Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2015
This Novella is an absolute gem, Mr Collins at his most cringeworthiness ! Loved it and am now reading the next book The Darcys of Pemberley.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
would have been more entertaining if it was longer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
would not recomend this book for true austin fans, it is a bit long winded, not a true picture ,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Mr Collins - the foolish clergyman from `Pride and Prejudice', features in this short story. It shows him at his pompous worst and also gives a glimpse into Charlotte's life as his long suffering wife. The ending did make me chuckle and it seems to fit Mr Collins pretty well.

I thought the story was well written and amusing and I thought the author had been true to the characters
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
I liked this as it gave and interesting possibility of what Jane Austen herself might have penned to give this toadying man his just desserts. Whoops, he didn't make it to that course!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
Four stars as it's a fun story, I just fell short of one star because of some points of accuracy (Eg the Collinses were expecting a child in "Pride and Prejudice", so not quite true he died without an heir, and it's not clear how Charlotte could support herself after being widowed - was she entitled to her husband's pension? Or - perish the thought - did Lady Catherine "keep" her?) Having said that, the caricatures of Lady Catherine, Charlotte and Mr Collins were all brilliant, all in keeping wit h the novel! I'm not sure Mr Collins was such a glutton, but his devious side is in character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
I love Pride and Prejudice and when I got Kindle I looked through some of the follow up stories. Shannon Winslow's are believable and well thought out bearing in mind the characters described by Jane Austen. This one is an enjoyable v.short read and I think Austen would approve of the irony. Mr. Collins lives again! Briefly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
Mr Collins manipulates Lady Catherine into supplying him with a joint of mutton, thereby earning displeasure from Charlotte who is told how to manage her household by the ever-interfering Lady Catherine.

Will say no more, but did so enjoy the irritating Mr Collins getting his just desserts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
I like this book a lot-its not the first follow on from my favourite book(pride and prej.) but is in the style of Jane Austen and i think she would have approved of the story of Mr. Collins in this story.its a bold move to try to add to the works of Jane Austen, but one that works!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
This short story is a lovely introduction to the tales of Mr Darcy and Elizabeth Bennett.. it is worth remembering the real Austin books with this tale in mind. I recommend this to those who like Jane Austen books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse