Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
61
4.7 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation Vita|Edition: Standard Edition|Change
Price:£27.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2012
Rayman Origins is one of the best platform games I have played (and I've played a lot). From the moment I picked up the control pad (I originally bought it for PS3) everything just felt right. The controls are responsive, the artwork is fantastic (it's all hand drawn) and the music has a real charm to it. In fact I have very little to criticise the game for.

Rayman Origins follows the usual 2D platformer rules in that you run from left to right avoiding obstacles and punching/jumping on bad guys while trying to reach the end of the level. Once you reach the end you obtain an Electoon. When you collect enough of these you unlock later levels and new playable characters. There are between three and six Electoons available in each level for completing various tasks, these include finding secret areas, collecting Lums (the in-game currency) and finishing a speed run within a specified time. This gives the game a fair amount of replay value as you soon find yourself replaying levels to find missed Electoons, Lums or trying for the speed run Electoon. Each level also offers a Medallion for obtaining 350 or more Lums and also a Gold Cup for beating the more challenging speed run time. Neither Medallion nor Gold Cup add anything to the game (other than Trophies/Achievements) and you do not need to collect these to progress within the game.

In addition to the standard platform levels there are the mandatory side scrolling shoot 'em up levels and also my favourite part of the game, the Tricky Treasure levels. Each world/area has one Tricky Treasure level in it, if you complete the level you earn a Skull Tooth. These Tricky Treasure levels are a white knuckle ride of platforming genius. You chase the chest from the beginning of the level to the end. The difference here is that if you make one mistake it's all over. There are no checkpoints and no second chances, it's do or die. These levels are easily some of the best I have played (check out Pirates Treasure - one of the most perfect examples of platforming). Complete all ten of these levels and you open up the Land Of The Livid Dead bonus area. If you get this far prepare to die quite a lot, this final long level is the games most challenging.

In general the difficulty level isn't too tough. I read several reviews saying that the game gets too difficult as you progress but I never felt like it was overly hard. There are generous checkpoints throughout most levels and respawns are infinite so you only ever have the next checkpoint to beat. If you want to collect and earn everything the game has to offer then yes it does become harder, particularly the latter speed runs but none of this is required to beat the game. I'd say it was challenging but fair.

The story of the game is probably it's weakest point. I have no idea what was really going on and I kinda wished for the simplicity of a missing princess or something along those lines. Completing the last story level left me feeling a little hollow. The game does tend to lack a final finishing touch which is a bit of a shame.

While the Vita version is mostly a straight port of the PS3/360 versions the Vita does have a few minor additional features. Ubisoft have added some more collectibles which make use of the Vita's touch screen. You can access a time trial menu from the games front screen and some of the levels are a little easier over the home console versions (an enemy missing here and there). You can also collect Lums by using the touch screen as opposed to having Rayman collect them onscreen, handy for grabbing those floating ones you missed.

Rayman Origins really is one of the best platformers I have had the pleasure to play. It's better than some Mario games and on a par with the best of them. Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
The way portable gaming should be pick it up and away you go, the graphics and colours are crisp and lush the levels are well laid out, and the characters are easy to control.
Basically its designed to hook you and keep you playing right through the many many worlds and levels. Even now months later i still find myself picking it up to play on for an hour here and there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
This game is by far the best game I've played in years.

It progressively gives new abilities as you work through the game which makes them natural and intuitive.

Patience is needed though, some of the adventures take dozens of attempts and some start at the beginning each time, like the treasure chest chases. The upside to this is the feeling of achievement when you finally crack the level with zero mistakes.

This game is fun and can be played by anyone at any age.

I completed the game and thoroughly enjoyed every moment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
With so many games these days focusing their stories on dark and bleak themes such as apocalyptic zombie attacks, all out nuclear war and the end of humanity as we know it. Rayman Origins is a much needed respite from the dull browns and camo greens of blockbuster triple A games.

It's a colourful game full of great humour and beautiful artwork, but this doesn't mean that the core gameplay has been watered down, far from it in fact. Rayman Origins is one of the best platformers I've played in a long time where accuracy and skill are as important as colourful backdrops and bizarre characters.

Your main objective in Rayman Origins is to collect enough Lums to unlock the next set of levels. There are six environments to play through and each environment has its own selection of bad guys trying to ruin Rayman and Co's good time. To increase the re-playability of the game Ubisoft has also added hidden areas which will need to be cleared in order to 100% complete a level.

Every character in the game has been hand drawn and on the Vita's 5" OLED screen looks stunning. Each environment you visit has also been wonderfully crafted, whether it's the lush jungles, turquoise oceans or the icy arctic each location really adds to the fun of your experience. The animations of the enemies are also noteworthy with very funny reactions to Rayman's attacks and the way characters move in general.

Another area to comment on is the audio, the music in the game is brilliant a mix of upbeat ukulele, laid back piano and energetic mariachi vocals. The only criticism of the audio I would make however is that after you get three hours or so into the game the music does become quite repetitive, with hardly any variation in the later levels.

The fact that Rayman Origins is a 2D game is also a positive, even though it might not seem like one from the offset. As all PS Vita owners know the battery life of our chosen handheld is less than ideal. However thanks to Rayman's 2D nature it requires very little of the Vita's processing power, therefore will not drain the battery as quickly as a processor heavy game such as Uncharted: Golden Abyss.

So in conclusion Rayman Origins is a brilliantly light hearted game, full of colour and humour. It's a game that appears on the surface to be aimed at children but in truth is a solid platformer which requires genuine timing and ability, especially in the later levels. It is a charming game that has been lovingly put together by Michel Ancel and his team at Ubisoft and one that you should definitely add to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2012
not much i can say that others have said really, its just a brilliant game for the vita. great visuals, gameplay and short loading times which are occupied with you running around in a monochrome screen... it's all there!
highly underrated in the vita release, probably because it's a port but hey, if you hadn't played it before like me then it's amazing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
The most fun ive had on a 2D platform adventure for far too long.
Excellent visuals and controls coupled with brilliant gameplay.

Lots of replay value with hidden items in each level, time trials and a ghost mode.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
I picked this up for little over £15 and I have to say it's a complete joy to play. It gets as difficult as you want to make it. What that means is that you can complete the game at your own pace choosing to spend lots of time unlocking everything the level has to offer or play it through and moving onto the next. On the PS Vita the graphics are crystal clear helped by the Vita impressive GFX capabilities. This game takes a classic platformer approach and bring out the best it has to offer, and just when you thought the game was simply a great platform game it throws you into a flying side-scrolling R-Type level that's a great addition.
This has to be an essential purchase for anybody that owns a vita.
As a side note, the PS Vita is turning into a "Nintendo 64" with game releases in short supply but the quality being pleasantly high.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
Wipeout's pretty, but gives me serious vertigo! However, Rayman is AWESOME - it's the perfect VITA title. it's easy to pick up and play, it's SO intuitive and controls like it's MADE for the vita (rather than PS3/X360 - where it began)

Recommended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
This was the game i recieved on the fantastic bundle for my Vita and i have to say that it is a brilliant adaptation.

The game runs at a smooth 60 frames for the vast majority with only the slightest of hiccups here and there. The detail is completely intact with the port and is a beauty to behold on the system.

The controls actually seem as if it was made for the Vita. The touch options for small tasks such as popping the enemies or catching lums feel perfectly at home. I also enjoy the small interaction with Near.

Overall, i highly recommend this beautiful platformer to all who simply wish to have a good time. (be warned however... Frustration can occurr)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
absolutely amazing. Best game on ps vita. This is a must buy. The best 2D game on a portable device. Plus the graphics are amazing specially with the OLED really makes the colours stand out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)