Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2015
This has long been one of my favourite shows, the sheer ludicrous of it is great. A show that has stood the test of time. Hoping to lose money everything goes wrong and they end up with a hit. The songs and music are great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Excellent delivery. Music's great. Fantastic soundtrack
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2003
While holiday in L.A i went to see the Producers and bought the soundtrack afterwards. It is so good that i havent been able to stop listening to the songs, especially "if u got it, flaunt it" which is rather amusing to sing when ur drunk! Definately get this cd, its great!!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2005
I had gone to see the (London) stage show after enjoying the film many years ago. To my pleasant surprise the stage show had introduced some new features and the whole experience greatly surpassed the film. The original London cast of Nathan Lane and Lee Evans were superb with Lane as Max Bialystock having stood head and shoulders above the rest of the wonderful cast. Having had such a good experience I wanted to re-live the experience through the Cast Recording although I was a touch apprehensive about how Matthew Broderick would compare to Evans however I needn't have worried as he plays the timid, niaive Leo Bloom to perfection.
If you are easily offended by stereotyping don't bother watching or listening to The Producers but for everyone else who has a sense of humour who can enjoy Mel Brook's tongue-in cheek absurdity then this is a must for your CD collection. In these days of political correctness Brook's throws the rule book out of the window with his larger than life characters.
Clever writing littered with subtleties and excellent timing make this musical comedy glide through seamlessly. This is Brook's materpiece and he has more than successfully managed to transfer and improve upon a classic film to create the kind of smash stage show that Max Bialystock worked so hard to avoid. At least he could keep listening to the CD to figure out what went so right!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2001
This is a fantastic recording - I laugh loudly every time I play it and I wish I could give it more than 5 stars. Since you're in for a long wait to get tickets for the show, I suggest you buy this immediately!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2001
Having experienced the suet puddings of Lloyd Webber et al for the last 20 years I think we could be seeing the rebirth of musicals that are funny, clever and grown-up. I bought this in New York after half-heartedly trying (and failing) to get tickets to see it and this soundtrack must surely be the next best thing.

Not only are the songs hilarious, they are also as memorable as the notorious 'Springtime For Hitler' and the performers pitch each rendition with just the right combination of bravura and showbiz schtick.

One of the funniest films ever has surely been improved upon for the stage. Nice one Mel!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2005
Brill...couldnt say much else....really enjoyied the show so had to buy the soundtrack....couldnt say no when i saw it here...give it a try u wont regret it...xx
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2005
Only one word is needed to sum it up. Fantastic!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2002
One song from the film, "Springtime for Hitler" and the rest brand new. A smash-hit old-style musical with very hummable tunes and witty lyrics. I have also seen the musical, it is very funny, more so that the film. Nathan Lane may not be wellknown in the UK, but he is an enormous talent. If you like Broadway musicals, buy this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
although not a fan of mel brooks the writing of the producers is excellent, very funny and well performed on this recording
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)