Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
42
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2017
It was good to read right through, but I had to gloss over a couple of the longer genealogies. As far as I am aware, this is the best source for the story of Herakles, which is why I bought it, but it also contains summaries of every other Greek myth too. It is not a replacement for Homer and the Latin greats like Ovid and Virgil because they give a depth of experience that this does not, but its worth lies in its thoroughness. I am sure that I shall return to this many times for reference. Ample footnotes are at the back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Great item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Yes this is a good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
A complicated book makes interesting reading x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
The main literary source for students of Greek mythology is the so-called 'Apollodori Bibliotheca' (Library of Apollodorus).
It was compiled in the first century AD and was the first attempt to unify Greek mythology. It's the only work of his kind to survive from classical Antiquity. The Library of Apollodorus is a unique guide to Greek mythology, from the origin of the Universe to the Trojan war.

It's a pity though that a lot of the myths in this work are a summary of the original story. Nonetheless it's the most important source of Greek mythology and the main source of "The Greek Myths" by Robert Graves.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
A bit confusing with so many names and not helped by the lack of details. Nevertheless, this is a good book for a general introduction into the major characters and stories. Use as a reference book only.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
A very complicated book not easy to discover the facts about any particular person, more a reference work for a well read student of mythology.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
This in parts can be very heavy going, luckily the introduction fills in a lot. Heavy on the detail, this is certainly not the action packed tales of Greek mythology we're spoon fed as kids, but, it's worth ploughing through it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
I bought this book in order to gain a better understanding of greek mythology in my English Literature course and so far it has been really helpful
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Where it all came from - between this and Metamorphoses you can find just about anything related to Greek Myth and history
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse