Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.09


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2004
I don't know about you, but I'm sick of all that MTV base style gangster rubbish, because it's aload of pants. This album, however, is brilliant.
It's an old school flavoured player but sounds just as fresh as anything out there, making you percieve that it was recorded only yesterday. It's an absolute classic and a must for any hip hop fan who prefers a slightly more distinctive and experimental sound in oppose to the more commercial side of the genre. Likewise, if you appreciate the foundations of hip hop then you'll love this stuff.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2001
93 'til infinity sums up the Souls of Mischief to a high degree. They manage to deliver everything that people search for in Hip Hop; Funky bass lines, big beats and lyrical innovation. A- Plus, Opio, Tajai and Phesto's voices compliment each other in a manner which reflects Souls of Mischief's unique style. This album is definately worth buying.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
One of the best Hip hop albums of the early 90's and I just needed to have it on CD's as I no longer have room for a deck!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
I only discovered them recently - one of the best hip albums of the 90s. I wished I had known about them back then !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2008
I hate to be the sole dissenting face in the crowd, but Souls of Mischief have never excited me like, say, Lords of the Underground or The Pharcyde do. Same style, pretty much; throw down jazzy samples over some breaks, then get a crew together in the studio to fight it out for who gets the next verse in. It's an explosive way to make an album, for sure, and I wonder why so many groups today are reluctant to explore it further. It would still work. Hell, it always will. The trouble with this particular chapter in the crazy world of early '90s rap is that no member of this Hiero project (bar Del, who shows up later on in the album) does enough to truly make a name for themselves; they're totally interchangeable, although they sound great doing it.

Track picks? "Yo, I find it fun to smash emcees into fine bits" is the hungriest this album ever gets, so that gives "That's When Ya Lost" an immediate advantage. The title track will forever (`til infinity, if you will) make it on to any hip hop mixtape I construct; it's just a completely chilled celebration of hip hop, dissing crews and, essentially, the track itself. Oh man, the synth work sounds like it belongs on a Boards of Canada record! The fun lovin' violence of "Batting Practice" over looping brass is also a perennial favourite, although that's practically an automatic pick. S'all good though, I can't complain. There's no bad verses, no wack beats and no weak moments. There's just a nagging sense that, while I'm jamming this disk every once in a while, I should be digging deeper in the genre. Thousands of buried records remain to be discovered, the cream of which will surely combine the best bits of this with passion, lyrical fireworks and a bit more chaos.

If you want to label this as one of rap's all time high points, that's cool; I have no problem with that. Essentially, 93 `til Infinity is a fully competent excursion through my absolute favourite style of music that never ventures below "good". It's just been done better, I feel.
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2001
If you want to listen to some uncomercialized, uncash money bull this is the CD, The Rhymes are strong and so are the beats. It's on a permenet rotation on my hi-fi.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2016
Happy with it thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Class is timeless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Satisfied
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2005
One of the top ten hip-hop albums of all time from one of the best years for hip-hop. Essential.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)