Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
28
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2002
King Creole was an excellent movie, and the soundtrack more than lives up to the film.
The original album hit #2 in America and #4 in Britain in 1958, plus the EPs King Creole Vol 1 and Vol 2 held both the #1 & 2 spots on the Billboard EP chart, with the Elvis EP at#6 and Jailhouse Rock at#8 all at the same time: this is very impressive as this was at a time when EPs sold far more than albums, both EPs sold over half a million copies each, the album sold 300,000 even though the EPs already contained all the songs.
And the songs are outstanding, King Creole and Hard Headed Woman are rock classics, hard driven and dangerous.
The duet Crawfish is a wonderful calypso inspired song, whilst the ballads are beautifully sung yet are a million miles away from the meanacing Trouble, a song that has become a legendary, not only here but as the opener in Elvis 68 Special.
There are plenty alternate takes here, making this an essential CD for everyone
11 Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 31 October 2016
King Creole was perhaps the pinnacle of Elvis's early career. The film based on the Harold Robbins novel "A Stone for Danny Fisher" was originally considered as a potential role for James Dean, who had been killed 3 years earlier. It was Elvis's best acting performance and was backed up by this tremendous sound track.

King Creole is rock 'n' roll New Orleans style, and yes there is a strong jazz influence in many of the songs. For example "Dixieland Rock" and the ballad "New Orleans". The classic hit singles are "King Creole" and "Hard Headed Woman" the latter featuring tongue twisting, rapid fire lyrics require little introduction for Elvis fans. This also features the classic track "Trouble" whose place in Elvis legend was cemented when he opened his 1968 TV special with the immortal opening line, "If you looking for trouble,...."

Of course the King's love of ballads delivers great performances in "As Long As I Have You", "Don't Ask Me Why" and "Lover Doll".

The bonus tracks on the CD provide a great alternate take of "King Creole" and includes the song "Danny" which was originally intended to be the title track for the film, until the film version of the book was re-titled as "King Creole".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
Had lost my original vinyl and this was purchased as a replacement, perfect to listen to and sing at the top of my voice (neighbours love me - NOT!!!) - good price and good quality and sound. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2010
An absolute stunning album from start to finish. Probably one of Elvis' best albums and a superb film. I own this on the original vinyl and I now own it on CD and a brilliant job has been done in the transformation.
I would suggest that you buy the film first and then without further persuassion you will then buy the CD.
A great addition to any music/film collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
This was Elvis's 4th film and his best. The songs are all memorable with Elvis's voice at his best. After this film was made Elvis joined the army. His film music after this were not as good with only one or two tracks worthy of a high rating. This is the best! If you like this album. I recommend you get the DVD of the film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"King Creole" was Elvis' last movie before he went into the army. Indeed his draft notice arrived shortly before filming started and a special permit had to be sought to defer his enlistment. As a film it's up there with his best and it could be said that there had been significant improvement since his debut in "Love Me Tender". Unfortunately that improvement didn't continue post army. While that's another story the result may well be that this remains one of his more entertaining films.

Music wise it's also one of his better soundtracks though one does wonder why the contribution to rock'n'roll history made by the city of New Orleans has been totally ignored in favour of a kind of ersatz dixieland approach. I don't remember when it was meant to be set but the appearance looked fairly current for the time so the whole heritage of Domino, Penniman, etc. should have been relevant. Could it be that the film makers only related NO to dixie music? I'm rather inclined to think the answer (from the perspective of Hollywood) was yes!!!!!!!!

Oh well, moving on, what about the music? It does have several tracks which I'd put in his very good category, just below his very best stuff. These include the title track, a rather manufactured rocker from Leiber and Stoller which builds tension superbly in the stop/start verses only to rather dissipate the same thanks to the Jordanaires in the chorus. The blues "Trouble" is possibly the best track and it's the only one that went on to be used by Elvis in concert format at a much later stage in his career. As a blues it bears comparison more to the sort of thing that Muddy Waters or Howling Wolf were putting out in Chicago - with different instrumentation of course - than the more rolling piano dominated New Orleans blues. There's a similar sound on the track entitled "New Orleans" which Elvis obviously enjoys thoroughly. Lastly there's a forceful rocker in "Hard Headed Woman" though the jury is out on whether the fruity brass actually add value. Certainly Scotty Moore on guitar does and we even get to hear his solo twice.

There are three decent ballads plus the brief "Steadfast, Loyal and True" which is a bit of a curio but it has its place in the film. The other tracks from the original film are okay-ish but hardly fantastic. "Dixieland Rock" would have been a good rocker but is burdened by the Dixie efforts during the chorus.

The alternate takes are all of interest - it's only a personal opinion but I'd say some of these are at least as good as the cut used. That leaves us with "Danny" which has a little story behind it. The film itself was adapted from a book called "A Stone for Danny Fisher" written by Harold Robbins, an author who was extremely successful in the `50's and `60's. An independent songwriter called Ben Weisman submitted a song called "Danny" in the hope that it could be used in the film. It did get recorded by Elvis but because the title of the film was changed to "King Creole" it didn't get used.

And there's more. Weisman rewrote the lyrics of the song, changing it to "Lonely Blue Boy" and it got recorded by Conway Twitty giving him his biggest hit since his breakthrough with "It's Only Make Believe" - he even renamed his band the "Lonely Blue Boys"! And I have to say that in my view Twitty's "Blue Boy" beats El's "Danny" hands down in the misery stakes!

Overall not a bad selection of music though and definitely one of Presley's best sound tracks.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
The best movie album and one of the best overall album by Elvis. Some of the songs that are on here ,you will have a hard time finding on any other Elvis album. Songs like "Dixieland rock", "As long as I have you" and "Young Dreams" are hardly on any greatest hits collections (but are just as good), and the 4 songs "Trouble ", "Hard headed woman", "King Creole" and "Crawfish " are hardly ever on the same disc.Together with the rest of the songs they make the best sound track to any Elvis movie (but not as known as "G. I. BLUES", and "Blue Hawaii", which are a crying shame). If you want to hear the songs before you buy this, then look them up on Youtube and see them for youself, afterwards you will by at least one copy of this amazing sound track 😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
This was one of his best albums from his best era as a fifties rock star. This is the best reissue CD of the album complete with bonus tracks, as it is an official release on Sony who took over Elvis' label RCA among other labels, and the sound quality is better here than anywhere else. Beware of those dodgy out of copyright releases on those labels you've never heard of. It contained two of his classic fifties hits Hard Headed Woman and the title track here, and a load of other great songs, plus the rather dire Steadfast Loyal And True. There is also a great selection of bonus tracks which have appeared on previous compilation scattered around. But they are all here under one roof, and in better sound. They included alternate takes or demos of tracks on the album, plus a session outtake, a song called Danny which Conway Twitty covered as Lonely Blue Boy, and the EP version of Lover Doll which lacked the overdubbed backing vocals which were on the album version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
great sountrack album completely capturing 50's rock music together with dixieland swing love all the alternative takes nice warm heartfelt love songs e.g as long as i have you , don't ask me why and real thumping rockers like hard headed woman. all in all one of the best ever soundtracks of any musical of any genre .go on treat yourself buy this tremendous album. you will love it!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
My wife bought this on vinyl when it first came out, so I thought it was time she got the CD and very pleased she is too.
If you like Elvis and you've been listening to compilation albums and think that it is time to try a full album with tracks that you've not heard before, then King Creole is a very good place to start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)