Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 30 August 2014
One of the best drama's of the 70s.

Please look to the C. Fuller's, review which is really top notch. Ian Hendry is at his best here, maybe because the screen character is a alcoholic, and this problem was one he had in real life. A series of vignettes about expats who own a Taverna/bar, and some of the characters that frequent the establishment. For each has their own narrative - or dare I say secret.

Please note this series was made in the 70s,and the transfer to DVD may put people off, but saying all that it is a Gem - and well worth the purchase.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
I cannot say how much I love this series. I took a chance on it because I liked (and was haunted by) Michael J Bird's 'The Dark Side of the Sun' when it was first broadcast, and when I watched it more recently. You just have to keep watching this, the stories are so gripping. Obviously given the production values, and technology available at the time, it would very easy to find some effects dated (like the tarantula scene) but the drama just carries it, the acting is pitch perfect, and the relationship between the excellent Ventham and Hendry makes for compelling viewing. Superb.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2007
One of Michael J Bird's earlier successes, that stands up well to the thirty five years since it was first broadcast. Brilliant cast, well directed, great settings, and excellent story lines. Series one tells the stories of the people that make up the ex pat community in Crete, and sets the scene for the Shepherd's own story which runs through series two.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
I remember watching "when first out on BBC. Seventies maybe but how I was hooked. Wanda Ventham of course can make any red-blooded male watch anything she stars in, but I digress. The series was haunting, exciting and with Ian Hendry too could not miss. Crete before mass tourism, basic tavernas, no traffic, winding roads. A storyline of stealth and "sleepers" (spies awaiting their use). A drink sodden husband who doesn't deserve his gorgeous wife, speed boats, island hopping and guest appearances especially that wonderful actor Thorley Walters. Thoroughly deserving of the cliche "They don't make them like this any more"!! Followed up by series two to complete the saga. Years went by and it stayed firmly imprinted in my memory. To have it presented to me on DVD from Amazon by my good lady as a present brought a lump to my throat. (She must have got fed-up of me banging on about it). Have repeatedly watched it again. A sequel, "Who pays the Ferryman" is also a must see!! To those of you who have not seen either then get to it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
a bit dated some of the episodes were good other I found a bit short on the storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
first class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Excellent, great entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2007
Set in Crete, The Lotus Eaters tells the stories of the customers and locals who come to Shepherds Bar - run by Ann and Erik Shepherd. Married for 10 years, this couple are not all they seem. Kindly Erik (Ian Hendry), who acts as a sort of unofficial Consul and helps out the ex-pats with any problems they have, is a recovering alcoholic. His wife Ann (Wanda Ventham) stood by him when he was arrested following the death of a young woman - but Ann's own secret past is far more explosive that her husbands.

The episodes each contain a complete story, revolving round the lives of the regulars at the bar. The bluff Major and his timid wife are all too typical of the Brit Abroad - but is she the victim of domestic abuse or is there another life in danger in their relationship? Happy, hippy students Mark and Kirsten are as loveable as they are naive - can Erik come to their aid when a brother and sister decide to set them up in a nasty social experiment? Bar Fly Nester (wonderful performance by Maurice Denholm) earns his drinks money by sketching the tourists - and what a shock for his daughter when they meet up - she was told he died in 1948!

With police chief Captain Krasakis on hand, the peaceful and beautiful world of Crete is surely as idylic as you could hope for - but death is coming to the little village of Aghios Nikolaos and Erik and Ann will soon find their lives shattered by ghosts from the past.

With a wonderful production book included, cast interview and 9 50 minute stories, this series would fit into any TV schedule even today - the scenery alone is worth the purchase price but it is the warm, decent characters of Shepherd's Bar and their inter woven lives that make this a must own dvd.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 29 January 2010
It is well over 30 years since The Lotus Eaters was originally screened on BBC2 and then BBC1. Created by Michael J Bird the story involving undercover spies, colourful characters, marital stresses and beautiful scenery was incredibly popular and its release on DVD is long overdue.

Starring the highly talented and much missed Ian Hendry as Erik Shepherd and sultry actress Wanda Ventham as his wife Ann they are the owners of a bar on the Island of Crete. Other regular characters are artist and reprobate Nestor Turton played by Maurice Denham along with, Police Chief Krasakis played by Stefan Gryff.

A whole host of well known faces guest star in each episode and whilst giving none of the game away the 9 stories are self contained and very watchable.

In spite of this being 1970s drama the style of presentation and acting has stood up very well to the test of time. I think this is because of the clever mix of location and studio filming and of course the well constructed stories.

If you remember the series as I do then it will not let you down seeing it again and if it's the first time around then you are in for some excellent drama.

Don't miss the Second Series which completes the story...
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 7 May 2008
One of the best drama's of the 70s. Please look to the C. Fuller's, review which is top notch. Ian Hendry is at his best here, maybe because the screen character is a alcoholic, and this problem was one he had in real life.

Please note this was made in the 70s,and the transfer to DVD may put people off, but saying all that it is a Gem - worth the purchase
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)