Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2017
Beautiful Jazz
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 February 2012
This album has that flavour of Scandinavian melancholy and I suppose it comes from the folk song elements that form the basis for a lot of the compositions. Even a tune written by the Armenian pianist Tigran, is called "Svensk Lat". So I am assuming he also got caught up in the Scandinavian atmosphere.

Tigran is the real revelation here - his piano sounds wonderful and dominates most tracks. Highly melodic with great technique and timbre - a real find. The other star name on this album is Magnus Ostrum from EST, who provides subtle contributions and is really sympathetic to the Chamber Jazz vibe on many tracks.

John Paricelli is under-used throughout and often just play rhythmic figures, but he is always musical and a real team player. This recording is not about egos and blazing solos - it is all about creating beautiful music and each track has something to recommend it - however short.

In fact the noticable thing about this album is how short some of the tunes are and at the end you are left wanting more. Danielsson has written a lot of the music and so it often feels that improvisation takes a back seat to the compositions. No doubt at a live gig, this group would involve more space and soloing - but as an album this is certainly intriguing and something that you want to listen to again and again.

I loved the overall feel and sound generated. I would recommend this to those who are looking for music that creates a definite atmosphere or ambience and not just Jazz fans.
99 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I SAY jazz doesn't as a genre, do it for me, then I hear this. Thanks to a recommendation by another reviewer, Bruce from Brighton, mentioning the magical words Scandinavian, melancholy and SHORT all together, I had a 30 sec mp3 listen and then immediately bought this. Because I do like, a lot, Jan Garbarek's blue, spacious, melancholy sax, and Liberetto definitely also has that slightly exhausted 4 in the morning feel, which hooks me in.

The easy , sleazy, languorous piano of Tigran (who of course I had never heard of, till now, not being a jazzer) is impressive and seductive. This is definitely music for a certain mood - for me, you've sat up all night, talking, one of those nights where conversation is deep, smooth, easy. Everyone has had a good time, no one wants to leave, you have become too tired to make the effort to crawl away to sleep. It's 4 in the morning, dawn is on the edge but somehow the dawning light is not yet cruel enough to show the spilled glasses, the overflowing ashtrays, the tired faces (clearly this is a long ago memory fragment - overflowing ashtrays and all), and you are at that edge where the smudged and tired faces hold a kind of beauty. You know you should leave....but maybe not quite yet.

Most of the CD is right in there in its blue smokiness. I wasn't quite so keen on the track where Tigran moans and mumbles lyrics, Hov arek sarer djan (sorry Tigran!) I think he should let his fingers do the talking! But the foray into song aside, great stuff!
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
I like this album. It's the first that I have listened to, produced by Lars Danielsson and his ensemble. I bought the album because of the title track, which is beautiful. However, the entire collection of pieces is excellent, with some real surprises such as 'Ahdes Theme' (which is not, really, 'jazzy' at all) which is very, very memorable. IMHO, the weakest track is 'Hymnen', which is a little too sombre for my liking, but taken as a collection, this is simply a brilliant album and will appeal to anyone who likes acoustic jazz.

One other point. I think the tonal balance of the mix is very good. It brings out the richness of the piano, the very architectural drum-playing, and that superb double-bass. You can turn the hifi up a bit, and it won't blast you senseless, but you'll appreciate the grainy, textured layers of each piece. Don't hold back - buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
Too often you can pick out a recording with a star studded list of 'names' on the cover and to often they can come up a little short.
Not on this recording though.
Liberetto has no fillers and a few real stand out tracks that will be long term favourites, all played by a complimentary group of musicians at the top of their game. Enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
As i said in a previous rexiew European jazz is going through a purple patch at the moment,with Andy Sheppard,Tord gusstavson,and the Porticos having recently issued new albums.
This is well up to them,Lars danielsson has surrounded himself with a star studded line up.
The album is a mixture of up tempo and slow compositions
that are played with the musicality you would expect from a band of this calibre.
the music featured on this album,is music for and from the soul,ok,there are portions of this when you can hear slight influences of Nils Petter Molvaer and Bugge wesseltoft,even a slight snippet of Eberhard Webber.
.
LARS DANIELSSON.....BASS,CELLO AND wURLITZER PIANO
TIGRAN....PIANO,VOCALS
JOHN PARRICELLI.....GUITAR
ARVE HENRIKSEN.....TRUMPET
MAGNUS OSTRUM.....DRUMS

54,37
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
This latest from Lars Danielsson lacks the sense of adventure, the width of ideas and the compositional magic of his earlier albums - Previously, it has been a real surprise to hear this fine composer in the presewnce of others who are called in to weave across the musical textures Danielssoncreates. With Libretto, I was disappointed, especially after 'Melange Bleu' and 'Tarantella' which are both astonishing. The scope offered to Tigran Hamasyan on Libretto is the really limiting factor here - he is a pianist who needs to be furnished with ideas from other, more experienced players, to deliver the goods. Here we find those experienced players - such as John Parricceli, whose work has always made its subtle imprint, and even the great Arve Henriksen, too often performing as sidemen.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
Received on time, good music, helped by addition of trumpet.
The pianist is good but doesn't seem to have the same affinity as Mozdzer
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2016
Nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)