Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
9
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2010
A very well written, exhaustive, inspiring, readable, and yes; fascinating book exploring all aspects of the Vikings' expansion westward. He looks into areas I certainly hadn't considered and he makes me want to find out more about the Vikings' often neglected, certainly under-appreciated, yet incredible achievements in the New World. Enthralling and (again) inspiring. Read it even if you only have a passing interest in Vikings - you'll have more than that when you're finished - I guarantee it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
Having recently read a few more general books on the vikings I became interested in the more specific issue of their settlements in North America. I found this book to be an excellent narrative on the subject, following a logical and well-reasoned path describing the various stages by which the Vikings undoubtedly reached North America. It deals objectively with the evidence, not attempting to present as "fact" that which is still speculation. Highly recommended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
I have always had an interest in anything Viking and even more in their exploration across the Atlantic.
This is an excellent account of the truth about the Viking discovery of North America and the cover up perpetrated by many nations to deny these great explorers the credit they deserve .. a Great Read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
Excellent academic work by Graeme Davis.
Highly readable and recommended for anybody interested in the Vikings and Dark Age history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2016
Highly conjectural, completely lacking in investigative and intellectual rigour and ultimately very disappointing - but on a par with much of the publisher's other offerings
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
Excellent book. Good value. fast dispatch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2016
The historical fact and proven known evidence of the Vikings in America is very very small and would fill little more than a chapter of an average book. This author manages to fill a whole book with guesswork and "What ifs" and "maybes".
If your ill or housebound with nothing to do for several days then buy it. If you are Joe Average and you buy this book you will be left with the grudging loss of many hours of your life that you will never see again !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
The author of this book does not quote his statements. Sometime I thought he was just saying things coming out from his imagination...
In addition to this, this book brings nothing new to the debate and it deals with the subject in a really naive way.
To avoid !
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
Sadly, this book does not present any new information on Vikings in America or anywhere else. A new book should contain information that was not previously known, or had never ben published.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)