Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
31
King Creole
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49


on 19 August 2017
Excellent Elvis CD with several more extra songs added. Was very pleased to receive this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2017
Fantastic cd, great fil, great songs, great compilation from film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2017
thought it was the dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 31 October 2016
King Creole was perhaps the pinnacle of Elvis's early career. The film based on the Harold Robbins novel "A Stone for Danny Fisher" was originally considered as a potential role for James Dean, who had been killed 3 years earlier. It was Elvis's best acting performance and was backed up by this tremendous sound track.

King Creole is rock 'n' roll New Orleans style, and yes there is a strong jazz influence in many of the songs. For example "Dixieland Rock" and the ballad "New Orleans". The classic hit singles are "King Creole" and "Hard Headed Woman" the latter featuring tongue twisting, rapid fire lyrics require little introduction for Elvis fans. This also features the classic track "Trouble" whose place in Elvis legend was cemented when he opened his 1968 TV special with the immortal opening line, "If you looking for trouble,...."

Of course the King's love of ballads delivers great performances in "As Long As I Have You", "Don't Ask Me Why" and "Lover Doll".

The bonus tracks on the CD provide a great alternate take of "King Creole" and includes the song "Danny" which was originally intended to be the title track for the film, until the film version of the book was re-titled as "King Creole".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2017
Had lost my original vinyl and this was purchased as a replacement, perfect to listen to and sing at the top of my voice (neighbours love me - NOT!!!) - good price and good quality and sound. Thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2002
King Creole was an excellent movie, and the soundtrack more than lives up to the film.
The original album hit #2 in America and #4 in Britain in 1958, plus the EPs King Creole Vol 1 and Vol 2 held both the #1 & 2 spots on the Billboard EP chart, with the Elvis EP at#6 and Jailhouse Rock at#8 all at the same time: this is very impressive as this was at a time when EPs sold far more than albums, both EPs sold over half a million copies each, the album sold 300,000 even though the EPs already contained all the songs.
And the songs are outstanding, King Creole and Hard Headed Woman are rock classics, hard driven and dangerous.
The duet Crawfish is a wonderful calypso inspired song, whilst the ballads are beautifully sung yet are a million miles away from the meanacing Trouble, a song that has become a legendary, not only here but as the opener in Elvis 68 Special.
There are plenty alternate takes here, making this an essential CD for everyone
11 Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2010
An absolute stunning album from start to finish. Probably one of Elvis' best albums and a superb film. I own this on the original vinyl and I now own it on CD and a brilliant job has been done in the transformation.
I would suggest that you buy the film first and then without further persuassion you will then buy the CD.
A great addition to any music/film collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2012
This was Elvis's 4th film and his best. The songs are all memorable with Elvis's voice at his best. After this film was made Elvis joined the army. His film music after this were not as good with only one or two tracks worthy of a high rating. This is the best! If you like this album. I recommend you get the DVD of the film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2009
great sountrack album completely capturing 50's rock music together with dixieland swing love all the alternative takes nice warm heartfelt love songs e.g as long as i have you , don't ask me why and real thumping rockers like hard headed woman. all in all one of the best ever soundtracks of any musical of any genre .go on treat yourself buy this tremendous album. you will love it!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse