Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

2.7 out of 5 stars
11
2.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2017
Have to agree with all the one star reviews on Amazon so far(I expect more to come), and that's "Swinging with the Finkels" was just abysmal, if not embarrassing for all actors involved, I mean the Cucumber scene was laughable, but not in a fun way.

And I do like Mandy Moore(chasing liberty) but if I was her i would change the subject if anyone brought this film up, and the same goes for Martin Freeman(the hobbit trilogy). who was awful in this film, his worst performance i have seen so far. Awful film which i sent straight to my local Charity shop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
As one of those embarrassingly obsessive fans of Martin Freeman's, I purchased this DVD despite the negative reviews I had seen. I'm terribly sorry to say that, from those reviews, I had been warned and have only myself to blame for having just spent 80 oh-so-long minutes, watching Swinging With The Finkels. Crikey, Martin, what had attracted you to do this movie??

I'm very ready to be amused by Martin Freeman, and the DVD blurb advertised the film as being "laugh-out-loud funny", but even I was hard pushed to even crack a tired smile. Like one previous reviewer said, the two main characters aren't exactly the most likeable people you'd ever meet, and I kept wondering what had attracted them to each other in the first place, they seemed so utterly disconnected.

Sadly, I was quite relieved when the end credits started to roll and I'm sorry to say that, although I won't be getting rid of the DVD, it's unlikely I'll ever watch this film again.

Oh, one positive point: I did love Amanda Abbington's all too brief cameo in this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
This is really a poor film. It fails on every level. Shame on you Mr Freeman. Please read the script next time. I don't know where to start. Unconvincing premise, bad script, fails to ignite. Embarrassing scenes, that aren't even remotely funny, so don't justify their inclusion. Struggled to watch it to the end. The film Bob & Carol & Ted & Alice is ancient, 1969, but is a better, truer and funnier take on this kind of thing. One to avoid. As is swinging. I'm told.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
This film was ok and passed the time one evening. I got it free as I had a voucher off the rental service, so can't complain too much as it seemed the best film out of the free bunch to choose from. There were a couple of scenes I found quite funny and the acting wasn't too bad, but I found myself waiting for the end to hurry up for the most part. It didn't feel like there was an actual storyline to the film and the ending was a bit pointless. I would have been really disappointed if I had paid for this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
Funny up to the xxxxx point then steamed to lose the plot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
While not a perfect film, this underrated little gem has moments of sheer hilarity and as Freeman and Moore play a bored couple trying to spice up their sex life. It takes the romcom genre and gives it an original twist, which I liked. A nice film to watch at home with the hubby and reminds you the grass is not always greener on the other side.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
This has to be one of the worst DVD's/films I have seen for a long time and its not funny. I didn't even smile yet alone laugh once. In the end I found the couple who are the main characters so unlikeable that the only happy ending for me would be if they were hit by a bus. Not only do they have zero chemistry with each other but even less with the viewer.

This film tries to hard to be funny to be an adult comedy but it fails and all it really achieves is the most uinlikeable couple and boring story. The original idea could have been made into a really funny comedy or a heart renching story but fails in every category. I would not waste my money or let alone time to buy this drivel.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
This martin freeman picture isn't quite the mess (I think some other reviewers) have made it to be. Alas it is a mess none the less. It has a misleading title-very little is made of the "swinging" angle, and more was done with Donald & Jacqueline characters in TV series Benidorm, on that front.
I didnt feel it to be the abject failure, many others have suggested-it is more of a "Love Actually-lite" , appearing to use many of the same locations, cast and lighting.
The cast do work hard and Freeman (whom looks very diffrent now!), try hard, but the script needed more work.
It isn't a complete loss but more could have been made of the story and cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
Good British made film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Martin freeman is fabulous in this. I is a hilarious film that will keep you laughing and at times cringing. A great film for a night in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)