Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
21
4.8 out of 5 stars
Eight Classic Albums [Audio CD] Gerry Mulligan
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 March 2017
Unmissable value. Eight classic albums in one package! Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2017
Cool jazz excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Gerry Mulligan has always been the ultimate master of the Baritone Saxophone. This 4 Cd, 8 album set has his signature tune "Walking Shoes" on the first Cd. I personally think it should be the first tune on the set to introduce and set the tone for the rest of the music but they are placed as they would have been on the L.P. Albums. Fantastic stuff.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 May 2013
Although baritone sax is a relatively rare horn, especially amongst band-leaders, Mulligan is currently well-represented on disc, and this wonderfully comprehensive and inexpensive collection is a delicious introduction to the man, and his arrangements. Once you add in the fact that you also have the chance to sample Mulligan in partnership with Getz, Monk, Konitz, Webster, Baker, Farmer, and Hodges, it becomes almost mouth-watering, especially when you investigate the reviews of these individual albums in either the Penguin or All Music jazz guides.

Mulligan's arrangements often inspire the best from both horns, and for me the collaborations with Konitz, Farmer, and Webster are possibly the cream of the crop, with the rendition of 'Chelsea Bridge' from the latter quite sublime (in fact his work with Webster is filled with beauty throughout). Sound quality is good, and many of the performances have a spontaneous feel, particularly the album with Hodges.

I can only think of two other highly recommended Mulligan collections,either Four Classic Albums [Gerry Mulligan Meets Johnny Hodges / What Is There To Say? / Gerry Mulligan Meets Ben Webster / Gerry Mulligan Quartet At Storyville], which largely duplicates the best albums on this collection, or One Man, One Sax (10CD), which offers a chronology over 10 discs. In the latter largely live performances, you have to endure rather muddy sound for the first two discs, but thereafter there's plenty to enjoy (but alas, no Webster).

However, given the price and the range of material/artists involved, this is now the top Mulligan collection to acquire for sheer 'baritone bliss'. Suggest you grab this bargain while it remains at such a modest price.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 15 April 2012
For those that would like to know what's on these 4 CDs Here's one I. Blue Peter like, made earlier.

I really hope this is of help.

The CDs do not list the actual LPs (albums) on them
Print and paste anyone??

CD 1:
Konitz Meets Mulligan [with Lee Konitz] (1953):
1 Too Marvelous For Words
2 Lover Man
3 I'll Remember April
4 These Foolish Things
5 All the Things You Are
6 Almost Like Being In Love
7 Sextet
8 Broadway
9 I Can't Believe That You're in Love with Me
10 Lady Be Good
Pleyel Concert (1954):
11 Come Out Wherever You Are
12 Five Brothers
13 Laura
14 Love Me or Leave Me
15 Bernie's Tune
16 Walkin' Shoes
17 Moonlight In Vermont
18 The Lady is a Tramp
CD 2:
Mulligan Meets Monk (1957):
1 Round Midnight
2 Rhythm-A-Ning
3 Sweet and Lovely
4 DeCidedly [Take 4]
5 Straight No Chaser [Take 3]
6 I Mean You [Take 4]
Reunion [with Chet Baker] (1957):
7 Reunion
8 My Heart Belongs to Daddy
9 When Your Lover Has Gone
10 Stardust
11 Jersey Bounce
12 The Surrey with the Fringe on Top
13 Trav'lin Light
14 Ornithology
CD 3:
Getz Meets Mulligan in Hi-Fi (1957):
1 Let's Fall in Love
2 Anything Goes
3 Too Close for Comfort
4 That Old Feeling
5 This Can't Be Love
6 A Ballad
What Is There To Say? (1959):
7 What is There To Say
8 Just In Time
9 News For Blueport
10 Festive Minor
11 As Catch Can
12 My Funny Valentine
13 Blueport
14 Utter Chaos
CD 4:
Gerry Mulligan Meets Ben Webster (1959):
1 Chelsea Bridge
2 The Cat Walk
3 Sunday
4 Who's Got Rhythm?
5 Tell Me When
6 Go Home
Gerry Mulligan Meets Johnny Hodges (1959):
7 Bunny
8 What's the Rush
9 Back Beat
10 What Its All About
11 18 Carrots For Rabbit
12 Shady Side
22 Comments| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
One of jazz world's greatest performers, innovators, composers, this gathers massive amounts into one for your library. Surrounded by others of the 'greatest' category, it's a cornucopia whether you have all the LPs/CDs as I have, or not. True inspiration and mostly music with a smile on its face.
11 Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
I first heard Gerry Mulligan playing Walkin' Shoes on a sampler LP (Pye Golden Guinea) back in the early 60s when absorbing musical influences of many sorts: Monk, Stravinsky, Kinks etc. I thought I would never hear that particular version again. But here it is, part of the 1954 Playel live gig in Paris (must be one of the best concerts on CD ever). The track sparkles with that typical Mulligan counterpoint and Bob Brookmeyer to my mind is the perfect foil for Mulligan. Of course others will disagree. This 4 CD collection is a no-braner as far as I'm concerned. Wonderful stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
Real Gone Jazz are fast expanding their 'back-catalogue' re-issue programme (the insert with this 4-CD Set lists scores of artists currently covered). The Gerry Mulligan Classics included here are all from the period 1953 to 1959 when the baritone saxist was in "small group" mode in all cases with an "A N Other" guest. These guests are: Lee Konitz, Bob Brookmeyer, Thelonious Monk, Chet Baker, Stan Getz, Art Farmer, Ben Webster and Johnny Hodges. Quite naturally the perfomances vary a little in quality but overall this set represents very good value and in my view is historically quite important.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
Classic sessions, well remastered, earlier ones in mono only. Featured with Gerry are Lee Konitz, Art Farmer, Chet Baker, Bob Brookmeyer, Ben Webster, Stan Getz, Thelonious Monk, and Johnny Hodges. Standard of playing is consistently high and it's just a matter of taste which you prefer - I like the Art Farmer tracks, this was a working band rather than a one-off date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Bought just for Mulligan meets Monk,I bought this record in 1957 when first recorded. it made me the jazz fan I am today.Bebop rules OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)