Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
13
4.1 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 1998
Weak techniques? Who is to determine what techniques are weak and which are strong? This book is about the true methods of the shadow warriors, like it or not. Whatever your preconceptions about the art of Ninpo Taijutsu, you would do well to peruse this tome and discover some of the truths behind the fiction.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2003
I've been highly interested recently in the art of Ninjitsu and the history of Japan. I've read a few things on the internet, but this was my first factual book on the subject. And it's a perfect taster, leaving you wanting to know lots more. Don't expect this to delve into highly detailed descriptions of the art, but it's a great stepping stone to your understanding. Great book for beginners, like I said, a superb taster to the arts, especially in the spiritual chapters. It made me realise quite a few things about myself, and how I've changed after certain events in my life. Quite short, but a great book to start off with. Read, understand, enjoy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2007
This book is one of the best introductions on the Ninja Art I have ever read. It is written from the authors point of view as he was first introduced to the art and learned it. Very well written. Gives a great insight of the art. Has a narrative comparrison of the more traditional arts vs ninjutsu. The book contains seven sections. Starts with Perspective, the authors search for Ninja, unarmed combat, weapons,deception, commando tactics and psychology. A book you will read over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2010
This book was written many years ago by the author and has not dated.All students young and old can look at the knowledge here and learn a new thing here.Older students can see their knowledge growing to the next level of understanding in whats written between the words.Hayes has really offered the world a great deal into this art so practice or 'hai play' and you will see what hayes says is true.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
How can a book be ninja? Well quite simple: this small, unassuming, book offers one of the best introductions to unarmed, armed and spiritual fighting. Author Stephen K. Hayes shares his personal training experiences in Japan with the reader. Experiences with sensei of the highest levels and the grandmaster of the ninpo schools himself are all included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2000
I just want to say that I bought it and I like it a lot. I just want to had that if someone buys any of the books from Mr. Hayes, they all give you a part of of what is the "total" of Ninjutsu. I am not an expert but I can ashore you that in all of his books he "exposes" the basics of each step of the Ninjutsu Art.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2009
This book gives a brief insight into what it's like to train with Dr Masaaki Hatsumi. It shows Invisibility techniques, ninjutsu stances, different weapons used in the art, meditation, and lots more. In addition it also tells of Japanese culture and some history of this mysterious art. Great buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
Having just met the author after 26 years of reading his books I can say what a great teacher, humble and wise man he comes across as. This book is a great introduction into An-Shu Hayes' world and it is communicated beautifully. Read, enjoy and be inspired
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
Good book, rather informative. Received in relatively good order with some minor wear although no obvious damage i.e. missing pages; tears; stains; etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
not great. reads like a "what i did on my holiday"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)