Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
31
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2012
this book in my oppinion is based on the taming of the shrew with sex appeal. fun, lighthearted read,a bedtime read that can be read in a couple of hours
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
As yet almost all of the reviews of this book are only a few lines long. It calls for more, reviving memories of both Shakespeare and Robert Louis Stevenson.
The link to Shakespeare is obvious, but here the taming is by warmth and friendship rather than by grinding down the opposition.
Did you know, though, that Stevenson wrote a novel called Catriona around 1900? Based mainly in Edinburgh this love story is complicated by the fact that neither she no he believes the other will be interested, and so they never manifest their true feelings.
In "Charming…" the young ones' reticence stems from the problems that their clan loyalty calls forth.
Where this book fits in to the Classics scenario is not the subject of this review: but I do say that it was much more fun to read than the works I compare it to, it's historically plausible, and the romantic turn around is sweetly done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
This was a charming story. I had read the next book some time ago, so was pleased to find this one. It made sense of the earlier book I read. Well done Laurin, keep up the good work.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
Just a really good read with plenty of entertaining characters,situations and settings. The period details are less secure than the rest but I wouldn't hold that against the purchase of more by this author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Very much enjoyed this very glad when the main characters finally untangled themselves ! One really felt the cold weather .
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
all the books l have ready so far l have enjoyed, everyone of them l would recommend them to anyone
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Poorly written A poor 'Mills and Boon' or teen romance.
if American writers try to write British historical novels, they should try to get their facts right and not to use modern American slang expressions
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
A very good story of intrigue and love. Enjoyed it very much. My pet hate a chapter from another book at the end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
I started reading this book but found it rather hard going and long winded. not too much meat on the bones!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Really enjoyed this book. Had twist and turn s along the way. Good balance between the two lead character s
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse