Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
56
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2013
THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE SCREAM FACTORY BLU RAY!

Ingrid pitt plays a vampire out for revenge against a small town. She gets herself invited to various wealthy households and seduces the nubile young daughters of the Austrian nobles (said nobles played by Hammer Stalwart Peter Cushing and Arthur Daley himself George Cole) slowly draining them inbetween some extremely softcore lesbian sexaimed at an audience for an audience growing steadily jaded by an influx of sex filled euro-horror from directors like Jean Rollin and Jess Franco.
Vampire Lovers is a film that has one foot still firmly in the old school hammer gothic tradition with fog shrouded villages, taverns country estates and period costumes galore. The other foot is in the world of the modern (for the 1970's) euro-horror imports that were stealing Hammers thunder. In spite of its attempt to pander to the more purient audiences of the time Vampire lovers is still a lot of fun. The sets are great, the performances are also uniformly good and director Roy ward Baker makes the most of things.
The blu-ray IS region free. A rarity for scream factory releases but it will play on your PS3 with no problems. Its using the same sources as the MGM midnight movies release and looks great. Theres some print damage evident but its still a noticable step up from that release. Extras wise it carries over all the bonus features from the midnight movies release including the commentary track and Ingrid Pitt reading an extract from Carmilla as well as including a couple of short new featurettes as well.
77 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2002
This is a classic Hammer Horror, co-produced by American International Pictures in 1970, this was the first Hammer film to feature scenes of sex and nude vampires! This DVD is a MUST for any horror DVD collection, and if you like sexy thrillers!!! There are no extras, however, there is a secret still gallery of around ten stills! Highlight the "o" in Vampire L"o"vers on the main menu, and hit enter!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2002
Vampire Lovers was released by American International/Hammer Horror pictures in 1970 and it went on to be one of their most successful films. It spawned two further sequels. Whilst it did not differ significantly from Hammer Horror's other films released at the time, it concentrated more on relationships and seductions rather than draculas and fangs. This proved to work well.
The production boosts and impressive cast. Peter Cushing only has a small cameo role at the beginning and end but Ingrid Pitt is excellent as the undead nymphomaniac vampire who seduces both men and women alike before drinking their blood. Also featured is George Cole and Kate O'Mara.
Though the film is not very scary as such, it is not played "camply" and the full frontal female nudity took it one step further in relation to the film board sensors.
It is my favorite Hammer Horror, not least because it features my old English school master Harvey Hallsmith (Harvey Hall in the credits) as a house butler.
One criticism - This release contains no extras - No commentary, no trailer, no subtitles, no language dubs and no accompanying booklet (although there is chapter selection). The film clarity and sound is however crystal clear.

I recommend watching this film and "The Abominable Dr Phibes" for classic Hammer Horror before it all started to get a bit silly in the late 70s.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
I've always been a fan of horror movies made in the sixties and seventies and this is one of my favourites, mainly because of the delicious Ingrid Pitt who could bare her fangs and hiss with the best of them. I am delighted with this blu-ray edition and really impressed with the bevy of extras, especially the interview with Maddy Smith who clearly enjoyed herself in the role of near-victim to Miss Pitt's avaricious vampire. Heartilly recommended for those who enjoy horror movies set in medieval Europe with not a chain-saw or hockey mask in sight.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
The picture quality on this Australian blu-ray seems OK, but the audio is horrid. Whether it comes from an inferior source or has just been badly mastered I don't know, but it's overly-quiet and prone to what sounds like wow & flutter from a warped tape. It's noticeably worse than any of the DVD versions I've encountered (both US and UK releases).

I suggest holding off for the Scream!Factory release due in April 2013.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
The Vampire Lovers was always one of my fav Hammer films so i was a bit disappointed to find that the UK 15 rated stand alone version is cut. Missing scenes are Ingrid Pitt doing a brief full frontal and some of the blood letting at the end of the movie. However the UK double pack of the Vampire Lovers and Lust for a Vampire are both uncut and both in widescreen.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
Fantastic. This US import bluray is a very decent transfer. I have the German Koch media DVD of the movie and it is an upgrade on that. That in itself is a good thing because before now, the Koch Media DVD was the best version of this movie on sale. This was only £5.50 Plus postage from 'All Your Music' via Amazon which is an absolute steal. It is labeled on the case as Region A, but it is in fact Region-free. Bargain. Buy it or miss out
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
Although a fan of Hammer Films, I could not recall seeing this movie prior to reading about it a couple of years ago. I bought it out of curiosity, but did not have high expectations for it - I was pleasantly surprised. The story itself is a retelling of the Le Fanu novella Carmilla and, although not totally faithful, uses enough of the original story to tell a solid one of its own.

The movie contains more nudity and sexuality than the usual Hammer fare, but this was the studio trying to meet the more liberated tastes of movie goers back in 1971, apparently. Don't be put off by this as it is essential to the story and does not spoil the film in the least. The film is well made and is now one of my favourite Hammer movies.

The extras included in this imported Blu-ray, although few, are very good and definitely worth watching.

I'm really glad I made this purchase and can see myself revisiting this movie time and again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2003
This is one of the funniest films I own. On a bad day, it's great to pop on a watch with a glass of wine. Hammer at it's most campest, with plunging neck lines, heaving bosoms and 'Flash Harry'; George Cole. The sets look very contempory, Ingred Pitt looks drop dead georg, as does Maddie Smith, and the film is what you can expect....scary music, obvious cliff hangers and a bit of a homoerotic vibe. Heh heh! Top stuff and a classic slice of cinematic history. One can't in all honesty be scared by this, but this is kind of it's strength. Buy this and save it for a rainy Autumnal afternoon with some mates. A work of wonky genius and therefore a vampiric must. BUY, BUY, BUY.......
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
If you are a fan of fanged femmes then The Vampire Lovers is for you. Unfortunately, if you do not own a multiregional Blu-ray player, you will have to wait for a UK release of the film to get a decent transfer of this enjoyable romp.
This Aussie Blu-ray release was allegedly originally released in late 2012. not that you would have known it existed as it could not be found on the shelves of either the large chain stores or smaller independents. So, when I finally tracked a copy of the disc down today I was understandably excited to see if the film was as enjoyable lurid as I remember it being all those many years ago on the late friday night creature feature. The answer is in the affirmative. It's just a shame that the quality of this Aussie release is so poor.
Yes, this is a forty year old film and the cost of restoration work has to be balanced by potential sales,but this transfer is a shocker. Scratches, speckling and film dirt are all on full display. It makes one very grateful for Hammer's restorations of The Curse of Frankenstein and Dracula. I understand that The Vampire Lovers was a co-production with American International Pictures so Hammer may not have any say in this particular release.
Others may find the visual quality satisfactory. The deal breaker is the awful, heavily distorted music and effects track.
Dialogue is strong and clear, but everything else on the soundtrack is a phasing, shimmering mess. It might sound good at a Cure concert, rocking out to A Forest, but it does not make for a comfortable viewing/listening experience.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)