Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

  • T-Rex
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
63
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2016
I am replacing all my old Marc Bolan Vinyl, I have the original LP, but it, like most of my other albums from the 1970s, is a little scratched - This is such an important album - it is the birth of the band that we know as T.Rex - It is a transition piece, a bridge between Tyrannosaurus Rex and T.Rex - it contains some of Bolan's magical works - my favourite track on this album is "The Wizard" - it also contains some early Bolan classics, such as "One Inch Rock", "Children of Rarn", and the bouncy "Beltane Walk" - the whole album has a wonderful Hippy Feel to it - I give it a well deserved Five Stars
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
great album would recommend to any Bolan fan, not quite the glam of T.rex more the early days but some great songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2017
Brilliant album. Bolan at his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
replacing old vinyl that was shot, perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
absolutely brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
This album more than any other shows how cleverly Bolan made the transformation from the hippy, underground Tyrannosaurus Rex to the glam rockabilly which followed. As with its predecessor, A Beard of Stars, T. Rex comprises many acoustic songs such as Summer Deep, Childe, The Visit & Suneye, with similar, but slightly less arcane, lyrics and themes than the underground days and tasteful, overlaid electric guitar. Even though they are simpler and more direct, Bolan clearly wrote them for the underground audience he did not want to lose. Even the album's centrepiece, a fantastic eight-minute reworking of his first single The Wizard - one of the best tracks he ever recorded - is very much a Tyrannosaurus Rex song. However, with the remainder of the album, an electric re-working of the second Tyrannosaurus Rex single, One Inch Rock, the phenomenal Jewel, Is It Love and Beltane Walk, Bolan clearly signalled what was to come and set his stall out for the post Beatles audience.. Originally released, from recollection, in December 1970, as Ride A White Swan climbed the singles chart, the album was a significant chart success climbing to number 13, only one place behind the much acclaimed Unicorn. If you want to explore both Bolan's underground days and the glam rock to follow this is an ideal place to start as you can then go in either direction. T. Rex is one of his most consistent and beautiful albums, without a bad track and, with Diamond Meadows, a string quartet accompanied forerunner of Cosmic Dancer, another
of his very greatest songs. Certainly a contender for his best album but one which tends to get overlooked due to the success of Electric Warrior
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
A complaint by a reviewer about the track 'childe' being chopped on this re-master is justified and its a mystery as to why it happened. Aside from that this a wonderful re-master of this milestone album which saw marc make the transition from tyrannosaurus to t.rex

However its evident that he was still testing the water here. most of this album has its feet in tyrannosaurus rex waters, especially the very confused and scrappy 'the wizard' which could have been lifted off of any of the 4 tyrannosaurus rex albums. It starts with a curious peice 'children of rarn' which is another tyrannosaurus moment - then however it explodes into 'jewel' my favourite track on the album and one of the heaviest tunes marc put onto vinyl. Alas, jewel remains the only rock out track here. The rest is mostly gentle ballads, again very tyrannosaurus rex based but with clearer vocals. Aside from that there two great bolan boogie numbers 'beltane walk' and 'one inch rock' an old tyrannosaurus track revamped and dusted down which was surely the inspiration for ray dorset and mungo jerry!

A great album, full of many colours and contrasts. still not the full blown t.rex we saw next on electric warrior, but a very interesting transition peice indeed
44 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
This is such a magical album.

Full of Tolkienesque characters in Marc`s fantasy world of Dworns, Dragons and Elves!

The songs are sparse and simple but all hold a thematic atmosphere from beginning to end, the main theme of course being the `Children of Rarn`.

An album i stiil play and have the original on vinyl . Quite tempted to get this again on 180.

Bless you Marc, you made my emerging teenage years slightly more bearable.

Rock on!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
i owned this album many years ago and feared as always it wouldnt replay well at all, but what a contradiction,i found this album delicious! tracks like beltane walk,and diamond meadows are among the finest stuff bolan put on record this is the real uncommercialised bolan material lots of meaty gibson guitar licks and you thought he only knew 3 chords! well give this a hearing!!!
33 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2007
The first T.Rex album following the shortening of the Tyrannosaurus Rex name & the second electric album following on from "Beard Of Stars".
This is a wonderful, beautiful record, which holds on to elements of the Tyrannosaurus Rex material but hints at the metamorphosis into the glam rock, T.Rex.Marc's vocals on this record are stunning & the arrangements are superb.
This always feels to me like one of Marc's most intimate records & the sound is beautiful. This is a record that built the foundation for the stardom to come & is one of the most (in my opinion) under rated records ever made by a man, who himself ,is much under valued in the annals of British music history.
This record is one of a number of Bolan's albums which showcase the diversity of which he was capable,sadly this is often ignored.
My advice - buy,buy,buy !!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)