Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
32
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2017
none
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
Interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2011
This is a true story about an airliner only a few days old that ran out of fuel at high altitude over Canada, with passengers aboard.

Unable to make a nearest airport as both engines had stopped, the pilot and co pilot skilfully glided the plane towards a disused airstrip, his only option. with no hydraulics.The pilot only had 1 shot as it and had to use his skills as an old seaplane pilot to side slip the plane to loose height.

At the start you can feel the hairs go up on the back of your neck as the horns start to sound in the cockpit warning of low fuel.The pilots manage to eradicate the problem and the horns stop,only for them to restart a few minutes later.

Numerous pilots have tried the same scenerio in a flight simulator and have crashed attempting ,just shows how brilliant the pilots were.

The film makes you think you are in the cockpit itself and I found it gripping to the end.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
Suspense is great with edge of the seat entertainment, Always something happening exciting with heart pounding scenes. The storyline is wonderful and the cast fantastic making you feel you are involved with them on the plane. Not wanting to leave my seat for a minute waiting for the next problem to arise. I was entertained completely throughout this movie. William Devane plays a marvelous role with very good supporting actors. It's all about a plane and is it or is it not ...going to crash, I'll leave that up to you to find out, its very different to a lot of other shows that I have watched. I can't tell you everything now can I ?. Not wanting to spoil a classic movie, so don't forget your popcorn relax and sit awhile enjoy with first class entertainment. I rated this movie an A plus must see.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2009
This is based on a true story, this brand new 767 was loaded with 20,000 lbs of fuel instead of 20,000 kilograms due to a conversion error by the ground crew at the time of change over from imperial to metric measurements. This was compounded by the fact that the main fuel gauge was inoperative - not normally a major issue because the flight computer works out the fuel used and amount remaining but in this case critical if you remember that 1kg = 2.2lbs!

The film starts with two pilots experiencing an emergency total engine failure and crashing the plane until you realise it's on a simulator and the pilots are being trained. The trainees say "hey, this isn't a realistic scenario, no-one could escape that" but the trainier is Bob Pearson, the pilot who did it for real (actually the real Bob Pearson in a cameo appearance).

Basically, the plane ran out of fuel at altitude and the pilot glided the beast in to a safe landing on an abandoned air force base. Note that the pilot was an experienced glider pilot fortunately!

Some of the details in the film aren't correct and the continuity isn't perfect either but this is generally forgivable in the overall context of the film.

In the way of such films, it's a bit sentimental but again, doesn't go too far with this. The acting is generally not too bad, especially from William Devane who plays Bob Pearson, and Scott Hylands as the first officer.

Overall, well worth a watch for some light entertainment and probably one of the better films of this genre.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2007
this is based on a true story that occoured during the time canada was changing over metric from imperial, and a 767 ran out of gas in mid flight from montreal to edmonton. where i live we call it the gimil glider due to the expertise of the pilot robert pearson who makes a cameo apperance at the begining of the movie. william devane does an excellent job of protraying robert pearson. there are a lot of flase sites such as the airport was not winnipeg international nor was that the gimil drag strip, nor was it the company aircraft protrayed it is a very good movie to watch and enjoy. i do have the vhs and have been looking for the dvd and glad i am getting it. if you don't mind flase locations but enjoy a true story with some extra story lines this is one i recommend
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
I saw this film a few years ago and I enjoyed it. When I noticed it in the DVD section I decided to buy it. Although I had seen it before I still appreciated the truth based plot and the excellent cast.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
loved the film a oldy but a goody good price would recommend it to anyone even my daughter who is 16 liked it, arrived quickly too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
A well directed film telling the true story of what took place and how easy it was to mis calculate the fuel levels, well acted by all and worth a view
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
based on a true story , its a good drama, not shown much
came out in the 90s ,

Freefall: Flight 174 [DVD]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)