Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2015
Very pleased as a big fan of Tame Impala
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
People say music is stagnating, but they might change their mind after listening to this. The album opens up with "Fantastic explosion in time" which sounds like Led Zeppelin on a wild drug trip through the outback, this song alone would make an album but it hardly measures against the rest. The sound out track for me is "Moth Wings" which is like being slapped in the face by a big ray of sunlight; "You Broke my cool" also sounds brilliant, very cool despite what the title suggests. Either way, this is the best thing I've heard all year (it even beats Palma Violets and Peace who are also so good I spent a week humming and staring into space thinking about their songs).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
Warning: This album will make you feel like you are surfing and eventually you will drown in these sound waves. Best music purchase of 2012 for me! If you are expecting Tame Impala then be surprised because this band is the next best thing only to sound fractionally like their sister-band. This record overall gives me the feeling of a group of songs that were wrote in the mid 70's, only to be recorded & released in 2012 by a fresh-exciting Australian rock act named POND. This album grew on me after a few listens and now I have their entire back catalogue on my computer. Just mind-blowing, a highly recommended album. 5 Stars!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
Brilliant album, got a great energy about it. Highly recommend it to anyone.
Any Tame Impala fans will be sure to dig this album
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
This is the only Pond album I have heard and it is of a good quality. The writing is well thought out for the most part, with some songs falling short of the mark set by others but, while not every album is constructed entirely of brilliant songs, the theme that runs through it is strong. Childhood, nostalgia, adventure... it amounts to something that makes you smile at certain points, whether that be because of the fun tracks, such as: "Elegant Design" and "Moth Wings", or the classic sound that gives the artists a life-filled presence. They are not the best psych-rock revival band but they have a unique sound that still makes them stand out from the rest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
Fantastic explosion of explosions again and again and boom! Rakkaa, great stuff, 20 more words? Great great great great great great like a certain cereal but better
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
Great album, highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
This is their 4th release. Frond was brilliant but this is a Fab album. Psychadelidic rock at its best. It grows on you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
fab album, love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2012
I love tame impala so was excited to hear these guys, and whilst this band have a similar blissed out summery vibe and certainly have thier moments they really lack Tame impala's songwriting skills.

The songs mainly sound a bit half baked and just a bit too loose to satisfy.
(Plus most of the riffs and ideas dont really go anywhere).
I find the main problem is the vocals which become irritating after a couple of songs and are frequently too high pitched and cringe worthy, which is a shame as there are some interesting ideas here.

So all in all a pleasant record in places but not worthy of the hype.
Cant wait for the next tame impala album though!

(Finally, are this band really not aware of the fairly well know SubPop band of the same name? That seems a bit unusual)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)