Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 3 October 2014
Three stars would be too generous really. There is more to writing an historical novel than slapping a twelfth century date on the top. The modern language and names grated horribly, but even so I was prepared to give it a fair go but the plot just got less plausible as it went along. If you want to match your brother up with a well bred young lady, you invite her to visit with her father, not get yourself kidnapped! Ridiculous. The hero is writing to the king, but I doubt this writer even knows which King that was, given the date she has haphazardly slapped on this tale. She knows as much about English history as I know about breeding goldfish, which is nothing at all. It is a shame, because with a little more effort, some research, she might have had a good novel, but this comes across as being thrown together in a couple of hours for no other reason than to advertise her other books. The use of a thesaurus might have helped as her limited vocabulary grated almost as much as the modern names and language.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2013
I would've asked for a refund if I'd actually paid for this book. Thankfully I didn't, but I regret wasting my time. The book (if it can indeed be called a book) was more like one chapter of a proper book. The story had potential. Too bad the author didn't see fit to spend a bit more time building on that potential. I wouldn't recommend to anyone...even if it was free.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2017
a *****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2012
I was very disappointed with this book. For a start it was very short and a good percentage of the book was taken with advertisements for other books. The story was excellent but unfortunately it was too brief and not enough was taken in developing the main characters. A missed opportunity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2014
While the story is good, it was crammed into about 80 pgs even though should of been 222 approx rest made up of excerpts of authors other books. Very misleading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2014
Lovely book,shame it wasn't longer. hopefully I will read more if laurel O'Donnell books and enjoy them as much if not more than this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2012
Having checked the number of pages I was convinced I was getting a book of a decent size. Imagine my disappointment when I got to 38% only to be presented with the phrase "the end"! The rest of the download was full of adverts and excerpts for other books from this author. Had I paid for this book I would have been asking for a refund.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2012
Overall this was a good story with a lot of emotion packed into it. It's novella length and I did pick it up for free, but I would've gladly paid money for it. The brute, Reese, is basically forced to marry the heroine and he's none too happy about it. He treats her coldly while the rest of his household accepts her, with the exception of his brother who would be happy to see her dead. Jayce doesn't take his verbal abuses lying down, and Reese is tortured by the guilt his own actions cause, even though he feels she doesn't deserve any kindness. When tradegy strikes, Jayce gets a glimpse of his gentle side and begins to hope for a real marriage. Right before the explosive ending, we find out the circumstances surrounding this forced marriage were not what they seemed. I wasn't thrown off by the ending between the hero and heroine - I thought there was enough closure there - but by the fact that they aren't privy to the truth surrounding their forced marriage even though the reader is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 April 2013
I read The Bride and the Brute in one sitting, because it is actually quite a short read. Despite the title, Reese is not really a brute. Stubborn, yes, a brute, no. Just a man who swore he would marry for love but find himself blackmailed into marriage to a girl he does not even know. He blames his new wife for his predicament while knowing deep down that he might be a tad unfair. So that makes him gruff but he would never harm her. It is the idea of how the marriage came in and some childhood memories about his mother, not his wife, that repulses him. This is why, despite the efforts in the book to make him appear a brute, he is quite a loveable character because you know he is torn in two. I think Jayce, his young wife, got the depth of him but did not know how to bring the best out of him. Lady Jayce is lovely too and you just hope that the both of them will come together. But so many things are unsaid between them, and pride being the first obstacle,that it seems unlikely.
A very sweet romance.
Please be aware that, even though it says that the book is around 222 pages, the story is much less than this. The 222 pages include other stories by the author.
Still, to be fair to the author, she did put it in the product description: ''The Bride and the Brute is a medieval romance novella. Please note this ebook also contains several multi-chapter previews of medieval romance novels written by Laurel O'Donnell.''
So, now you know.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2011
this is my first encounter with books by this authoress
am afraid that this story lack depth with all its characters. there was no mourning for the death of a loved one..no attending of funeral, nor what become of Jayne's family home. the characters of the husband and his brother are pathetic,,,one rejects the marraige and the other hated his sister in law and yet within a short time feelings altered!!!! too shallow!!
will not buy any of her books again
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse