Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 23 September 2012
I'm relatively new to backpacking, after a gap of many years, and bought this book after browsing Amazon, just looking to see what the latest thinking was. I found it very informative and if you were to buy only one book on backpacking - this should be the one. The chapters on food and cooking alone made it worthwhile for me! Brilliant
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2015
What can I say, a comprehensive book covering the whole range of important aspects on this subject. Brilliant, thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2016
excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2014
A great book, very thorough and easy to read. Covers all sections in detail eg cooking, boots, tents etc packed full of good advice and has obviously been very well researched. Only downside is most of the trails discussed are in North America.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2015
Great book full of very good advice for both novices and hardened hikers alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2015
Fantastic technical details. I learnt loads of new stuff despite having been doing hiking / backpacking for more than 20 years. Is written for US audience (refers to lbs rather than kg) but this was not a major issue for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2015
An informative manual
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2014
Thorough introduction to the many options for outdoor / backpacking gear, and practicalities of camping. Little coverage of first aid and cooking, so not a panacea :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2013
Bought for my sister and her partner who go on walks around the country. Handbook provides lots of useful information and is used regularly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2013
There is lots in here for everyone, lots you know, lots you had forgotten and lots to learn!
Very good reference book too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)