Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
20
March Of Ghosts
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 14 November 2017
Gazpacho are a criminally underrated Norwegian band who have released a number of very good art-rock/progressive albums. They have a wonderful layered sound with a lot going on in their music, and they combine this instrumentation with deep and meaningful lyrics.
March Of Ghosts is my favourite album of theirs. It is a concept album in which each song is the story of a ghost (hence the title "March Of Ghosts"). Most of the tracks flow into each other to create something truly epic. This, like most of their other albums, is best enjoyed listened to from beginning to end like Pink Floyd's Dark Side Of The Moon or Marillion's Misplaced Childhood, Brave and Marbles albums (incidentally Marillion themselves hold Gazpacho in high regard, inviting them on tour a few times).
If you are a fan of dark, moody, atmospheric, progressive music then you should give this album a listen. You will not regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 March 2012
An album based on the tales of a series of ghosts is exactly the type of concept most Gazpacho fans would have hoped for and I couldn't wait for March of Ghosts to arrive. It's another album bubbling with ideas. On initial listen the first two tracks may seem a bit obvious: an atmospheric instrumental leading into a steady, repetitive 4/4 beat. However, what follows opens the album out beautifully to all those deep, deep Gazpacho melodies that they are so adept at. If you found previous album "Missa Atropos" too dark, there is little danger of that here. The songs are sad in places yet often surprisingly uplifting in others. Tragedy just isn't allowed to take hold. It's the kind of music where you can feel tears of joy pushing behind your eyes and that's very rare and precious.

Kscope have done their usual excellent job of making you feel like you've bought something substantial, with a hard backed digibook of atmospheric photo art and lyrics. This should be the standard for all CD packaging.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2016
Just bought this London,Night,Demon,Tick Tock.Having already listened to Tick Tock I thought that was brilliant.This aint has good as Tick Tock but it is not far off.Fantastic cd .You just sit and mellow out listening to this and it is excellent believe me.Took me a while to get used to lead singers voice has it is kind of weird but unique.Once you do you cant help how effortlessly the songs just roll by.This came with an MP3 version whereas the other cd's I ordered did not.Damn it gonna have to wait another week before I get my hands on that stuff.I can understand now why Marillion hold these guys in high esteem.Marillion being my favourite band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2017
Unhurried tempos, rich and imaginative instrumentation, melodies you'll have buried in your head, expertly rendered and beautifully recorded. This wonderful band should be better known. This album might be the best place to start with them I think, but you'll be wanting the lot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2016
Brilliant band, totally unique. So impressed I am buying the back catalogue and so far none have disappointed. Intelligent writing, excellent musicianship all topped by a wonderful voice. Completely defies pigeon holing or labelling. Comparisons to other bands are meaningless you have to hear Gazpacho to understand Gazpacho.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2012
This is excellent music. As with the other albums from this band one listen is not enough to experience the full complexities of the songs and how rewarding the album is as a whole. Talented musicians , a great theme (but not conceptual) and great songs which draw you and hold your attention to conclusion - what more can you ask for? If you are new to this band then this album is a great place to start. Gazpacho exudes sophistication in their own style - the band seems prepared to push the boundaries beyond the limits and formulas adopted by some of their contemporaries. For certain after listening to this you will want more and the Live in London double CD would be a good overall rectrospective to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2015
well i have this album on cd and thought it would be good on vinyl this is a good pressing and good all round package as well I am a big fan of Gazpacho and favourite track on this album is Black Lily classy stuff from a fine band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2012
I cannot imagine why I have only recently discovered these guys, they are phenomenal. For an old program rocker it takes me back to the golden age, whilst still being up in the current age. Given it a go you won't regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2018
This is whimsical,sublime Art/Prog. I am a fan of Gazpacho anyway, but this is their finest hour!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)