Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 July 2012
I got this as a gift and thought 'ah well' as I have read 2 or 3 biographies on Elizabeth II and would have also watched many documentaries so I was very pleasantly surprised when I found that I didn't know it all! It doesn't focus on any of her co stars or their stories to the degree that some other biographies do. The stories of Diana, Charles, Prince Phillip et al are only mentioned when relative and necessary and never detract from the story of the Queen herself. It goes through all her prime ministers and her relationships with them which I hadn't read about in such detail before and all in all it's a very enjoyable book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
the content is great, but the front edges are rough .and feel as if they`ve been chopped. Not what I expected on a book at this price, and one I want to keep,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Very enjoyable read and a more personal look at HM and her life. would not hesitate to recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
There is no doubt that this is simply excellent value for anyone wanting to read an up-to-date and heavily biased account of the Queen. Readers should also take a look at Sarah Bradford's equally worthy biography Elizabeth: A Biography of Her Majesty the Queen (Penguin Literary Biographies), Bradford's bio only takes us up to the events just before Diana's covenient death (for the Windsors) in 1997.

Bedell Smith's biography takes up all the events to the end of 2011, so is much more comprehensive. Of course, the 4 stars can really only really apply to someone who has been taken in by the Royal propganda, much like some of the Germans were taken in by the Nazis ralles and symbols, and many some of Russians were seduced by the Soviet propoganda machine. And let's not forget North Korea; those people must be stupid. Not like the British (and the rest of the Commonwealth); they have "freedom".

But, in fact, very few people were seduced by the symbols of the propoganda of the Nazis and Soviets; they simply went along with them out of fear. The "Royal Family" has learned from this, which is why books like these continue appeal to the masses. Now the slaves love their slave-owners and believe they are "free".

One really annoying thing from my paperback edition (which I bought second-hand) is that we get "Sally Bedell Smith" (the author) at the top of every left-hand page throughout the book, and "Elizabeth The Queen" (the title - do we have to reminded?)at the top every right. So if I want see which chapter I am in by just opening the book, I have to go to the front or find the beginning of the chapter! Very annoying! Much like the Royal Family!

Bedell Smith happily leaves out the fact that the Queen is head of a Satanic regime going back at least as far as Charles II, controls virtually all the world's drug-trafficking (see "Dope, Inc.") and happily allows her "security" services to occasionally murder her own subjects (and a few others) when the need arises, such as in "Gladio: NATO's Dagger at the Heart of Europe" by Richard Cottrell. Lastly, the bank in which she is a major shareholder (the Bank of England, set up by her Freemason ancestor Charles II), fleeces her subjects by billions every year.

What a true public servant!

A.M.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Nothing new , everything one has read in newspapers over the years. Very poor and not worth wasting time on.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
A satisfying purchase - thankyou!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2016
A well written book. Informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
a good detailed read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
I have read some good reviews of this book but have been largely disappointed by it. There has been little which is new in the book and its tone is reverential. The woman, and there must be one there, does not shine through. I am fascinated by 'royalty' but am no royalist. Unfortunately this book tells me why.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)