Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2017
I didn't order this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
I read this as it was something different to my normal reading material.
A fantastic account of one man's POW experience, and what he and a large number of other went through just for doing their duty for their country and their families future.
I feel privileged to have spent time reading Dons story..thank you.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
I am a book person, the feel and the way you know where you were when you 1st read the book. I finally got round to seeing what all the kindle thing was about and, I picked this as my 1st kindle book as it was a free book, a subject i like and it wasn't too long page wise. After reading it, i felt as if i knew Don, both through his war life and in the autumn of his years as he re-lived his tales to family members , who thankfully have written down his memories for all to relive. It was a very easy read, and well written, both in the 1st person and 3rd person. and written with a true fondness for this man. For my 1st kindle experience i feel it will be an easy book to remember it as my 1st kindle book, in the introduction there are others listed, so I will look out for these.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
Lovely tale well written about the life of a pow would love to read more about his life on his return to the us
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
It is amazing what people endured to make the world a better place. Thank you for sharing these letters, what Don went through i hope no one today experiences. It is amazing how the supply networks continued to get information and food to and from POW's even in the heart of war. A really good read.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
This book from the start give you the feeling that it covers the life of a reluctant hero and wonderful human being, one whom every one would want to be their uncle.

Great job to bring so much out from such limited beginnings..... Enjoyed it immensely.
,
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
This is an amazing account of war and survival. I would give this to schools the length and breadth of the UK to understand why , where, respect, humility and to show that ordinary people do extraordinary things
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
A touching tale, thru letters home, of one man's war being incarcerated in a prisoner of war camp. His day to day struggle for survival and his concern for his family back home in the USA.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
A story of life in a prisoner of war camp, his thoughts and experiences, and eventual escape. He tells the story of many men who have been in similar circumstances everywhere. A good read.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
I enjoy true stories regardless of what kind of stories they are, this was great. Not really interested in history or war but this was a pleasure to read. Very glad I did.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)