Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
41
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£18.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 16 September 2011
This is a well made, small budget flick from New Zealand and it has a setting that is becoming a new sub genre, that is the Nazi's and the occult. It starts the day before D-Day, when two New Zealand commandos have been sent to the Channel Islands as part of Operation Overlord and the subterfuge that was employed by the Allies. They are to blow up gun emplacements in a bid to make the Germans think that the Islands will be the staging post for the invasion of Europe. So far, so plausible, as they near their target they can hear tortured screams coming from the bowels of the cavernous outpost. Captain Ben Grogen (Craig Hall) decides it might be one of their men being tortured and so goes in against the advice of his Sargeant.

In some horrors you always want to know why do the `heroes' go into the big scary mansion where the lights don't work, instead of running as quickly as possible in the opposite direction. What director Paul Campion makes you realise is that it is foolish but heck you would probably do the same thing, so cliché avoided. A word about Mr Campion, he has worked as artist and painter on oodles of films including `The lord of the rings' trilogy but I think this is his first in the directors chair.

Well they go into the pit and to tell you any more would be a plot spoiler.
What I can say is that they do not find any of their comrades and most of the Germans are already dead, so what they do find is a whole lot worse. The German commander is Col Klaus Meyer (Mathew Sunderland) who is a member of the SS on one of Hitler's special missions to investigate the legendary witchcraft of the Islands. His role is pivotal to the plot development and as some have commented he does have a rather English accent, which is forgivable as a lot of Germans were educated in England, but it is really because he is not actually a German actor. This is full of unpleasant gore, scares a plenty and images of the occult as well as more blood than an average abattoir. It is tense and gripping right from the start and does not let up throughout, which is a very big achievement especially as this is 96 minutes long.

I am not a huge horror fan, but this is one that has appeal on many levels, if you liked `The Outpost', or `The Keep' you will want to see this. Scary, claustrophobic, dirty and intense, I think Mr Campion should be rightly proud of what he has managed to achieve.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
When I bought the DVD, I was fully expecting a low budget movie, average acting and direction, so I wouldn't be disappointed. I was intrigued by the plot of the Allied commandos set out to raid enemy bastions on the eve of the D Day landings infiltrates German occupied Channel Islands to divert Hitler's attention from Normandy. When they successfully plant the bombs, they hear sounds of an apparent torture from the nearby bunker. Captain Ben Grogan (Craig Hall) despite the objection of Sergeant Joe Tane (Karlos Drinkwater), went to investigate assuming it could be a fellow soldier. While Grogan enter the large gun pit - bunker, Tane stands guard rather reluctantly giving the captain five minutes to do whatever he can. Soon hearing a gunshot he also enter the pit-bunker in search of Grogan. What he found was a book of black magic near a bloodied dead German soldier. The book in French, details with signs and symbols of the occult and Lucifer incantations, puzzles Tane who is killed by a someone in German uniform, soon Grogan is also captured.

That's an intro to the plot, which thickens and twists while weaving a web of horror. True, it's a low budget movie, but it's really well made. Great camera, audio, decent special effects, and an engaging story though sometimes the story drags a bit.

The entire cast, including the extras, is may be nine (that counts for characters after the main credits). Three main actors, since the character Tane is killed at the beginning, the story revolves around Craig Hall, the Nazi Colonel Klaus Meyer played b Matthew Sunderland, and Gina Varela's mysterious demonic entity.
Don't miss the epilogue: once the credits roll, wait for ten or so seconds until the film title, and see the epilogue.

About the DVD: DVD has limited features like scene selection, making of the movie and no subtitles.
Pro.
Great Plot
Decent Special Effects
Good Audio
Low budget but masked very well, thanks to the audio and the camera.

Cons:
No Subtitles
Only four main actors, and probably all together seven actors in the whole movie.
Still low budget

DVD Features on cover
The Making of the Devil's Rock: Behind the scenes featurette
Interviews with cast and crew.
Certificate: 18 for strong gore
Region: 2
Audio: 5.1 Surround Sound/2.0 Stereo Dolby Digital
Running Time: 82 minutes Approx.
Aspect Ratio: 16x9 Anamorphic
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2011
First of all a call out to whoever decided to emblazen 'Saw with Swastikas' across the cover of 'The Devils Rock'.

Lazy and misleading; it's nothing like Saw at all!

Maybe who ever wrote this just loves alliteration; how about "Finding Nemo with Gnashers" for 'Pirahna', "Parenthood with Problems" for 'The Exorcist' or "Goodfellas with Giggles" for 'The Hangover'.

Anyway, 'The Devils Rock' is a very different horror film which confronts the demon/devil sub-genre in a solid, non-cheesy way. The acting is very good and the claustrophobia of the underground network (in which alomost the entire film is set) works very well.

An original take on the ending of the war, it is exectuted very well with gore a plenty along the way. The downside for me is the abrupt ending and the fact that very little actually happens throughout. Action packed and fast moving it isn't, a slow burner it most certainly is.

The special affects are commendable and the 'devil' looks very realistic. There's not enough good, old fashioned demons in horror these days!

I didn't love 'The Devils Rock' and there are far better horror films out there. That said, there's no huge flaws and the whole film is pretty neat and tidy. Worth a watch for sure, but for me it was just a little pointless, especially with the film grinding to a halt when it seemed to just be getting going.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
THE MOVIE

At night on June 5th, 1944, 2 New Zealand soldiers, Captain Ben Grogan (Craig Hall) and Sergeant Joe Tane (Karlos Drinkwater) paddle to to Forau Island to sabotage German gun emplacements located there. They land on the beach dodging mines and traps and make their way to the German fortification. From inside they hear screaming.
They are surprised by a German soldier running out of the bunker, screaming and pleading for help. Grogan easily kills the soldier and when they hear a woman screaming, they decide to investigate. During this, Tane is killed and Grogan is knocked unconscious by another German officer.
Grogan is interrogated and tortured by the German officer (Matthew Sunderland). During the interrogation Grogan repeatedly hears a female screaming from another room. Grogan eventually manages to break free and injure Meyer, the German officer.
He discovers the woman who was screaming. It turns out the woman is a shape shifter demon, summoned by black magic, a weapon the Germans plan to use against the Allied Forces...

THE DEVIL'S ROCK is an interesting little horror film with a unique and tense atmosphere and superb actors. Almost the entire movie takes place in the bunker, focusing on Grogan (superbly played by Craig Hall), Colonel Meyer (equally impressive: Matthew Sunderland) and Gina Varela, playing the demon.
Paul Campion directed and co-wrote THE DEVIL'S ROCK, which at 82 minutes is a rather short movie, but well paced and without unnecessary lengths. A bloody chamber drama with quite well-written dialogue.
Occult horror, of course is not to everyone's liking, but the occult is rather subtle, no demon worshipping or blasphemy, it should not be to offensive. The gore section, however is a different story: there is quite a lot of blood, guts and gore to go around, gore hounds should be pleased. The special effects are very well done - real makeup effects instead of cheap CGI effects.
Fortunately the movie spares us the usual cheesiness one would expect from a movie such as this, I was pleasantly surprised.
Not great, but definitely worth a look and most certainly better than I expected.

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2011 Metrodome UK DVD
Feature running time: 82 mins. (uncut)
Rating: Not Rated (MPAA) (not yet released) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1 / 16x9
Audio: English 5.1, English 2.0
Subtitles: None
Extras: Making Of Featurette, interviews
Region: 2 (locked), PAL

Picture: B
Audio: B
Extras: D-
33 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2011
!!!WARNING. MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

1944. Two New Zealand commandos mount a daring raid on a German bunker on Guernsey on the eve of the Normandy landings. Their original mission to distract the enemy soon is forgotten however when they enter one particular bunker. Some terrible screams lead them to believe that some inhuman torture is taking place within the bunker's walls. However, what they discover is a dark secret of the Nazis, a creature summoned from the bowels of Hell to serve Adolf Hitler. However, this creature might have plans of its own...
Whilst not earth shattering, British director Paul Campion has crafted here a very entertaining little film, a supernatural horror that manages to combine realism with fantasy to great effect.
It doesn't start too promisingly, with the two commandos discussing their love lives before reaching their intended target. However, once they enter the bunker, the atmosphere changes completely, as the hunters become the hunted. A copy of a Grimoire is discovered, along with the bloody remains of several German soldiers.
The introduction of a Nazi Captain, well played by Matthew Sunderland, adds a new dynamic to proceedings, and this neat film becomes a three hander. Well, a two hander, one clawed narrative at least.
Well worth a watch, the dvd also has a very interesting pre and post production making of featurette. 4 out of 5.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
Whilst low-budget horror flicks are a bit hit&miss (Bane being a flagbearer for the latter) Devil's Rock is actually not too bad at all : Acting - reasonable, Gore content - high, Nazis - de rigeur nasty and evil. The premise of the film returns to the well trodden path of Nazi experimentation and the occult and I have to say it does it rather well. Give this one a go, you might be surprised you actually enjoy it.
44 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2016
This film surprised me because I had very low expectations going in but it was actually quite a good little movie and I enjoyed it. It's well acted with an interesting plot, not your run-of-the-mill horror. I'll definitely watch it again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Firstly whoever thought that using the tag-line "Saw with Swastikas" was a good idea is an idiot; it was taken out of context from a web-site review. That act of advertising lunacy almost made me avoid this movie and I would have missed what is a perfectly good old-fashioned horror movie.
The Nazi fascination with the occult is well documented and has been used in many movies from Raiders of the Lost Ark to Hellboy etc and in books by many authors including Dennis Wheatley and James Herbert and countless comics over the years.
The plot has been outlined before but basically two New Zealand commandoes are on a decoy sabotage mission the day before D-day, they land on one of the smaller Channel Islands where the Nazi's have a base. After setting their explosive charges they hear screams, fearing it is an allied soldier being tortured, and against the advice from his friend, Joe goes into the tunnels to try and rescue the prisoner. On hearing gun-shots Ben follows him and finds that the truth is far more sinister.
It's a well-paced movie using just four main characters the two NZ soldiers along with a suitably evil SS Colonel (Matthew Sunderland) and the female prisoner (Gina Varela) who happens to look like Ben's dead wife.
The gore lies mainly in the effects of the dead soldiers; it has no relevance to Saw in any way, if anything it actually underplays the gore at times. The creature effects aren't spectacular but they are more than effective enough for what is a lesser demon. There's even a passing reference to H P Lovecraft's Great Old Ones.
The ending even leaves enough scope for a sequel.
After being fooled into watching so many torture movies that were thinly disguised as horror it was a pleasant change to watch a proper horror movie, helped by the fact that writer Paul Finch has done some proper research on the subject. He has also written several of my favourite tales in the Black Books of Horror series and specialises in horror stories with a factual historical background.
This is one film I will definitely be watching again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
As a big horror fan, I do love an orginal creepy new film to enjoy.

Purchased this with low expectations but was pleasantly surprised..

Well acted dark and intriguing... For horror fans its well worth a look.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
Just finished the Devils Rock and was pleasantly surprised. The DVD was a gift and not one i would have normally picked up myself,(given the spate of straight to DVD tripe of late), until i had seen it first. What I was met with was a well acted trip into demon rituals that was as gory as it was interesting. The entire film centres around three lead actors and each one does a standup job. No cheese here! The story lends from Hitlers quest to find artefacts both holy and un-holy and in this case, the nazis experiments into the occult and witch craft. Final verdict. Slow burner? Yes a little but excellent with it and hopefully destined for a slice of cult status. Two thumbs up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)