Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Handmade Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
17
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£17.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 July 2016
Good CD, not their normal fare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2016
This is a decidedly mature effort from Therapy?, a band not generally known for their maturity but rather their tongue in cheek, OTT irony and black humour. The title of the album come from some Russian novelist called Nabokov (yeah, never heard of him either) which suggests ol' Andy Cairns (nearing 47 at the time) must have been in a philosophical, introspective mood, and the album reflects that.
Gone are the poppy, sometimes obnoxious punk elements, in are dark, well thought out, down tuned riffs and an electronic, possibly gothic element. A great example of these two sides mashed together would be the epic 'Before You, With You, After You.' This alt rock edge has always been in the Therapy? mix, but brought more to the fore this time around (see the instrumental 'Marlow,' and the slow and melodic closer 'Ecclesiastes' as two shining examples of their virtuosity and experimentalism).
Opener 'Living in the Shadow of a Terrible Thing' sets the tone for the whole album, with its slow, almost sludgy main riff and higher up the fret board rhythm. This is an unmistakably different album to anything the band have done. 'Plague Bell' sounds like Nu Metal with brains and venom, complete with UFO humming noises in the verses and interlude.
'The Buzzing' sounds like the Therapy? of old, with a weird riff, some shouting vocals and lower mumbling and perhaps the most suitable title to a song's sound ever! 'Ghost Trio' is linchpinned by a simple, oddly iconic soundly one note rhythm, which is incredibly good and used very cleverly, one of the album's highlights!
This is an experimental album, intelligently pulled off, and is definitely a highlight in the band's discography. All the 4/5 or 8/10 reviews in the world can't stop me giving this unsung album a 5/5!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
A+++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
Great item and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
A little clumsy and awkward and bland at times but for the most its a good album, one to enjoy mainly , sharp, snappy, edgy for sure but odd moment doesnt work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
If you already love Therapy? then you'll know this is going to be great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
This album is very similar to Crooked timber. Not in terms of sound but continues the same dark tension and social claustrophobia. If anything, I consider this album & Crooked timber as truly "intelligent" T? albums. Just like music, every song gives a strong message, usually put in satirical and even funny way.

However, A brief crack of light is even better than Crooked timber. I love every song in its own way but highlights for me include Marlow - my favourite T? instrumental. Totally out of ordinary, a breath of the fresh air and "a brief crack of light" in this maddening tunes.
Get your dead hand off my shoulder is another instant hit for me, as well as Ecclesiastes. Very experimental, very unique. I love it. A great way to end this journey.

Everything under the Sun... is absurd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
I'm starting to think that Troublegum a perfect album in every sense was written by someone else and gifted to Therapy?
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
as with all therapy albums your never quite sure what you are going to get, for sure therapy have a distinct sound but no record sounds the same or like any other band out there at the time. i have been a long time of therapy and always loved what they have done. although with crooked timber i found it took a few listens to get into, this album i love from the off set. check it out you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
After the fantastic 'Crooked Timber' I was worried that 'A brief crack of light' wouldn't be able to live up to my expectations. It's a colder album than Crooked Timber, and it takes the more experimental parts of that album and rolls with them, and it works really well. The first track, 'Living in the shadow of a terrible thing' is classic Therapy? Heavy riff, tight drums, loud Bass and catchy chorus, a great opener. then we have 'Plague bell' a bitter, and very angry in your face tune with dis-chordant moments, and one of my favorites. After that 'Marlow' then surprises the hell out of you, a happy sounding, bouncy tune on the surface, it's mainly an instrumental but after a few listens you start noticing all the subtle nuances, and the shifting drum beats. it's definately a darker tune that the first listen lets on. 'Before you, with you, after you' is somewhere close to 'classic' Therapy?. A fast paced opening settles down to an almost spoken word verse over a chugging riff, then a big chorus opens it up. A live favorite i'd reckon. Then we come to 'The Buzzing'. I think 'The Buzzing' fantastic. It goes from being a crazy and ranting tune, that purposely falls to pieces with Andy's vocals sounding like they're on a scratched record. A melodic centre then leads back to it being a loud and harsh, albeit with a faster harder drumbeat, then it stops with a single chord followed Neil Cooper playing a dubstep drumbeat to see the song out. Simply awesome. 'Get you dead hand off my shoulder' is a cold sounding, quite minimalist tune, harks back to 70s and 80s electro in some ways, definately an album highlight. 'Ghost trio' is something I believe Andy Cairns has been wanting to do for years, one single note played on the guitar, and the Bass and Drums do such an excellent job, it takes a few listens to realise it. Brilliant. 'Why Turbulence' has an almost sleazy riff, and the most toungue in cheek lyrics on the album "Put me in a minor key - default setting" And once again has some properly excellent Drumming. 'Stark raving sane' Is a crazy, fast paced Drum and Bass lead tune which ends just as you've think you've got a handle on it. Album closer 'Ecclesiastes' is a totally different beast altogether, a slow thoughtful, haunting tune that once again seems to have influences with 70s and 80s electro. It will probaly be one of the more devisive tunes on the record, but it does end the album beautifully. 'A Brief Crack of Light is a damned fine album, and for a band that's been going for more than 20 years, it makes it all the more impessive. I didn't plan on a track by track review, but that seems to be what I've done. Gary
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)