Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
15
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2017
What. A. Voice!
I actually bought this for a friend who loved listening to the album on my iPhone whilst on holiday.
It's one of those rare albums where every track is brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
I did not buy this as a cd for myself but as a present for a friend as I already owned it. Lee Fields is a soul singer who has found success late in his career, his sound is that of a classic soul singer. I found the sound reminiscent of Bobby Womack in the gruff sound of his voice which conveys a similar passion on tracks of his own compositions and an unusual cover version of the Rolling Stones 'Moonlight Mile' this makes for another example in the renaissance of classic soul singers such as Charles Bradley, Martha High and Sharron Jones.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
Listening to this album is like taking a step back to the 1970's when soul singers had great voices, great songs and great bands backing them. Everything is right here. A fantastic collection of original songs possibly let by Jagger-Richards 'Moonlight Mile', as this was the only track that didn't knock me out. I immediately went and bought his earlier album, which was good, but it didn't measure up to this. Definitely one of my favourite albums this year and great to know real soul records are still being released.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
GREAT TALENT , BETTER THAN ALL RECYCLED GARBAGE AVAILABLE. The masses should listen to Lee Fields instead of so called "TALENT SHOWS".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
Lee Fields' career stretches back as far as 1969, laying down rough vocals on various independent records worth seeking, such as the sessions he did with "Raw Soul" and of course his highly collectible solo album from 1979 "Let's Talk It Over". So when he made a comeback in the late nineties, he delighted those that knew him for "The Funky Screw", by bringing back fire, grit and funk.

But Lee has traded his heavyweight funk gloves - for now that is - and has taken his place, with distinguished authority as the King of Sunday Soul. Expertly produced by Michels & Silverman at Truth & Soul in Bushwick NY, this is T&S's second solo LP for Fields, following on from 2009s "My World", which I positively plead you to buy, such is its quality. "Faithful Man" essentially continues that experience, sounding, warm and fuzzy, blending the rough with the smooth, this album will best be enjoyed with the sun on your face.
The young Brooklyn band, dubbed The Expressions provide soulful backing - beautiful melodies and soft strings sweep under Field's honest delivery in the perfect blend of refined versus raw. Horns dance around the choruses and punctuate in sharp retort. The breath between words is frozen in stunned poise as the arrangements remind us of a peak James Brown in the reflective moments of "It's a Man's Man's World". Take the beautiful "You're The Kind Of Girl", its epic delivery providing an uplifting high. Another stand out track "I Still Got It" affirms how you can take his every possession but Fields will still have "it". Now of that you can be sure. Before he leaves, "Walk On Thru That Door" builds into another epic that might have made Isaac Hayes proud to have arranged. T&S once again prove they are the production team to watch as they get the very best from Fields in a collaboration that, judging on the results, seems to inspire all involved.

Legends have been and gone - the ever-youthful Lee Fields has more than endured - he is still showing the rest how it should be done. True soul.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Great album from a sixties artist who I originally was not aware off. Thanks to Craig Charles for playing the CD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
I bought this as a gift after hearing a track from an earlier album and it didn't disappoint. It is a fab album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
My son chose this for me to buy for his birthday. So was happy to receive it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
One of the best albums I've ever heard - 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
very good. really good soulful voice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£14.73
£14.09
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)