Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
35
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.19
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2000
Having spent almost 5 years at the Durham College where William McVicker was senior organ Scholar, and having been constantly told about the legend that is William McVicker in the organ-playing world, I am finally glad to hear him play. This CD contains an inspired programme of music, which shows off beautifully both the range and capability of the instrument, and the fantastic talent of the organist. My particular favourite is Lefebure-Wely's wonderfully tasteless "Sortie in E flat", a marvellously fairground-style piece with some great opportuities for the organist to show off to his audience. A top class performance!
11 comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2001
This is an excellent recording of some old favourites and some new ones too. Far from being too loud and too fast, this is well judged, musical playing and an excellent introduction to the wonderful variety of music written for the organ.
If you want to hear playing that is truly too fast and too loud, then try any from Wayne Marshall! This is playing of the very highest order which deserves a wider audience.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
I heard the Widor Toccato played by William McVicker on Classic FM. I decided to buy this CD. Unfortunately the recording is poor. I play the Bach Toccato and Fugue in D minor on the piano, so am very familiar with the piece. Mc Vickers skill is very apparent, the way his hands fly over the keys, but in places the notes sound off key and it also sounds as if mistakes have been made. I have played the disc on both my Technics Hi-Fi and my portable Sony CD player. The poor sound is more evident on the Technics. This CD was recorded in 1997, so perhaps this is why the recording is poor. It sounded very different on the radio-note perfect and clear.The choice of tracks are very good, some of which I was unfamiliar with. I would like a decent recording of the tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
I may not be entirely unbiased because I know the performer, but regardless of that, this is an excellent performance of an excellent crop of favourite organ works. It's no surprise that ClassicFM chose these pieces - they always come up popular choices on their station. With Will McVicker at the keyboard, you'd find it hard to go wrong.

And the price is fantastic!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2016
Included on this cd are a good variety of organ pieces and transcriptions including a number of my favourites. I particularly like the Toccata from Boellmann's Gothic suite, such a sinister effect coming up from the lower register - very Gothic. The eternally popular Widor Toccata is also included. All in all good value..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
Brilliant player,this will knock the dust out of your speaker's as well as your house.play this CD loud tocato & fugue WOW.some very nice pieces of organ music better than going to a recital,this should keep you awake....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
This cd is my favourite of all the organ music in my collection, and was the first of it's genre purchased too, which has spurred me on to purchase even more organ music cd's, which I enjoy thoroughly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
Arrived promptly - good range of organ music. Well worth choosing. Would definitely recommend this cd I've played it lots since it arrived
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
The CD cover didn't look like it is shown here but that wasn't a problem. It brought delight to the recipient and that was all that mattered. It arrived in time for Christmas which was more than 3 weeks before the due date. Thanks
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
This is a great selection of noisy treats from the organ repetoire. All beautifully played by William McVicar and with lovely clear recorded sound. Tremendous !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)