Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
11
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2005
This is a fascinating book that starts with the author's experiences of working in the feeding stations of Ethiopia during the 1980s famine. The choices she had to make in deciding who to take in from the overwhelming mass of starving people proved almost unbearable. Her interview with Michael Buerk for BBC news brought the situation to the world's attention and led to Bob Geldof's fund raising concerts.
She continued to work in a number of conflict zones with the International Red Cross and her work in Afghanistan proved particularly harrowing and dangerous. The intriguing aspect of the book is understanding what motivated and sustained her. There is undoubtedly a spritual search amongst the pages of the book and this ends in an intriguing way.
Highly recommended and deserves to be on the Bestseller lists.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2009
It is not often that one reads a book that is so true to its title! As Michael Buerk of the BBC said on the back cover of the book, Claire Bertschinger was "an ordinary woman who did extraordinary things and really did move mountains". For once here is a book where the hype was amply justified! No reader could fail to be moved by her courage, convictions and commitment. I was looking for an autobiography that highlighted just such attributes. I was not disappointed!

Forbes Watson - Plymouth
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
I came across this book by chance and was intrigued by the blurb on the back,especially when I found out that she inspired Buerke to make his BBC documentary which in turn was seen by millions on the news and in turn by Bob Geldof which resulted in Band Aid.
This woman is truly exceptional,inspirational and a saint.The book has a nice flow to it and,although heartbreaking at times is an eye opener as to the danger that these aid workers put themselves in.The recent IS atrocities show just how much danger these people put themselves in to help those in desperate need.A marvellous book that should be read by everybody that cares for those less fortunate than ourselves. A marvel and a great lady.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
This is the amazing and true story of a real heroine of our time, a nurse for the Red Cross who personifies "caring". It is an emotional account of her work caring for those in need in war-zones and natural disasters,....which inspired Bob Geldof to do Live Aid & Band Aid. A real life "Florence Nightingale".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
An honest and vivid account of Bertschinger's amazing and humbling work in developing countries.

I found this book on the shelf in a coffee shop 10 years ago and was utterly moved and transformed by it...

I'm now a registered nurse myself and plan to work abroad in the not-so-distant future.

The work and life of Bertschinger is truly inspiring.

Please read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
I cried so much my throat felt raw....the fact it was a true story made me cry all the more.......this woman is not just on parr with Geldof she is heavens higher....................................a wonderful woman
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
I first came across this book when it was leant to me by someone who was fortunate enough to benefit from the feeding camps during the Ethiopian famine. I found the way she dealt with all the different circumstances amazing. I finished the book with so much respect for her determination and resourcefulness. Whether you know Ethiopia or not, it's a very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
I really enjoyed reading this book. It gave me insights about what's involved in modern global disasters of war and famine, and Claire Bertschinger is an extraordinarily gutsy, compassionate, practical and fiery woman!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
This a good book to read of the experiences of an aid work at ground roots level . It is a good read with plenty of stories about her travels and how she arrived in Ethiopia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
excellent, wonderful biography of a great woman who was used mightily to help people who are under privileged & very poor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)