Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
128
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2017
Nostalgie XXX
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
Ordered this as loved the television series and haven't been disappointed. Look forward to the other series being issued on dvd and hopefully soon!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
The Royal was one of the best dramas. Sad it got the chop. I've got this series and series 1. I do hope that they do release the other 6 series.
I used to enjoy watching this when it was on Sunday night. I've got every series of Heartbeat. There were a few big stars in The Royal, such as Wendy Craig (who was in the 1970's sitcom Butterflies), Paul Fox (who was in Emmerdale or Coronation Street), Michael Starke (who was in Brookside, he also went to star in Coronation Street) and Dennis Lil (who was in the BBC sitcom Only Fools and Horses).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
More from the friendly characters at The Royal and comfort television that was something Yorkshire TV was excellent at producing for decades. Well written episodes and characters.
The romance between staff nurse and Dr Cheriton develops but will it end happily? And, what of Mr Middleditch played by Ian Carmichael so beautifully. Denis Lill as Mr Rose a priceless performance from a great character actor. The series may be seen as fiction but it resembles much that went on in cottage hospitals in the 1960s and they did a great job looking after their community. Matron always looked after the standards.
I also love the music that is played in each episode as it brings back my memories and for the younger members of the audience it introduces them to earlier musical styles.
Locations...you cannot beat the Yorkshire coast and this shows has it all. Looking forward to getting series 3.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Ive really enjoyed watching the The Royal.

Having finished watching Heartbeat and wonderjng what to watch next, I though about trying the Royal. Its certainly as good.

Sadly only series 1 and 2 seem to have been released.

However Ive just discovered that series 3 to 8 (in 2 sets) are available on a well known auction site. These arent English, but imported from Finland. However although the dvd cover and titles are in Finnish, the actual programme is the original English. The only disadvantage is that the subtitles seem to need turning off at the start of every episode.

Im know half way through series 3 and really enjoying it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
GREAT GREAT GREAT - Another release of The Royal. I for one can't wait to get this second series. The whole concept of The Royal was well thought out and charming. The series replies on good storylines, music from the 60's that fits the scenes with great acting but without the need foul and bad langauge.
44 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2012
Another great series set in the sixties around a small cottage hospital, this show was one of the best around.
Great acting with a good balance of drama and humour and some great tunes to boot.

I love this show because it takes me back to when I first started nursing. It was a little cottage hospital very similar to St.Aidens.
The ward sisters ruled with a rod of iron and we had a matron so scary, you'd make a bee line for the laundry cupboard or sluice to busy yourself until she's finished her ward rounds.

This is British TV at it's very best and I hope they release all the series on DVD.

I can't recommend this DVD enough, pure nostalgia and if you like Heartbeat, you'll love this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2012
I love the royal and finally its on dvd and I can relive it again, great for the young and old. If you love heartbeat you will love the royal series 1 is already available on dvd.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 February 2012
Picking up on a coach-hanger, we have series 2. Without going into too much detail, this is marvellous. Sit back and enjoy the entertainment. Like 'Heartbeat', the realism is not the key. It is the satisfaction of just taking it in. Another six episodes following on from series 1. Now we know the scenario and personalities. More expected,hopefully.
The titles of the episodes are scene setters. They are meaningless in terms of following on and looking forward to the next. Read into what you wish.Memories are made of these. Now we have the record.
1)All At Sea: Dr Cheriton and Taylor go to a fishing boat. Family scuppers.The Weatherills are in an awkward situation to say the least.Ken gets more than hot fat from his chips.
2)Snakes and Ladders:Ian Carmichael ( Middleditch) goes to be replaced by Nigel Harper (John Axon). Hypochondriacs and snake bites take place on the board, but the Ormerod's have to take on depressive suicides.
3)Thicker Than Water: Dedicated Sister Brigid has a moral and faith crisis. The humour is provided by the laundry fiasco by Ken. Not appreciated by Matron.
4)Wishing and Hoping: Whooping cough (prevalent then withought vaccination). Tragic consequences. Mr Rose continues to diagnose everything and anything. Throw your medical dictionary away. Self-operating is not recommended unless you have a pipe to assist (I assume Old Shag has an antiseptic property) plus an ego. Cheriton and Meryl have an excursion. No more said.- until later.
5) One of Those Days. Boating accident? Dr Ormerod is off, as usual, faster than knots at sea. Not a good result. Mr Rose transforms himself into a master of everything again and performs feats seen in the circus. Brilliant. Matched by Sister Brigid. Staff Nurse Meryl Taylor has personal worries.
6)The Last Waltz. Hopefully not. Ken gets the ball going at the end. Moral dilemmas otherwise predominate. Emotional relationships, revelation or not of staff and patients keep the attention (not that it has been lost).

These synopses are not, of course, the be-all and end.The major players are the cast. The superb matron (Wendy Craig), the multi-talented superhuman Mr Rose, the long-suffering (always pretty, I've noticed) nurses, Lizzie, plus the harmless scallywag porters. Also script writers and dirctors. Put belief and a touch of fairy dust into your cup of tea and scone (or whatever) and enjoy replaying Sunday nights in front of the fire as they were intended. More series to come (on DVD) but we never know. Surely. Keep up the support.
33 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)