Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 4 July 2016
I first watched this film on a popular video streaming service and when I first saw the name of this film I was quite sceptical as it isn't very catchy or informative, however, I thought I would give it a try as it looked different. After watching this film I immediately purchased this DVD so I could own it; the story is imaginative, there is romance, action, mystery and great special effects and the great thing is that it isn't too gory to not be a children's film. In my opinion it is a great film.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2015
Ignore the critics on this one. Its a great retelling of an old story and despite the headlines about it being the biggest flop of all time it has brains and beauty. It felt a little like Star Wars in its epic reach but I guess there is no accounting for taste. In terms of the key elements here are my scores out of 10.

Visual 10/10
Story 7/10
Character development 7/10 (Could have told a bit more but it would have been 3 hours)
Twists 10/10
World building 7/10 - Too much for some to take in (Not me though)
Overall 7.5/10

I would (and will) watch this one again.

Really this should have been two movies but Disney wanted to create an epic feel. I think perhaps some people lost engagement with the story because they were being asked to digest too much information about John and the alien races of Mars. Its a great shame that this one didn't go on to be the franchise that we all hoped it would. The interesting fact is that it grossed $73m domestically in the US but a massive $211m outside of the US with the most successful country being Russia ($33m) With a budget of $250m and total income of $284m this movie made money .... but just not enough. It comes to something when a film takes over quarter of a billion at the box office and is called a flop. I leave it to your own judgement.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2015
With all the negative reviews it only seemed fair to buy this when it was cheap. :)
I can see why it was a huge flop, but..... Let's stop there and view this at face value.
It's a complicated book and converting this into a 'family friendly' film under 2.5 hours is going struggle.

If anyone has seen The Golden Compass, or the early 80's film Dune might agree, there some things that just don't convert to films well, mainly because of the dilema of explaining 'plot' over keeping the film moving and entertaining.
I'd say give it a watch and see for yourself. Disney has done a good attempt trying to give the audience a watchable film, loosely understanding plot and big spectacle CG scenes. Yes, a few of scenes had you raising a puzzled eyebrow, but mainly because things were not explained well before another scene comes crashing in and takes over.

Some of the ideas are as 'out there' as some of the last 3 Starwars films - let's create the most bizarre creatures which means creating an even more strange scene to fit them in. But there is a story there, if complicated to follow, it has light hearted/funny moments throughout the film for family effect, so kids get the big CG scenes with big creatures and big explosions and the adults.., well, one adult in our house said "don't get this" and promptly went upstairs, while the rest of us stayed.. In a nutshell, that's it, some are going to love it (kids) as they dont really follow the films underlying story, whilst the adults will be split..

It's a rainy Sunday afternoon viewing...

So in short, the film could have been better, but you'd have to do a 'Lord of the Rings' 4 hour version making it slow and drawn out, and even then, people might still not get it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2015
This movie is often thought of as a massive flop (when it made close to $300m worldwide) but still flopped due to it's massive budget. Many don't know of this film, but I guarantee you that when you watch this film, you will not only be impressed, but blown away by the story, the effects and the action on the screen. This deserved to be a box office smash, because when you look at other films that make hundreds upon hundreds of millions worldwide when they really don't deserve it as the film is only hype, John Carter deserves the accolades and the sequel that it never got, as this film is a lot better than the mainstream sci-fi/fantasy/actions films out there. All in all this film is tremendous, with everything you want from a summer blockbuster. I recommend it, and when you see it, you will too! Move over Star Wars, Avengers Assemble, Comic Book Heroes movies - John Carter is coming through!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 August 2015
This 2012 sci-fi fantasy adventure is told in flashback after the sudden death of John Carter (Taylor Kitsch), as his nephew, Edgar Rice Burroughs (Daryl Sabara) reads Carter's journal. After a run-in with Apache’ Carter takes refuge in a cave but finds himself transported to Mars [Barsoom] where his bone density gives him apparent super-hero abilities such as being able to jump high and perform feats of incredible strength. Here he finds a raging Civil War and is captured by the green four armed Martians [or Tharks].
The world created is credible and is typically a Victorian era creation of the future, fantastic insect like flying machines and a mobile city all highly over-engineered with metal beams and huge cogs. The acting is good, the special effects superb [in the main] and well filmed, whilst featuring heroines in distress, the world, desolate and decaying, futuristic cities and a culture and science uniquely different to our own. While in the background are the mysterious Therns who have an agenda of their own.
The disc opens to a language selection screen offering most European languages, selection takes you into some Disney ads, then your in the main menu offering few real features; Play, bonus features [documentary & commentary], scene selection, set-up [languages and subtitles] and sneak peaks [a short collage of Disney cartoons].
The film failed to recoup its production cost but that doesn’t make it a bad movie. It does take a while to get into the main story, but it’s never slow or boring, tending to keep a good jogging pace throughout. It’s a fun adventure with no swearing or nudity and is only a 12 rating due to some of the ’fantasy’ violence. Easily gains a ***** thumbs up if you want a “Buck Rodgers” meets “Indiana Jones” adventure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2016
The first time I saw this movie was on Netflix, & I was pleasently surprised as I quite liked it. Then I saw it a second time on TV, & enjoyed it even more. Then I found out that the critics slammed the film, & that it wasn't popular with cinema goers only wiping it's nose at the box office. I find that incredibly hard to understand, as this is a good movie. I bought it on Blu-Ray to watch again, & I thoroughly enjoyed it yet again. I lent it to a mate (not telling him anything about it so he had no preconceptions), & he said it was the best film he'd seen all year.

The CGI is spectacular for the most part, & the Tharks look utterly stunning. The story is great too, & the guy playing Carter does a damn good job. I think that this is one of the most underated movies of recent years, & that it will become a hidden gem to future generations. Give your eyeballs a treat to the 250 million dollars they lavished on this movie, & ignore all the miserable naysayers. This is retro science fiction/fantasy action as it's best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2018
I watched John Carter with my 17 year old son. It was his recommendation. I hadn't seen since it came out. It is one of my son's favorite movie. I enjoyed it and recommend it as a show to get your children to do something with you that is different. I was impressed that the story was written by Edgar Rice Burroughs. It was an interesting coincidence but earlier in the day I'd seen at a book stall at our local Pannier Market an old collection of Edgar Rice Burroughs novels, which included John Carter novel. I think I will go back and purchase the collection if it doesn't cost too much and see how far the movie deviated from the original story. What I like about the story is that it is more fantasy with a splash of science fiction. The characters and plot are fun. The original books were written in the teens during the 1900's. Great movie making - very imaginative, possibly a future classic movie that young and old will enjoy for generations. Well worth a second look with the family and definitely worth a first watch on a rainy cold day. Always wondered what they thought was happening on Mars before they could get a closer look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2014
JOHN CARTER 3D [2012] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] Star Wars for a New Generation! Brimming With Spectacular Effects! Lost in Our World, Found in Another!

Unleash the full power of this sweeping action-adventure as it explodes off the screen and into your living room in cosmic 3D Blu-ray — the absolute best you can get at home.

From Academy Award® winning filmmaker Andrew Stanton [2008 Best Animated Film, ‘WALL-E’] comes ‘JOHN CARTER.’ Set on the mysterious planet of Barsoom (Mars), and based on Edgar Rice Burroughs’ classic novel, John Carter is a war-weary former captain who’s inexplicably transported to Mars. Reluctantly embroiled in an epic conflict, he rediscovers his humanity when he realizes the survival of Barsoom rests in his hands. Stunning special effects, great characters and villains — and complete with extraordinary bonus features — ‘JOHN CARTER’ is a heroic and inspirational adventure that will thrill you in heart-stopping 3D Blu-ray.

FILM FACT: Awards and Nominations: ASCAP Awards: Win: Top Box Office Films Michael Giacchino. Annie Awards: Nominated: Best Animated Effects in a Live Action Production for Sue Rowe, Simon Stanley-Clamp, Artemis Oikonomopoulou, Holger Voss, Nikki Makar and Catherine Elvidge. Nebula Awards: Nominated: Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation for Andrew Stanton, Mark Andrews and Michael Chabon. Golden Trailer Awards: Nominated: Golden Fleece for Ignition Creative and Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. International Film Music Critics Association Awards: Win: Best Original Score for a Fantasy/Science Fiction/Horror Film for Michael Giacchino. Nominated: Film Music Composition of the Year for John Carter of Mars for Michael Giacchino. Saturn Awards: Nominated: Best Special Effects for Chris Corbould, Peter Chiang, Scott R. Fisher and Sue Rowe.

Cast: Taylor Kitsch, Lynn Collins, Samantha Morton, Willem Dafoe, Thomas Haden Church, Mark Strong, Ciarán Hinds, Dominic West, James Purefoy, Bryan Cranston, Polly Walker, Daryl Sabara, Arkie Reece, Davood Ghadami, Pippa Nixon, James Embree, Philip Philmar, Figs Jackman, Emily Tierney, Edmund Kente, Rupert Frazer, Nicholas Woodeson, Kyle Agnew, Don Stark, Josh Daugherty, Jared Cyr, Sean Carrigan, Dusty Sorg, Christopher Goodman, Amanda Clayton, Akima, Joseph Billingiere, Aldred Montoya, Phil Cheadle, David Schwimmer, Arnie Alpert, Ian Ray, Peggy Clements, Evelyn Dubuc, Jhil McEntyre, Daniel O'Meara, Emma Clifford, Oliver Boot, Rebecca Sarker, Philip Arditti, Jon Favreau, Art Malik, Holly Weston, Gary Milner, Cate Fowler, Darwin Shaw, Eileen Page, Simon Evans, Myriam Acharki, Steven Cree, Garry Tubbs, Jeremy Booth, Jill Baker (voice), Devin Allen (uncredited), Christian Black (uncredited), Ekaterina Botziou (uncredited), Bern Collaco (uncredited), Shane B. Cook (uncredited), Hasan Dixon (uncredited), Matt Lasky (uncredited), Morgan Lester (uncredited), Thomas J. Post (uncredited) and Jacqui Shaw (uncredited)

Director: Andrew Stanton

Producers: Bob Roath, Colin Wilson, Jim Morris and Lindsey Collins

Screenplay: Andrew Stanton, Mark Andrews and Michael Chabon

Composer: Michael Giacchino

Cinematography: Daniel Mindel

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HR Master Audio, Spanish: 2.0 Dolby Digital and English: 2.0 Audio Description

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Spanish, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Finnish and Portuguese

Running Time: 132 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 2

Studio: Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: On the run from the Union army in 1868 out to conscript a former Confederate soldier from the Virginia militia, John Carter [Taylor Kitsch] discovers a medallion in a cave which transports him to Barsoom, which he later learns is Mars, where he finds that another civil war is taking place, this time between rival factions of the dying planet. In order to quell the war, the leader of Helium Tardos Mors [Ciaran Hinds] has offered his warrior daughter Dejah Thoris [Lynn Collins] in marriage to the powerful leader of the Zodangans Sab Than [Dominic West], not knowing that Sab plans to use his special ray to take complete control of the planet, guided by a group of mysterious god-like shape-shifters called Therns headed by the devious Matai Shang [Mark Strong]. Meanwhile the nomadic four-armed creatures the Tharks are the first to discover Carter when he appears on the planet, and he eventually gains the trust of their leader Tars Tarkas [Willem Dafoe], becoming their ace in the hole of bringing the planet back under peaceful control.

With the über-strange names of all of the Martian characters, including the dog-like pet who early claims John Carter as his master and who comes in handy at just the right moments, screenwriters Andrew Stanton, Mark Andrews, and Michael Chabon have their work cut out for them in making their viewers comfortable with their alien landscape, this apart from the bookended sequences set in 1881 involving John Carter and Edgar Rice Burroughs, which causes some confusion with the initial viewing, but becomes much clearer, upon a second look, and is of course one of the great benefits of viewing it on the Blu-ray format. With John Carter’s Earth-oriented body mass allowing him to leap tall buildings and cliffs at a single bound, one is surprised that these leaping experiences, which happen throughout the sci-fi film aren’t more exhilarating to watch, and the film is burdened by being set on the rather desolate-looking, arid Mars and with these green-skinned creatures that aren’t that appealing or endearing. Andrew Stanton covers the bases with battle scenes and a rip-roaring confrontation in the arena, promised in the early going and finally occurring much later, with its echoes of Rocky as the crowd chants John Carter’s assumed name, “Virginia” which is one of the films recurring gags that works, after he’s inevitably victorious. But the fun is missing: the effects are fine, the actors are robust and doing their all, but there’s a déjà vu quality to all of it. The cosmetics may be different on the aliens, but the battles and fights are all too familiar, and with the leading characters not having much chemistry together, the movie emerges as rather blankly forgettable despite the hundreds of millions having been spent on attempting to make it unique.

Taylor Kitsch seems a bit young for the leading role and a little lacking in charisma, too, particularly paired with the exquisitely alluring Lynn Collins as his great love. She’s sensational: very Amazonian in her martial tendencies and with gorgeous make-up and costumes that accentuate her physical attributes. And the pity is that the film has an actor who has the necessary presence and age to pair seductively with Collins, James Purefoy who’s been relegated to the secondary role of right-hand man to Ciaran Hinds’ leader Tardos Mors. Dominic West makes a fine snarling villain, and Mark Strong is his obvious foil: the quietly calculating snake that lies in wait ready to strike at the right moment. Willem Dafoe makes effective use of his voice and body movements in his motion-captured performance as Tars Tarkas.

3D Blu-ray Video Quality – The film’s 2.40:1 theatrical aspect ratio is faithfully delivered in a stunning 1080p transfer. Except for a few shots where images aren’t as sharp as the shots surrounding them, image clarity is first-rate with lots of detail to be seen in those Martian landscapes, the alluring costumes, and the facial features, including the hypnotising blue eyes of Lynn Collins’ Dejah Thoris. Flesh tones are accurate and appealing. Black levels are deep, and overall colour saturation levels are always well controlled but quite rich. The white subtitles used when the Martians are speaking in their own language are very easy to read. The film was converted into 3D after the fact which accounts for the rather unexceptional stereoscopic effects of the imagery. Of course there is no forward projection even if there is one shot of a gate explosion that sends sparks flying forward but which never reach past the front of the frame. There’s fair depth to the image, but nothing about it seems extraordinary. There is some fairly impressive use of people and objects on separate planes which gives the image an amazing 3D illusion.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio sound mix does exactly what a big budget special effects extravaganza is expected to do aurally. There are plenty of split effects to keep the front and rear channels continuously occupied, and Michael Giacchino’s score gets superb placement throughout the sound field. There’s an occasional bit of directional dialogue though most of it has been placed in the centre channel. There are occasional problems, however, with some of the dialogue being heard over the explosive special effects and music.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Audio Commentary: Commentary with Director Andrew Stanton and Producers Jim Morris and Lindsey Collins: Director Andrew Stanton and producers Jim Morris and Lindsey Collins deliver a spirited overview of the film, beginning with the project all but dropping into their laps and quickly moving on to its development, casting, production and visual effects. Great care is devoted to outlining the technical challenges, commenting on the live and computer-generated performances, and charting the 100-year journey from page to screen.

Special Feature: 360 Degrees of John Carter [1080p] [35:00] This extensive day-in-the-shoot production diary and pays a visit to the costume and makeup departments, and follows Andrew Stanton as he goes about his routine, and watches as the cast and crew prepare to film several shots.

Special Feature: 100 Years in the Making [1080p] [10:00] Though much too short, this excellent feature examines Edgar Rice Burroughs' life, the genesis and success of the original "John Carter" series, the many attempts filmmakers from almost every era made to bring his stories to the silver screen, and the eventual adaptation that finally made it into theatres some one-hundred years later.

Deleted Scenes with Optional Commentary by Director Andrew Stanton [1080p] [19:00] Ten deleted scenes are available, especially among them an alternate opening, but they're in various states of disrepair. Some have been cobbled together using near-finalised footage and storyboards, some have been hurried to the disc with incomplete visual effects, and some rely on overlays and pre-visualisation CGI to convey the events of any given shot.

Special Feature: Barsoom Bloopers [1080p] [2:00] This is a very short “gag reel” of sorts and proves to be pretty funny, ending with some dancing.

Finally, as was the case in theatres, ‘JOHN CARTER’ needn’t be experienced in 3D at home. While the 3D Blu-ray 3D is totally fantastic, it’s seldom a necessity and this film is just as enjoyable in 2D. The 1080p picture quality is absolutely fantastic, as is the surround audio experience, though nothing short of impressive audio and video should be expected out of any big release nowadays. Overall, Disney has offered a solid release of ‘JOHN CARTER,’ in not only bringing a strong sci-fi film to home audiences, but also emphasising the importance of this film actually getting made and the relationship of its story to just about every sci-fi film that has been created over the last 100 years. With all the reviews I have seen, there is far too many negative views against this, especially they keep going on how it was a massive flop, well I couldn’t care less, as I found this an amazing 3D sci-fi adventure and viewing it the first time blew me away and I have viewed this 3D Blu-ray several times and it still hold a lot of magic visual extravaganza and it is such a shame that Disney has pulled the plug on another follow up, especially as the Edgar Rice Burroughs boos are massive hit with people and so despite no more films, I will still love watching this film with many viewing, as the 3D makes this film such an exciting visual extravaganza and a total joy to view. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2014
This film was much better than expected. It was brave to adapt a story that has a lot of elements in it that have been proved wrong over the course of scientific investigation since it was written but it is still a great story. It probably suffers from the fact that some of its best plot elements that were original at the time have been copied so many times since. I'm too young to have read the original stories when I was young but I can understand why they appealed and it is a shame that this film bombed at the box office. If you like sci-fi adventure movies and old comics and sci-fi novels you'll probably love it. It is also refreshing to see such strong, intelligent female characters in such an old story rather than the incapable damsel in distress that used to be such a common feature back then. The 3D is great too and that dog is wonderful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2014
Andrew Stanton directs his first live –action film with this Walt Disney 2012 production of an Edgar Rice Burroughs story called “Princess of Mars” his previous credits include “A-Bug’s Life”, “Finding Nemo” and “WALL-E”, John Carter is set in 1868 where an ex American civil-war confederate veteran finds through an accident himself transported to Mars which is inhabited by green 12 foot tall barbarians who take him prisoner, he escapes their clutches only to find a princess in need of someone to save her, Taylor Kitsch stars as John Carter with Lynn Collins as the princess the running time is 132 minutes.

This 50GB region free disc is encoded using MPEG4-AV codec which is in full 1080p resolution which delivers a reference standard picture this shows off the visually stunning special effects with a beautiful range of colours and huge amount of blacks that come into play during the night scenes and ones set in caves and inside buildings along with a thunderous English DTS-HD HR 7.1 audio soundtrack which is also of reference standard not only is the dialogue easy to understand, the sound effects from the various creatures add to the atmosphere and during the many action scenes with combat the clanging of swords along with the outbursts from energy weapons burst from the speakers with deep and satisfying bass sounds with loads of detail with a big sound stage with a great deal of separation so all the audio tracks which don’t over-power each other and the music does not at any point overpower also, there is also a Spanish audio track of the same standard , the disc also come the following Subtitles;- English for the hard of Hearing, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Norwegian and Swedish.

The disc contains the following special features:- 360 degrees of John Carter, 100years in the making, Deleted Scenes with optional commentary from Director Andrew Stanton, Barsoom bloopers, Audio commentary from Andrew Stanton and producer Jim Morris and Lindsey Collins.
This is an excellent test disc with its both stunning picture and soundtrack that will show off your TV and surround set-up to great effect an excellent disc to add to any Sci-fi fans library....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse