Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Dead Genesis DVD
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 June 2012
Why do they fight the dead? So you won't have to.
I bought this dvd despite the one star reviews because, hey, i like zombie flicks I was pleasantly surprised to find that is quite good.
A young reporter out to film a documentary on our heroes in the from line finds out that they are not heroes and why they actually fight. Because fighting zombies kills your humanity, better us than you friends.
Zombies are a backdrop to the psychology of war and what it is like to be a frontline grunt surrounded by death everyday with no place to call a safe have. Why do they go on day by day? For their buddies in the unit and because they don't really have any other choice.
Yes the zombies are slow. People always underestimate them, but they don't sleep or get tired. Watch your back.
I was pleasantly surprised. Good flick.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2012
you know what,poor simply doesn't describe this film,i actually turned it off after around 45 mins as the acting was poor,the idea was terrible,camera scenes were bad to say the least and the zombies were outdated like something out of 'dawn of the dead'(original version),and the gun shots sounded like them cap guns you got as a kid,and where the hell do people get off writing rubbish like 'Romero would be proud'as if,this film doesn't even deserve 1 star,please don't be fooled by the statements on the front cover or the good looking picture on the DVD cover,THIS FILM IS TERRIBLE!!!!
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2015
I don't usually write reviews but as no one else has here goes! This is not a high budget film, it's not really a low budget film either, it's more a tiny budget film. I can only image how much the director wanted to use an urban setting but is stuck with a few people running around in a wood shooting zombies. The worst part of the limited budget is the make-up on the zombies which you just have to see through or it'll ruin the film for you. These are traditional slow zombies who really pose no threat at all and consequently, in a pastoral setting, their is no real tension. Still the acting is ok and the script writing above average it's just unfortunate that the lead actress is a little out of her depth. What you're left with is an analysis of the motivations of the individuals shooting the zombies and I feel this could have been exploited much more with better characterisation - what happens between the religious zombie killer and the family man zombie killer is only really dealt with after they've gone off into the woods together. Still there are a couple of good scenes - I liked the on where the zombie was taking his dog for a walk, and a few interesting moral dilemmas to consider. Overall a film to rent, see once and send back rather than buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2015
This movie really made me think more about the characters and the challenges of living with other humans in a society without proper law enforcement or military defense to defend against the overwhelming Undead. Some very cool makeup effects, too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2012
Bad acting, poor scenes, bad direction, excruciating pace and bad camera work make this a film I wish I had avoided. I saw the German release of this in English which was released earlier than the UK one. Of the 14 reviews on the German Amazon site all gave this film 1 star. I was the first to review this film on the English Amazon site and 2 hours later 2 other reviews are suddenly there cheerleading for the film and giving it 4 stars despite the film not being released yet for another 5 days. I am sceptical about some of the other reviews here and will check back after the 30th April when the DVD actually comes out. Nice to see some other new reviews are here with people also saying how much this disliked the film.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2016
Some good special effects, don' make a good movie. This is not a good movie, plenty of gruesome scenes, shaky camera work, and a lot of talk in between, but it is so boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2012
Really poor film!! can someone please tell me who writes the reviews for inmagazine.ca? they described this pile of dog doo doo as "A great Zombie Movie...The bar has been raised"!!!!!!!!is this a joke, this person obviously is 3 years old or completely spaced out of his or her head!!
I didnt have a bloody clue what this pile of crap was all about! it was supposed to be about Moral Ambiguity of a War on Zombies???? Guys I would describe this as a Moral Ambiguity on this films script!!
Do yourselves a favour and miss this off your Christmas Card List or better still, send a copy to your boss!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2015
Dreadful acting, cheap and rubbishy film, turned off after 10 minutes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2012
Being a zombie fan, it's great to see titles released under the radar like Dead Genesis.

I follow all the related genre publications, and just when you think you have all the releases covered, then a little gem like this turns up from nowhere and increases your passion for the genre.

I thoroughly enjoyed this clever feature, a different take, and made very well with a strong storyline that kept the juices flowing throughout.

I was drawn to the film partially due to the sleeve quotes, 'Romero would be proud', and 'The Must See indie horror film of the year', both are big quotes, so I felt the film must hae warranted this support, and on watching, I understand why, and wasn't disapointed.

Fellow Zombie fans, partake and enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2012
Really enjoyed this film which takes the zombie genre in a different direction. The first 20 mins of the film, from the brilliant opening scenes to the spread of the zombie virus really set the tone well. Like I said overall I really enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here