Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

My version of this book was all 576 pages of Jac McElroy's belief that Larry Durrant's life should be spared from execution in Libreville.

Jac McElroy, a young ambitious lawyer is given the case of fighting for one last effort at proving Larry Durrant's innocence but the odds are stacked against him. Some very powerful people don't want the truth to come out.

This is a well thought out story with enough twists and turns to keep one's interest going till the final page.

Will definitely be looking out for more books by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
I'm so disappointed. How can a book end at 59%. I now have to get book 2 but will probably read the end bit only. Arrgh!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
Loved this book. Had me wanting to find out what happened next. Great story, characters and kept me enthralled until the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2007
Rookie lawyer Jac McElroy is determined to save his client from execution on death row; but with only 47 days to go, and all pointers suggest it's a lost cause, and then with his own life under threat as well, it's not looking good.
And there's a few nasty people out there determined to keep it that way, whatever it takes!

With a touch of the "Shawshank Redemption" feel about it, this is 570 pages of will he - won't he, and the ducking and diving keeps the reader on tenterhooks all the way through this fine book.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
This was an edge of the seat thriller-ride all the way as a young lawyer fights to save a death-row prisoner who doesn't wish to be saved. The lawyer quickly finds himself up against all odds as there are a few people keen to see Larry Durrant's execution go ahead on time!

There are a couple of strokes of genius in this book: one, the prisoner's state of mind which means he can't totally recall whether he committed the murder or not. Second, the unraveling and piecing back together of his mind which has put him where he is in the first place. I shall say no more at this stage, otherwise I'll quickly get into the area of 'spoilers'.

Must say I didn't have an issue with the book split into two parts. It was clearly marked on the introduction, but maybe it's because I'd read another of the author's books, The Second Amendment, which was also split up in the same way with part one free. I don't recall the same fuss being made by readers over that book, and to be frank the length of both books lend themselves to that. A lot happens in both and 500 plus pages is too much in one haul!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2007
Halfway through I was ready to give this 3 or 4 stars as simply a good thriller with solid characterization and plotting, but then a couple of sub-plots rose up unexpectedly and mugged me and turned this from just good to exceptional. So if you think this is just about saving Larry Durrant, think again! From then on it was a breathless nail-biter. The read has a nice feel to it because 70% takes place with a cat and mouse game outside the prison walls. There was enough inside the prison to give the dour atmosphere, but not so that you got bogged down there. It also avoided being weighed down with endless death penalty statutes, which I felt both The Chamber and Conviction suffered from. What on top made this read different was that the prisoner himself doesn't even know whether he comitted the murder or not - so you as the reader go all the way through thinking did he, didn't he? And the piecing together of Larry's fractured psyche around his life at the time of the murder 11 years ago, with all the time the clock ticking rapidly towards his death - is pure genius! For an emotional and exciting thrill-ride, an absolute must read.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2007
I notice that a couple of the pre-reviewers have compared this to Grisham. Well, yes, if you take Grisham on his absolute top form in the mid-nineties. For me, this book worked on every level: it was thoughtful and Turrow-esque where it needed to be - particularly in the developing relationship between Jac and the prisoner, Larry Durrant - and pacy and nail-bitingly exciting where needed. In fact, the final 250 pages were probably the most electrifying and tense I can remember in any book. Overall, a fantastic read - one not to be missed!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2016
Read this straight after Past Imperfect. A great death-row thriller in the style of Shawshank with the unique twist that the accused doesn't even know himself whether he's committed the murder due to being in a car accident six months after the event and suffering from partial memory loss. But the evidence is overwhelming, including DNA, so the lawyer has his work cut out with a last ditch appeal - made all the more complex by the prisoner wanting to die, his Ascension Day! Great read with lots of twists and turns.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
Part 1 was a freebie and ends on a real cliff hanger that means you just HAVE to buy part 2 (this is one book). Very clever plot, multiple story threads weaving the characters together. The main characters were believable, the baddies were bad and you just SO wanted Larry to get his reprieve (from the death penalty).

Just one teeny hint to the author. There's one part of the book where a character (won't give away who) is running from the police? Those few pages for me could've been shorter. When there's a bit of the plot where you are dying to know what is going to happen next this doesn't build up tension (like it might in a film) - it just stops you getting to the good bits. So I was skipping paragraphs at that point.

But, otherwise, the book is fast paced and each chapter swings back and forth between what each character is up to, both now and at the time of the murder. And some very well written scenes relating to Larry, his son and ex wife - believable and poignant.

And even though I had a hunch for a good chunk of the book(s) who was behind the murder - that isn't the storyline the tension comes from and I polished it off in a weekend.

Very good book. Recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
The story certainly kept me guessing right up to the end (which in some ways came sooner than expected as my Kindle had only got to 78% by the end of both parts) but the loose ends were all tied up. The overall length could I believe have been edited down quite a bit, which would have made the whole story tighter. Some of the characters lacked depth and were somewhat out of central casting. As another reviewer has mentioned, it is surprising that some of the lines of enquiry were not followed up during the original trial or during the appeal.

I understand the need for authors to make a living but if I had downloaded the free first half of the book and then discovered that I had to buy the second half I would not have been pleased. Luckily I downloaded both halves at the same time. I would certainly read another book by the author - but would read the small print carefully to see whether I was buying/acquiring a whole book or only part of one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here