Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Handmade Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Pre-order now Shop now

  • If
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.15
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2013
If...........
I used to despise Kipling for his paternalism, chauvanism; Empire, Imperialism, War et al & what what I considered then to be colonial racism.
But sd I've grown older,hopefully wiser and developed maturity through life I see that his perspective gives genuine life skills, acceptance of others both individually and different cultural and ethnic groups while having a sense of pride honour & dignity in yourself and who you are!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 June 2012
'If' is a 32 line poem which is long out of copyright so freely available both on the internet and on Amazon in the Kipling collection Rewards and Fairies. This e-book of If is the equivalent of only four pages long. I would have thought that the poem is so famous that most people would be aware that it's pretty short, but clearly not as this poem frequently appears high up on Amazon's best selling poetry chart, hence the need to warn people about what they're buying. The publishers should be thoroughly embarrassed that they're charging for this.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
I bought the book thinking it was a meaningfull number of Rudyard Kipling's poems, it was in fact all about one poem with lots of meaningless drawings, I feel that the description of the book was misleading and not upto Amazons usual standards.

regards,

Steve McGinnity
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
We bought this as a Christening gift for our Godson. It is a beautiful hardback book, containing this beautiful poem and lovely illustrations. Perfect for this purpose.
Buyers should note that it ONLY contains this poem, which was exactly what we were after, but some might assume for the price that it is a compendium.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
Have read and re-read this for years now, and unlike many do not take umbrage at the 'gender assignment'. It is of its time, but contains such a wealth of understanding of human nature, that it will continue to be popular
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
1st time that I have ever red it and find it to be inspiring. Should be taught in schools and colleges.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
A beautifully moving legacy for your children to aspire to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
A good classic to enjoy over and over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
Beautiful book and prompt delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
The NATION'S favourite poem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse