party with Eve, Roarke, Peabody etc. The murdered actress was playing Peabody in the movie, as the film is based on a true crime book written by Nadine Cross based on an earler case which Eve and Peabody worked "origin in death" so also present at the party are "fake" Eve, Roarke etc. All this gives plenty of scope for some much needed light relief, after the truly dramatic events in the last book everything is so much more relaxed in this offering and it makes for an excellent read. Yes somebodys been murdered, but for the regular cast of characters this almost seems like a working holiday, everybodys happy and are enjoying themselves, i could not put it down, there are some hilarious puns and fun to be had avoiding confusion between "real" and "fake" characters, a book about a film based on a book about a crime which is itself a work of fiction, pure genius, it sounds like it shoudn't work, that it could turn out cheesy,but i actually found myself forgetting these people are works of fiction, and i don't think you can say more than that.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
I too am a great fan of the "In Death Series" and also of Nora Roberts' many other books but I feel a little bit let down by this particular book. Perhaps I am always expecting too much of Ms Roberts but this book was very slow and I considered it did not warm up until at least two thirds of the way through.

The switching from surnames to christian names of the acting characters were, at times, quite confusing and I also admit to missing some of the characters which are normally included in her books, and especially missed the interactions between Eve and Summerset and the commaraderie within the NYPSD HQ.

Although it was a reasonable read, on the whole, I was quite disappointed with this book - hopefully better next time with "Delusion in Death" later this year.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2012
I am incredibly biased, as I have stated previously, as I LOVE these books... This is a quieter installment than others: as stated by other reviewers, there are no car chases, near death experiences (death experiences by those that die obviously, but not for Eve), no running down muggers, etc.

BUT this is a great character catch-up piece, a bit like Memory in Death (In Death Series). All of the secondary characters are there and you get time to catch up on how each of them are doing, which is great as usually the books are so action-packed you hardly see any of them (New York To Dallas a case in point!) and then other reviewers complain that they don't see Mavis or Nadine as much as they want to! Poor JDR can't win! However, this reader wins every time a new book comes out, no matter what JDR has in store for us!

This book is slower-paced but there are still interesting twists and turns.

If you are a long-time follower of the series, it is a delicious reward to sink into this world in a frankly much nicer environment to the stench that we're usually in and to actually remember all of the different characters and how far they've come on this journey that JDR is weaving for us.

If you are a newcomer, I do believe that this book will make you want to read at least Origin in Death (In Death Series) which is what the film in "Celebrity in Death" is based. However, if you're nosy/like to do your research/whatever you like to call yourself to say you're not nosy, you will want to go back to the first book in this series, Naked in Death (In Death Series) where it all began and walk through the series with the rest of us long-timers. Lets put it this way, I've introduced several people to JDR and they are all still reading the books when they come out, just like I am! As I have lent out my copies of "Naked", I now need to by my 3rd personal copy of it as I never get it back!

I had just finished Glory in Death: In Death Series: Book 2 (In Death 2) when this book arrived and what really caught my attention in "Celebrity" were the differences, not just in Eve which I confess is where I normally see the changes, but in Roarke himself. If you don't believe me, go back to "Glory" then read "Celebrity" and see the difference! His changes over the series have been a lot more subtle but thy are still, definitely there!

As ever, I will be re-reading it again, probably starting today and enjoying every word.

Long live Eve and Roarke!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse