Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
41
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.68


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2000
Not may survived the Russian Siberian Consentration camps of the second world war, but this man did. Haveing met the author, seen the bullet hole scars, and heared of the night mare's he had for 55 years untill he wrote this story I was compelled to get this book. Once I started, I could not put it down. His story is a testement to all who did not make it! He captur's death as you will never have seen it befor, the last words of the brave, which he and he alone can recall for all the world to here. A moving true story of one mans battel for survial and escape. D Manning
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
What a story this man has to tell. Torn from his home and family during the war and subjected to incredible hardship in Russia. The chances of him surviving at every turn were close to zero but with his own common sense and miraculous luck he survived to live a long life and have a family in England. I hope he was not haunted too much by all his near-misses. An exciting book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
Gripping. Could not put down. Fast moving. Really gets into how the person felt in those most inhumane of situations. Shows how hope and determination wins through. Puts a lot of things into perspective for us all. Problems? Do we have them? Surely not in light of the suffering these people experienced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2009
I purchased this book largely on the endorsement of other reviews and i'm so pleased to have been able to learn of the incredible story that Krupa tells. The book is absorbing from page one and grips you throughout. A truly inspirational story of one man's will to survive and escape oppression.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
An absolute stunning book which gave an insight as to how the Stalinist country worked. The lack of concern for human life and the survival or otherwise of people of Poland . A remarkable story of survival by one determined , educated and resourceful man . One day a film !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
Absolutely gripping, a brilliant thriller if it was fiction, being non fiction makes the reading all the more can't put downable. Respect to all the men women and children that suffered under the Soviet hammer and survived the horrors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
If you ever doubt that freedom is worth fighting for read this book. A compelling read that is hard to put down and will stay with you for some time after reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Book of determination, hope, strength and faith amazing story ! I would recommend to anyone to read thank you Michael for sharing your journey with us all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
Excellent read, hard to put down. Inspiring, touching & very well told story of one man's determination for survival throughout cruel times of WWII.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2016
What a story this man has to tell. Really is up there with the best real life accounts I've read. Give it a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)