Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Weapons
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 May 2012
The album opener and first single Bring Em Down kicks the album off in a high octane, fist pumping style with a true Lostprophets style sing-a-long chorus. It's an aggressive song that demands attention and warms the listener up for a true LP classic that follows. We Bring An Arsenal is the band at it's very best, catchy throughout it opens with some monster riffs, has a football terrace type chant and an anthemic chorus you just a have to sing along with. Awesome stuff.
From there the album continues to impress with Jesus Walks and Better Off Dead also showing the quality and award winning songwriting ability of the band.
For me Weapons isn't as consistent as Liberation Transmission but it has a harder edge to it like Start Something to which it is closely matched. It's an excellent album and a stark reminder of why Lostprophets are one of the best bands in the world right now. Quite why they aren't getting the hype they deserve is beyond me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Lostprophets have never really failed to impress, despite the fact that parts on their last album The Betrayed were a little bit bland. Altogether though this is certainly a return to form - combining the catchy choruses and never-say-die attitude they're known for.

In terms of heaviness I would say it's halfway between Start Something and The Betrayed, with it generally being much more aggressive than the emo-pop of Liberation Transmission, but less raw than the nu-metal debut The Fake Sound Of Progress. However the three Garage Sessions tracks on the Deluxe version certainly resonate a little bit of the older, more rawer Prophets.

The singles are all here, Bring Em Down was certainly solid, although the excellent Jesus Walks and We Are The Arsenal - both of which are two of the best songs they've ever written - and Another Shot would have been better choices. Better Off Dead was actually a strange track to release as it's a little different than the rest of the songs on here as it's much more direct and confrontational.

Somedays seems to slightly miss the mark for the more token acoustic, emotional number. Your not going to skip it but it's no Last Summer or Always All Ways. It's more so the lyrics that don't always fit than the performance itself.

The only real disappointments are Heart On Loan - which is instantly forgettable, and Can't Get Enough - which is poor for a final track, especially considering this band have had four brilliant final tracks on past albums and especially considering the strength of The Light That Shines from the last album.

A little word on the three Garage Sessions tracks, they are all rawer and generally more hard-hitting than the album. The songs are all strong and some should have replaced some of the main album tracks! The acoustic version of Another Shot is good too and all are worth the extra money.

Overall this is not a huge departure from the standard Lostprophets sound, but is a notch up from The Betrayed both in how good it is and how heavy it is. It has it's poor tracks so it's no Start Something or Liberation Transmission which were strong throughout, however the singles are definitely there and it's a solid release. I know that I will be listening to it throughout 2012.

***VINYL*** The vinyl is just the one vinyl featuring the main 10 tracks. It has the same cover and no picture on the back, just a rather bland looking track-listing. There is nothing else inside unfortunately. I managed to get this for £10 during pre-order but I would not pay £25 for it unless your a big fan. Like I mentioned above, the Garage Sessions are worth downloading as well as they are not on the vinyl edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2012
For those who were betrayed by their last album, buy this!
Lostprophets have quickly pulled this album together and though the recording sounds some what off, the album itself is brilliant.
Its not an album to be similarised with start something but rather its more a mix between their first 3 albums. The best song was jesus walks closely followed by we bring an arsenal. I had a few moments of my mind being blown away when ians powerful voice gives it welly. This album shows lostprophets talent as good as their liberation album and i think the doubt i had from their betrayed album is long gone. Well done welsh boys its good to have you back!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2012
This was for my son, he paid for it himself, it was affordable and he very pleased with the cd. He was very impressed with the whole transaction, as he hadn't ordered before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2015
love this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2012
Wow, just got this album and I'm really enjoying it. I was a massive fan of The Fake Sound of Progress and, especially Start Something. It took me a while to get into their other albums such as Liberation transmission, however Weapons is a really strong album. I found it really easy to get into, there is a decent amount of variety and some songs particularly standout without having to listen to it solidly for days to pick out differences between songs (Another Shot stood out really early on, and Bring 'em down).

Having songs that stand out with very little listening is a very strong quality for an album to have and I've really been enjoying listening to it at work on the stereo there; it is an album to listen to on biiiig speakers in a big room.

Compared to other albums I think it stands up pretty well. Like many other bands (Feeder, Muse, Foo Fighters) the music has toned down a bit with maturity of the band, but I think they've done really well to keep energy in this album even if the vocals aren't *as* loud and powerful as the earlier albums.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2012
having been a fan since the fake sound of progress it has been interesting to hear lost prophets progress and the first 3 albums all had their own individual feel and style. Having said that the betrayed was very similar to liberation transmission with hints of start something but never really finding new ground. In my opinion the same has happened with weapons with it being again the same style as liberation transmission with slightly more bass. If you have enjoyed other lost prophet albums , especially liberation transmission and the betrayed then you will enjoy this but do not expect anything mindblowing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2014
I did hate this album at first and felt more resentful about it after Ian Watkins' arrest and subsequent guilty plea to child sex offences with it being their last album. However, whilst he is a scumbag and he truly deserves the sentence he is given, I still believe the music shouldn't be affected by his actions, no matter how horrific they are and Lostprophets were a favourite band of mine growing up.

With that said, Weapons is the weakest of the five albums Lostprophets put out. It's not a bad album like I thought it was when I first listened to it, but compared to their previous work, it's slightly disappointing. There's still some great tunes from the band that capture the same rebellious fire they possessed on Start Something. 'Bring 'Em Down' is a really effective opener for the album with its impressive melding of metal riffing with Jamie Oliver's Nine Inch Nails style synths permeating the song and culminating in an impressive breakdown. 'We Bring An Arsenal' hearkens back to the band's original hardcore group Public Disturbance with its punk like drumming from Luke Johnson (who proves to be an efficient replacement for Ilan Rubin). 'Jesus Walks' and 'Somedays' are the most poppy songs the band have ever recorded with softer instrumentation and slower pace, feeling very reflective and introspective but don't go into cheese territory which is refreshing. There are also more atmospheric songs like 'Another Shot' and 'A Little Reminder I'll Never Forget' which rely on some impressive sampling from Jamie and distorted guitar work from Lee Gaze and Mike Lewis. 'Heart On Loan' sounds like something from Liberation Transmission with its more upbeat new wave inspired hooks and feels like a breathe of fresh air from the angsty metal tunes and the slow burning haunting tunes whilst 'Can't Get Enough' closes off the album terrifically with its apocalyptic tone, capturing almost the same level of brilliance as The Betrayed did with its closing song and going full throttle with the hidden track. 'A Song For Where I'm From' and 'Better Off Dead' however are the two very weak tracks on the album. The former feels like it's recycling 'Last Summer' and 'Where We Belong' too much with its nostalgia-themed lyrics and just feels lazy, and just makes me wish the band could've played it less safe with this album. 'Better Off Dead' just comes across as cringey with Ian Watkins providing some awkward attempts at rapping and comes off like a Rage Against the Machine demo song that the band wouldn't even use for the final song. The deluxe edition for the album (which also features a black sleeve cover in place of the usual white one) also features unused songs by the band for The Betrayed which they recorded with former drummer Ilan Rubin along with a remix of 'Bring 'Em Down'. These unused songs are great tunes and it's good to hear them get some exposure now considering the album they were planned for was scrapped. Weapons on the whole is another great album from the Welsh rockers and if you loved their previous albums, it's more or less the same. It doesn't break any new ground for the band and does feel like its revisiting the past a bit too much but aside from those problems and the two aforementioned tracks, it's an impressive final send off by the band and really does make it a shame that the hard work put in by the remaining five innocent members has been utterly destroyed by one nonce's vile actions. People will continue to hate this band for what Ian Watkins has done but for me, it's always been about the music which has been the soundtrack to my teen years.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2012
Great album, Lostprophets are an amazing band. Love them.
If you like their previous cds you are going to like this one, that's for sure.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)