Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2012
You don't listen to Sleigh Bells for substance. You listen to them because they make fist-pumping music that lodges itself into your brain like any other half-decent pop song. Alexis Krauss is her own deadly one-woman girl-group in 'Demons', her pummeling vocals in-sync with AC-DC-ish guitar licks. 'Comeback Kid' is your own cheerleader-led pep-me-up for days you're feeling sorry for yourself.

There's a much bigger emphasis on dynamics in each song, unlike the in-the-red noisenik drama of 'Treats'. A largely seamless evolution from the first album means this deviates from their formula in a subtle fashion.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
The Sleigh Bells are a duo of Derek Miller and Alexis Krauss of alternative-rock. Inside Reign of Terror there is everything, or rather everything that is transformed into an experimental song, the impact can be easy and great grip, but because if this valuable for a different quality, a greater stylistic richness and an elegant incisiveness. I admit I have a strange
love for the duo (Timbuk 3, White Stripes, Yazoo, Bel Canto, Cocteau Twins), but throughout the week I could not remove the button repeat from the CD player , because Reign of Terror haunted me- heavy guitars epic , percussion sick, highlighted by a crystalline voice and fragile. Sleigh Bells are breaking the aura of insecurity that was felt in the first album "Treats" and continue on their journey to brave the weather of music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 July 2012
Treats is still one of my favourite debut albums of recent years, and naturally left me wondering. Can they do that again?
Sure can!
Interesting though, whereas Treats was a no holds barred Noise pop slice of exuberance, Reign of Terror although true to Noise Pop's themes of remorseless waves of electronics, guitars and defiant voice refusing to be drowned out, shows at times a more lyrical and comparatively wistful tone to the album; although you might not think so with the first track, a fearsome and wild live True Shred Guitar. Yet the three tracks End of the Line, Leader of the Pack (no not the Shangri-Las 1960s classic) and Comeback Kid all suggest Sleigh Bells are not afraid to work in slightly different areas including lyrics more to do with relationships. Still pumping out the rhythm and the excitement though and my feet are tapping. I am pleased to say that Sleigh Bells have established themselves.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
Sleigh bells wet our appetites with their self-titled EP in 2009 and then promptly burst onto the music scene a year later with their delightfully titled thrills a minute debut Treats garnering positive reviews aplenty. Understandably there's tonnes of excitement and buzz surrounding the release of this album Reign Of Terror, so why did I feel so apprehensive about it before I'd even heard it?

Derek Millers overdriven guitar and Alexis Krauss confidently sweet voice proved to be a killer combination on Treats, but they'd be hard pressed to outdo that record by simply repeating themselves on this one. Many have tried and failed to follow up distinctive and original albums by providing more of the same, only to be accused of making the same album twice or more (strokes, oasis anyone). The group could've reinvented themselves as to avoid that plight, but they'd carved out such an obvious niche with their previous album that a 180 would seem abrupt and nigh on impossible to sell without them sounding like a couple of dilettantes with little to no identity.

Having listened to Reign of Terror I feel Sleigh Bells were mindful of this dilemma, which goes someway to describing the bands subtle and unremarkable evolution. "Born to Lose" has the usual Sleigh Bells Trademarks heavy beats, distorted guitar and Krauss's Syrupy vocals but it aims for a less innocuous quality than their previous work with the addition of what sounds like a Robin Guthrie-esque dream pop reverberated guitar sound, that then lingers in the background making the band sound a little more self-consciously menacing.

"End of the Line" and "Road to Hell" continues this foray into 4AD/dream pop territory evoking the pixies and slowdive in equal measure but sadly lacking the formers serpentine intensity and the latter's Dissonant Beauty. "Comeback Kid" is fortunately the exception to the rule, where sleigh bells find the sweet spot between bombastic beats and dreamy effects with the ethereal sounds playfully counter balancing the excessive giddiness, instead of deviating from it (theirs a great video accompanying it to).

The mood on this album is more ambiguous this time round, it's difficult to know how to respond to "Never Say Dies" sugary yet ominous opening, should we settle down and pay more attention to the lyrics or consider it a cool down before we go back and blast out "crush" and "true Shred Guitar" again? That's the fundamental problem with this record; its sonic developments are on balance aesthetically pleasing but they ultimately expose the music as being shallower than any of us wanted to admit by forcing us to take them a little more seriously. Sleigh Bells appeal laid in their novelty and unapologetic playfulness and one can't help feeling that this album's faux serious pretensions result in this being simply less fun and actually more vacuous. Treats was a rare example of style triumphing over substance and I feel it stands a good chance of being remembered fondly, whereas Reign of Terror is likely to please existing fans for now but will probably be forgotten by the end of the year.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2012
A terrific second album by the NY duo Sleigh Bells, all the tracks are awesome and i really like the sound of the tinny guitar and Krauss's airy vocals, if i had to pick a favorite track it would have to be "You Lost Me" all in all 10/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
This is where rock music needs to be today. It is raucous, wild, visceral, tuneful, uncompromising. Swings from brutal to beautiful: brilliant!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2012
The New York, noise pop duo bring another thunderous album to your eardrums in their follow up to the 2010 debut Treats. The album matures perfectly, with just the right amount of tweak and polish.

The second track `Born To Lose' uses their tried and tested heavy guitar of Derek E. Miller coupled with Alexis Krauss' sweet vocals. But you can really see the progression in tracks like the brilliant `You Lost Me' where the vocal somehow are subdued and almost whispering over the raucous riffs.

It may be optimistic but the actual explosion that begins `Leader Of The Pack' aside, it could be a nod to 60's girl group, Shangri La's song of the same title. Half way through the album you're given the electronic fast-paced and poptastic `Comeback Kid'. The song incorporates the contrasting high vocals and aggressive guitar with the darker side of this album.

Reign of Terror is more polished, has more standalone tracks and is still played loud. Sleigh Bells not to be missed at this summer's festivals where they'll be playing at Field Day.

Check out the review here [...]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2012
I waited ages before finally buying Treats and when it arrived I was blown away by it, absolutely superb album. So there was no hesitation to getting its successor.

Should have hesitated.

Sorry, but its just not in the same league. Its ok, I can see what they're trying to do and lets face it, a direct copy of Treats would have been pushing it. Unfortunately in trying to add a little more subtlety and diversity with this album they've lost the "oomph" factor. I'd like to name the best and worst tracks but there simply aren't any memorable enough to recall.

Its ok, its inoffensive, its just not....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2012
Excellent work Sleigh Bells. Not real guitars in most cases but a rare old romp of thundering sequenced items and general chaos though slightly more reigned in than "Treats". I like it a lot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
Brought this CD for my 15 year old son and he loved it. Good service by the seller to will defo use again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.86
£20.65

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)