Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
199
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 October 2012
I think iPad cases really are an individual thing and you have to think carefully about what you want it for. I spent hours looking for just the right one that would give me a protective case, an adjustable stand (landscape and portrait)and a detachable bluetooth keyboard (with English layout). This one fits the bill exactly and works brilliantly. The iPad can be supported at any angle, especially if you remove the keyboard from its magnetic holding place, giving great flexibility to suit all positions. My son uses it for games on the sofa; I can adjust it to use at a desk. If you remove the keyboard completely you can fold the bottom flap back and under and it looks just like one of the more minimal case/stands (you can even do this with the keyboard still in place). The keyboard is solid and I find it really responsive. Touch typists complain about the small keyboard size, but for a two finger typist like me I found it actually made me quicker! When it's closed it feels very secure - it may be a little bulky for some people but I actually like the reassurance of a more solid case. If you want a versatile case with a quality keyboard I really recommend this one. Oh, and after cross referencing with the Kensington website I found out this will suit the new iPad as well (which is what I'm using it with), not just the iPad 2.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
The Good:
Good keyboard with appropriate shortcuts
You can adjust the angle of the screen easily
Magnetic keyboard
Holds the original Motorola Xoom well

The Bad
The materials used to coat the outside of the case are beginning to wear away.
The rubber corners to hold the tablet in are not glued to their Velcro coating well.
The keyboard can take a while to turn on.

The Conclusion
This keyboard case is probably the best generic keyboard case for tablets, however the build quality is not up to scratch for the price (£60 at time of purchase).

UPDATE: The rubber corners used to hold the tablet are falling apart and the outside of the case is peeling away.
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
I got this iPad case to replace the smart cover that I've been using with my iPad 2. First impressions when taking this out of the packaging is that this really stinks - like that new car smell to the max. Thankfully after 24 hours of airing it was a lot better and a week later it's fine.

The iPad slots into the side of the case easily, it's a snug fit and is held in place with a flap that's wrapped around the outer edge then tucked in. The front, back and sides of the iPad are then covered, though it seems like the outer (right) two corners are still slightly prone. Holes are provided for the home button, front and back cameras, headphone jack, dock connector, and volume keys so the iPad never needs to be removed once it's in place. However, the internal iPad speaker is slightly muffled.

The style of the case is more business than leisure, but it has a good quality feel. The iPad can be propped up (in landscape mode) at an angle using a Velcro strip and the keyboard can be removed from the case easily and positioned more comfortably. This works well on a flat surface but can be a bit unbalanced when used on your knee, for example. The case is quite weighty with the keyboard and iPad in place; this can be slightly mitigated by removing the keyboard if you know you're not going to need it - it's attached with 4 magnets and is easy to remove - and the case still works quite well without it.

The keyboard battery was flat when it arrived; after a couple of hours plugged into a USB port it was fully charged (using the lead from my HTC phone, which means fewer cables to carry around). A slide switch on the right edge turns the keyboard on and off - it's not immediately clear looking from the top which position is on and which off, and this could do with better labelling. Pairing the keyboard with the iPad for the first time was quick and painless and once done it connects instantly as soon as the keyboards turned on. There are LEDs for power, Bluetooth, and Caps Lock. It has a surprising amount of key travel for such a small keyboard, allowing fast typing, and is an enormous improvement over the on screen keyboard. There's no key lag or dropped characters as can sometimes be the case with cheaper Bluetooth keyboards.

The keyboard has keys for Home, Photos, Lock, Search, On-screen Keyboard, and basic music and volume controls. I guess these are useful for some things, but they could be better - the photo key oddly uses the origami slideshow, not sure why you need to activate the onscreen keyboard from a physical one sitting right in front of you, and what's really weird is there's no key to actually switch to the music app, only to play/pause and skip.

This case and keyboard is expensive but is of very high quality, provides excellent protection for the iPad, and represents good value.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
It's a great case. Battery life is just perfect. Initially I didn't charge it and it still works after a month of use. The keys are perfect in size. Big enough for any fingers and small enough to fit anything inside the keyboard. The quality is in high level. Also the fact that the keyboard can be detached from the case and used from every ware in a room is really useful.
The only thing that the case could be improved is the vertical placement of the iPad. It can be placed only in landscape mode. Not vertically.
Anyway, it's a case that really deserves its money which, by the way, are quite honest
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
In my quest for a suitable ipad air keyboard I decided to try this one out. It turned out to be the worst of the lot I have had so far. It feels and oozes quality when you take it out the wrapper I must say but that is where the good ends! Pairing was a doddle so cant fault it there. However when typing the keys skip some commands sometimes meaning having to repunch keys to get the correct spelling.

Another bug is it simply does not offer optimum viewing angles at all and at the first angle it tends to tip over backwards. I absolutely hated it and repackaged it and began the process for a return and refund.

I might just get the ZaggKeys again or wait for them to launch an upgrade on the current one.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
The Kensington KeyFolio Pro 2 Case is described by Amazon in its title as being suitable for the "iPad Family" it is not - the iPad1 seems to have been disowned by the "Family". The 'manufacturer's description' makes no reference to the case not being designed for use with an iPad 1. I bought the Pro 2 Case on the basis of these statements for my iPad 1 and the balance of the reviews which praised the Pro 2 Case. An iPad1 will, at a pinch, fit in to the case, so if you don't mind it not quite looking perfect, then this is the case for you. The keyboard is just fine, as is the quality of the case. Set-up was a breeze and faultless. If I had an iPad2, or later, then I would probably give this 4 or 5 stars.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Style Name: Apple iOS - iPad Air|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The Kensington KeyFolio Pro iPad Air (i.e. the iPad Air) is a handy and quite smart looking case and keyboard for use with your iPad Air. The case is designed specifically to be used with the iPad Air and as such will not fit other models well or at all.

In a similar way to the majority of Kindle hard-backed/soft-covered cases, your iPad Air slips into the case which is then secured down with a dangling magnet clasp (the magnet securing to the body of the case and not your iPad). When in place, the iPad can be positioned upright (at multiple angles due to its clever magnetic design) to allow ease of use whilst in conjunction with the keyboard (basically in the end the overall layout is similar to flip-open laptop).

The keyboard itself is connected to the iPad Air via Bluetooth which connects within seconds once you have first established and allowed the link (which is a doddle). The keyboard also has its own inbuilt battery unit which lasts for up to 960 hours of ‘working time’ (very impressive) or 180 days on just standby (although we’ve only had the case for around a month now so I can’t say that we can confirm this claim!).

Upon getting the case out for the first time I have to admit that I was very surprised with how light it felt. Even with the keyboard included, the case doesn’t really add that much more weight onto the tablet, and because of its ultra-thin design, it doesn’t make your iPad really any less portable.

The keyboard itself has reasonable-sized keys, all in the standard Qwerty layout. And to be honest, upon using the keyboard with the iPad for the first time, I was surprised with how much I’d missed the ease of having the keys instead of the usual ‘virtual keypad’.

The overall feel and look of the case and keyboard is of a luxurious high-quality. Admittedly the actual case doesn’t feel like it would offer a huge amount of protection against particularly hard knocks and the like, but it’s certainly better than nothing at all. However, because of its thin and lightweight design, for general day-to-day commuting and the like, this really is pretty darn perfect.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
This is my second keyboard, as i had to return the first one due to a missing cable. The replacement arrived which also had a cable missing. So i decided that instead of having numerous replacements which may or may not contain the cable - which Amazon simply won't just replace, i would contact Kensington. So far they have not agreed to replace the missing cable - but i remain hopeful? I have therefore purchased a cable for £1.99 [free postage] from a delightful company who advertise on EBAY!. It arrived within a couple of days and hey presto my keyboard is fully charged. It really is a superb cover and keyboard, works like a dream and strongly made which will add some strength to my ipad air. It is a little heavy as some reviewers have described but in my view the added protection it gives to the ipad is a small price to pay. Connecting to the Bluetooth system was easy and the keyboard is very easy to use. I personally am delighted with this package and would highly recommend. Would have given it five stars but for the messing around with the missing cables.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
I bought this keyboard case after quite a bit of searching and primarily for two reasons:
1. The keyboard is removable - so I can keep it away from my 3 year old when she's playing with the iPad
2. This folio+keyboard set seemed to offer the best value for money

Having used it for a few weeks, my impressions are a mixed bag. The keyboard is excellent, but the case leaves quite a bit to be desired. But first, the good:

The actual keyboard is great. Yes it is a bit cramped given its dimensions, but that can hardly be helped, and typing is about as good as it gets on an iPad-sized keyboard. Pairing is simple and quick, and the response is reasonable.
The base of the keyboard is made of metal, which helps attach to the magnets on the bottom of the case. The magnets are quite strong and hold the keyboard in place very tight - I think it's very unlikely to fall off or come loose during usage.
Also, because of the metal base, the keyboard feels solid and firm. A nice touch is that the keyboard is equipped with tiny rubber feet which help it stay in place when used outside the case, say at a desk.

The one thing that's a bit of a pain is that you need to manually switch it on and off - as opposed to competing products from Logitech and Belkin which offer an auto-on using the magnets etc.
Another minor niggle is the Enter key is tiny and resembles the US layout rather than the double height Enter keys of the UK layout; but it's an easy fault to forgive.

The case however, is a different story - at least for me.
Yes, it feels nice and soft and all, but is really really thick and measures around 20mm at the thinnest (see my pictures). I realise that it is a good thing in some ways, knowing it will probably survive the occasional bump, but is really a shame for a product as sleek as an iPad Air that measures less than half of that thickness without a case.

The other complaint I have is with the advertised "three position" viewing angles when used with the keyboard. Due to the placement of the power buttons - see my photo - in the third position the iPad effectively sits on top of the buttons rendering them unreachable. This is really bad design as one needs to switch the keyboard on in order for it to work (wouldn't be a problem if it had auto-power on). So really, one only has two positions to use it with the keyboard 'docked' in.

To be fair you do get additional flexibility when used without the keyboard - the magnets that normally hold the keyboard in place now attach to the edge of the iPad, giving you plenty of viewing angles.

Another annoying 'feature' is the magnetic flap/clasp that holds the setup together when closed:
The theory is that when you open the flap, you should be able to flip it back and it attaches to magnets on the back, (the front being the keyboard side here), keeping it out of the way. In reality, the magnet on the back is badly positioned, and therefore doesn't always hold the flap as it should. This results in the metal-tipped flap moving around and hitting the screen of your precious iPad if you're not careful. Not a good feeling at all.

Bottom line:
An excellent keyboard with an admittedly nice-looking case; but a few questionable design choices and outright flaws irritate me enough to not recommend this case, unless you're just looking for a keyboard and consider the case a bonus.
review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2016
The keyboard they show in the photograph is not what is supplied. The one that comes has a host of non-standard characters, and it is at best difficult, at worst impossible, to get the key board to type the characters you want using combinations of shift, function, control and command. However, the keys actually do correspond in a lot of cases with a normal QUERTY keyboard. So, if you can memorise that, or you have an additional keyboard in front of you at all times, it's sorted. Almost. Kensington support for this keyboard seems non-existent. So, it's going back.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 50 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)