Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



VINE VOICEon 25 March 2012
While I loved the historical background, and some of the characters were very well developed - Patraic in particular was quite lifelike - the book was far too long and could have done with some editing. If it had been a print book instead of a Kindle, no doubt the publisher would have suggested this at some point. There were also a couple of howling Americanisms which a little judicious proofreading might have caught. And the authors' use of Irish terminology tends to be a little sporadic. Having said that, I enjoyed the book well enough, it was a good romp as far as it went but paled towards the end as it went on & on. The paragraphs tended to be rather longer than I'd hoped and by the end I had frankly, lost interest.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
I have to be honest. I was not very familiar with the tragic love story of Yseult and Tristan when I picked up Yseult, which is book one in Ruth Nestvold’s The Pendragon Chronicles. However, as I started reading the five hundred-pages plus re-imagining of the Arthurian legend, I found myself engrossed in the story.

Even if you aren’t into stories set in “Dark Age” history, and Irish lore, you will still find Yseult enjoyable. Author Ruth Nestvold does an amazing job detailing the history of the time she explores and introducing her characters to the readers. Some of you might feel a bit confused at first with all the unfamiliar names and Gaelic that’s in the book, because I know I was. However, there’s a glossary at the end for you to go over, and it makes things easier.

Not only that, there are three characters named Yseult. This might throw you a bit off track if you aren’t focusing on the story and know which Yseult the author is talking about.

While there’s a lot of political maneuvering going on in the book, and the old age clashes with the new, the major focus is the love affair between Yseult and Tristan (or Drystan in this book). Our heroine, Yseult, has to marry the father of her lover. And things get complicated for the two love birds because they refuse to stop having a relationship with each other even after Yseult’s marriage. There are instances where they try to stop, but they always rekindle their passion for each other. Considering the tone of the book, you know things are going to end badly for them.

It was fun reading Ruth Nestvold’s take on the two lovers as they tried to be together in circumstances that were against their joining for good. It is near the end of the book that things diverted from the story I was familiar with. I actually found the changes to be enjoyable, because it made room for a sequel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2016
Ruth Nestvold’s retelling of Tristan and Isolde is a solid adaptation that manages to capture the mischief and high spirits of Béroul’s original translation, as well as evoke a convincing sense of Arthurian Britain. From the humble roundhouses of Eriu to the dramatic promontory of Dyn Tagell, Yseult is rich in vivid settings that draw us in and anchor us firmly in the characters’ place and time.

Romance in fantasy is a contentious issue. Lots of readers (myself included) are relatively indifferent to it, and neither seek it out nor avoid it. On the other hand, I’ve seen many an online discussion on the topic in which the majority of comments fall into two categories: ‘love it’ and ‘oh dear god MY EYES’. And this is a real shame, because it means that the latter will always miss out on well-written, beautiful stories such as Yseult.

Nestvold’s writing has a charming quality, suffused with the quiet confidence of long familiarity with her characters and the world in which they play. The tone and style – along with the carefully-researched druidic, Celtic and Roman place names – sound authentic but not archaic; and while I did find myself a little bewildered at times (particularly at the start!) the wonderfully comprehensive glossary quickly cleared up any confusion.

Another aspect of Yseult which I admire is the skillful way the author maintains a cohesive timeline – without feeling the need to fill in all the gaps. The first section in particular is very well structured, cutting between important scenes with minimal disorientation; and the epistolary-style segments are a nice way of bridging the later chapters in a way that avoids repetition and unnecessary detail. On the whole, the pacing is similarly controlled, though some of us felt that it was perhaps a little *too* languorous in places. This, along with the occasionally ponderous prose, was the main issue cited by those of us who struggled to engage with Yseult. In fact, it was the only real sticking point on which we just could not seem to agree!

Speaking for myself, the issues I had with the book arose from what I perceived as unevenness. The entirety of part one – which is excellent, by the way – centres on the trials and inner strength of Yseult’s mother in addition to the childhood and adolescence of Yseult herself. So when the fabled romance finally began in part two I was somewhat taken aback by the way it was presented. It begins sweetly, and is interwoven with other events that keep the story rolling. But when our two protagonists finally get frisky, the frequent use of (for example) words like ‘ass’ and ‘cock’ when describing sex scenes felt jarring and not at all consistent with the subtle character development, beautiful Irish words and mellifluous descriptions to which I’d become accustomed.

Not only does it feel as though the sex scenes were written by a totally different author, the story itself seems less compelling the more it focuses on Drystan and Yseult. In fact, I almost abandoned the book at one point: despite thoroughly enjoying part one, I began to find the story tedious. Increasingly frequent repetition – particularly the author’s fixation with describing Yseult’s ‘moonlight’ hair and Drystan’s ‘forest-green’ eyes – started to really grate on my nerves. But it wasn’t until I reached the 44%-mark that I realised – with much disappointment – I just wasn’t enjoying Yseult enough to justify continuing with it.

Thankfully, I went back to it a few days later; and after a bit of perseverance I started to realise that Nestvold’s ‘tale of love’ encompasses far more than ‘just’ romance. Each and every character is motivated by different kinds of love, sometimes simultaneously and often conflicting. Yseult finds herself torn between her romantic love for Drystan and filial love for her mother, cousin and son. Marcus is motivated by self-love; Kurvenal, by platonic love for his best friend. Arthur is driven by love for his country, and everywhere deeds both good and evil are committed in the name of love and loyalty to one’s religion.

On the whole, Yseult is strongly reminiscent of Mary Stewart’s fantastic Arthurian Saga: a patient, introspective narrative that concerns itself mostly with magic, politics and belief. Nestvold takes the same murky time period, adds a familiar legend and then remoulds it with enough creative flourishes to make it feel fresh and original. The author develops her characters well (although antagonists such as Marcus and Andred are too-quickly painted as unsympathetic villains) and makes sure to give them and her readers a suitably poetic send-off at the last.

<i>Yseult reached the semi-finals in the 2nd annual Self-Published Fantasy Blog-Off. This review was originally published on Fantasy-Faction on 31st August 2016.</i>
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
As soon as I picked up this book and started reading the first few pages I knew it was going to be the type of book you don't want to put down
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
The novel starts off fairly well, with the introduction of Yseult's mother and a fairly convincing projection of what life in medieval Ireland might have been like. The relationships are quite interesting too, and Yseult is depicted as a well-rounded character.
HOWEVER, I didn't like the pornographically explicit, detailed description of Yseult and Tristan having sex for the first time - what was the point of that?? And the battle scenes were incredibly boring!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
A bit meandering and boring. The first hundred pages in particular are too slow. Not as bad after that but only read if you're a romance reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Thought it was a bit depressing for all involved. If you are really like tragic stories you would like it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)