Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
32
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.04+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2015
Being a JCVD fan I really enjoyed The Quest. It is very similar to the style of BloodSport which is a good thing. The story is a bit different and enjoyable. I am a big fan of Peter Malota which is the guy that plays the fighter from Spain that fights Van Damme. He is Albanian/American in real life and a great Instructor. In real life he is a close friend of Van Damme and has helped immensely during his career on the fighting choreography of his movies. On blu ray the movie is more than decent on quality of picture. Sometimes it looks great but at times it is average I can't explain why. I have seen other JCVD movies on blu ray and I know what a good quality blu ray looks.The movie itself is great and should be bought no doubt about that. For UK buyers this will work on your Region 2 (B) blu rays as well. I had no problems with it. Great Seller. Fast Delivery from the US. Thank You.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Chris Duboir is Kidnapped and enslaved by gun smugglers, sold by pirates and thrust into the murky underworld of gambling and kick-boxing.

His journey takes him to Muay Thai Island where martial arts are taught, and finally, the ancient Lost City.

There he must face the ultimate test of his manhood in the ancient winner-take-all competition in which the deadliest fighters from around the world employ the most spectacular feats of martial arts skills ever displayed in order to win the prized Golden Dragon.

But fighting prowess alone will not be enough for him to triumph over such daunting foes. He must reach deep inside and access all of the determination, strength of character and sense of selfless honour within in order to triumph over this final obstacle.....

When Van Damme met Bond is a really strange movie to watch and probably not the best Van Damme film to start with.

It's basically a retread of Bloodsport, set in a different time and location, with added Roger Moore. And while it's nowhere near as good as that movie, it's pretty darn good, and beautiful to look at.

Van Damme is competent behind the camera, and even thought the main action of the film is your typical video game style beat em' up, the characters are rich and a little bit different.

Van Damme is good, and Moore looks uncomfortable, but it's Van Dammes Baby, and he really tries hard with this.

Plus, he gets to fight the bloke from Hot Chocolate at the end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2000
Marvellous movie, presumably based on the same storyline as Bloodsport (kinda like a 1990's version) because of the evedential similarities in plot and the fact that it was written by both Van Damme and Frank Dux (the guy who Van Damme portrayed in Bloodsport). Ignore what the critics say about this movie and see it yourself. To conclude my review, I have to say that if you liked Bloodsport, then you're gonna love this!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
A funny, silly movie that you can enjoy so long as you are a Van Damme fan. Like an early Hollywood talking musical, this one largely saves the fights to the end in a non-stop crescendo of hand-to-hand combat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2012
My boyfriend dragged me to see this ages ago at the cinema and I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it, not being a big martial arts movie fan. But this was good fun, had a nice storyline and some good fight scenes. I really liked the idea of putting the best of the world fighters from different countries, all with their quite unique fighting styles, into one big tournament. Some good humour along the way, a nice turn from Roger Moore too and the muscles from Brussels!

The one big surprise was that JCVD actually directed this and did more than a competent job. Happy to buy it from Amazon and spent a happy evening watching it again. Oh, and the boyfriend is long gone!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2003
Jean-Claude Van Damme may not be the best actor in the world, but he's none-too-shabby behind the camera directing this turn of the century spin on the old Bloodsport/Kickboxer set-up.
The story may not be original, but the film has an agreable feel to it that reminds of other lower budget "period" successes such as The Phantom, Rocketeer, and The Shadow, all of which are tremendous fun whilst not exactly providing the most cerebral of entertainment. James Remar and Roger Moore pop up to offer capable support to Van Damme who, in the role of a man unexpectedly set on the road to high adventure, knows how to pull a few good punches and kicks out of his bag should the need arise. As you can probably guess, it does, especially once he gets out to a mystical martial arts tournament set up to find the greatest fighter in the world across all styles of unarmed combat. It goes without saying there's loads of flashy fight sequences, very stylised and nicely edited. The story hangs by a thread, as usual in this kind of thing, and again Jean-Claude manages to give us another endearing character that you back all the way to the end of the movie.
This one's obviously the first part of what should have been a series of movies but that in no way leaves this one floudering. It's 90 minutes of self-contained brainless fun. And quite well made brainless fun at that.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2008
Well, What can I say...

If you are into Martial Arts then this is the film for you. My personal favourite part of the whole film is the Martial Arts tournament. There are people competing from all over the world, so many different styles of Martial Arts, but as always the best wins, Van Damme!!

If you are a Van Damme fan, then this is one of his best and I would highly recommend it to you...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2012
for all those who liked this movie you can buy it because everything is perfect sound and picture fabulous
but there are no extra at all
i enjoy too much to watch this movie in bluray
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
This is an Amazing Film 1 of the best Van Damme films ever I love all his films but this 1 is my favourite one I would definitely recommend this title to any1 my brother also loves this film we always used to watch it xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2016
A Bloodsport clone, but ideal if you want more of this kind of (low budget) movie. If you like Bloodsport and Kickboxer, you'll like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)