Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 5 October 2013
Unusually (from the point of view of a romance) written from the male perspective, this story of mutiny, shipwreck and love does carry one along at a riptide rate. The seas are mountainous, the story gallops, the pace is terrific. Of course there is the inevitable moralising of a Victorian novel: ships were sent out with rations for the men that would make a modern sailor gag, all in the interests of a quick buck for the owners. The love story is a bit insipid (but at least no bodices are ripped in this story!) and very sentimentally rendered, but it's all a piece of its time, and I enjoyed it tremendously.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2014
The writing of this book is supreme indeed. The writer perfectly captures the readers imagination. Eloquently written with a complete understanding of sailing ships and the sea.
The descriptions of the hurricane and the sea state are beautifully described , as are the characters and their habits.
A very difficult book to put down until finished.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2014
I am not a fan of novels and read this book only because the subject matter interest s me,however I found the story rivetting,and well worth stick ing with,and so may indulge myself with another,at a future date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2016
A very good seafaring book. Obviously written well over 100 years ago but it gives you a great sense of what it must have been like to be a merchant seaman in this days. It caught my attention and I enjoyed the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2014
Splendid yarn
Great info for those who like age of sail detail
Good characterisation
I really enjoyed this storey which moves along at good pace and has some novel twists
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2015
I really enjoyed this book , I thought it having being written in 1877 it would be written in old style , but having read Hornblower. & Bolitho, this is as good if not better. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2013
Good read I love naval novels and this one is great. Lots of acurate facts regarding saling and old naval terms.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2015
The storytelling is wonderful and the detail of the naval setting is very reminiscent of C.S.Forester. However I do agree with other reviewers that the romance is rather too obtrusive and far too syrupy which will no doubt spoil the book for many modern readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2014
Posting this on behalf of my husband, Ken. First class sea adventure. A touch of the empire. Thoroughly recommend.Will be reading more by this author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse