Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
20
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2016
I bought this Album, on vinyl of course, the copy of which I still own, on its release day back in 1978. I have just bought a CD copy ...38 years later. As good a recommendation as any I can think of. Same with their next album "Metal Box", I still have the metal box 12" Film Can style container and own a copy of the CD "Plastic Box". You cannot have enough PIL.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
The fantastic, amazing, weirdo and powerful music of the great PIL! I bought all the remasterized CDs and the sound is much better, clean and clear. And the New covers and internal parts in the case are just great! Amazing music with Johnny Lydon!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
By 1979, there was a serious belief system that the anger and aggression pushed by punk metaphorically swept the floor, and opened the door to a completely new form of popular music.

Adventurous, powerful, bass-heavy, with reggae influences, this album represented a declaration of intent. Rock fans may hanker for more material like the pumping title track (one of the most thrilling singles of the decade). Instead, the album presses into several directions, carving paths which the faint-hearted dare not follow.

It all fell to pieces after the second album and while PIL and other acts would still make challenging music that even sold well, the post-punk dream was dashed on the rocks by the early 1980s.

Listen to this, and feel what could have been... the original CD sounded excellent for an old edition but this remaster patches in the space and bass which were previously only detectable on the original vinyl.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
This better remaster brings back just how fresh & challenging PIL were at the time.

Now I want Second Edition...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
All lovers of alternative music listen to this album....a transition between 3 chord punk
to ...well the most original band this century changing the face of music and experimentation
with sound and rhythm. It is better to try to be different and fail than not to try at all
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
Debut album from PIL probably the best album after the Second Edition LP
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2016
One of the most influential bands of the early 80's. Sadly when I saw them live in Bristol in 1984 they were a dissapointment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT. Miss you dawn every day. IT's been a long time now, how about giving me a call.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Classic pil album very pleased with the speedy dilivery service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
A few realy good songs , generally pretty good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)