Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
90
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£11.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2011
A very comprehensive reference of modern-day English words and phrases, including UK, US and Australian usage. It is quite large due to Collins practice of assigning a new headword to each variant phrase rather than including them within one long section under one heading. The definitions are outstandingly clear and easy to read. It also has a good selection of scientific and technical terms, as well as biographical, historical and geographical references. A book for modern usage rather than obscure spellings. It also has a ribbon. Pronunciation is via the International Phonetic symbols and not the more natural ones used for example by Chambers. A very good buy - my only criticism is that its a bit heavy to hold.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
I purchased this for my iPad as I needed a decent dictionary and thesaurus for travelling. It turns out that it is like a book in that you have to turn the various pages to try and find a word. It can take ages and ages to try and locate a particular word, in fact it takes much longer than an actual book. There is no easy search facility. Very disappointed.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
As a edictionary, this is a failure in that one can not search for a word without huge difficulty, or a wait so long that it's possible to make a coffee in the time it takes. DOESN'T MATTER HOW MANY WORDS THERE ARE, OR HOW GOOD THE DEFINITIONS IF YOU CAN'T FIND THEM. Don't buy it!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
This is a large dictionary, one for the bookshelf, not a carry-around. It is comprehensive, well bound and the entries are presented pleasingly, with quite a lot of etymological and historical detail. It has a modern, contemporary approach to definitions, as well as including the classical ones, and what I liked was the wealth of biographical detail - why, even Zimbabwe's Robert Mugabe gets a mention! This gives the work a slightly encyclopaedic aspect. Internet and computer language/jargon is well covered.

Good value for a modest price.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Just not for the kindle.
It's a bit embarrassing really. This could have been a versatile resource had somebody thought to tweak it for use on A digital platform.
I may be wrong, but I can't find the thesaurus. It's not an easy book to navigate.
Poor.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Whilst this product works perfectly on Windows 7 PC it does not work on either Kindle Fire or Android smart phone. This is recognized by Harper Collins on their website and it is a pity that this is not made clear on the Amazon website. See [...] Collins English Dictionary & Thesaurus
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
Collins English Dictionary is a good dictionary. Yes, it is! It is so good that I own each edition from the 6th to 10th edition. The idea to buy a newest 11th edition has formed in my mind for quite a while. With the release of the 9th edition, the publisher provided a free download of a Windows-based application for print version owners. The 10th edition was published at the time when mobile devices were growing in popularity. I was happy to have an iOS version of the 30th anniversary edition, i.e. the 10th edition, running on my iPhone 4 and iPad.

An electronic version, either Windows-based or iOS-based, has proven highly efficient, portable, and usable. It's hard for a user like me who feels completely at ease with electronic versions to go back to use a dictionary by turning pages. I've shelved my plan to buy an 11th edition pending a direct reply from the publisher. Unfortunately, the publisher remains indifferent to my query regarding the above question. I sent three emails to the customer support at HarperCollins Publishers last month. Nobody has replied to me so far. What's wrong with HarperCollins? Should I believe they keep publishing good dictionaries?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
I expected it might have a search option, but no. It's harder to use than the paper version. It takes about 5 minutes to find an entry. In all a waste of money.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
Quick delivery and well packaged. A little bit grubby at the top of the dictionary on the white pages, and tiny rip on the outer sleeve. Nice red ribbon. Almost like an encyclopeodia and so is heavy (7 1/4 kilos). Wanted another Collins as been very pleased with previous pocket one. I'm very happy with this useful tool and will refer to it often.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
This is a good word-smiths tool, i use mine everyday and rarely has it let me down. It has a good selection of word and their meanings. One could go on and on but this dictionary is quite simply brilliant.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)