Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



on 13 September 2012
This DVD is very disppointing. Love Kojak but at least halfof the episodes were unwatchable as the sound quality was so poor and the dialogue could not be deciphered. Shocking at the price of £35.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 May 2012
Note - This review is specific to the excellent Region 1 Shout Factory release, and NOT the terrible Region 2 Mediumrare effort.

Lt. Theo Kojak - probably one of the coolest telly detectives of them all. Played with infinite charm by Telly Savalas, Kojak is a tough New York policeman who is about as straight as you can get, doing his best to keep the innocent citizenry safe. A character with wit and intelligence, a heart, and a no-nonsense approach which allows the rules to be bent if it means bringing a villain to justice. Savalas is perfect in the role, his imposing physical presence filling the screen and his magnetic charm keeping you glued to the set. With his nattily dressed style, deep reassuring voice and well chosen naturalistic sounding `street' dialogue, Kojak is an impressive and believable construct, almost a living being rather than a work of fiction.

The joy of the series for me is that while it has a strong central character in the form of Kojak, it also has a very strong supporting cast, especially Dan Frazer as Kojak's Captain, and Kevin Dobson as Crocker, Kojak's number two. Kojak might have the brain that fits the pieces together, but the detective work shown here relies on a team, all doing the boring stuff of checking files and making endless phonecalls in order to find the clues Kojak needs. It's as much about the team as it is about the main character. That the script writers managed to make mundane policework look so interesting is a testament to their abilities. There is also quite a bit of comic interplay between Kojak and Stavros, played by Savalas' real life brother George, which never feels too jokey or out of place - it comes across as tough men doing a tough job letting off a bit of steam, another credit to writers and performers.

Beautifully remastered and with great sound, these look and sound fantastic. As far as I can tell the episodes are uncut. The quality of the release is superb, far superior to the poor Region 2 effort that we have had for a few years now. The European release had faded colours, interference, colour leaking and blurriness in picture and sound. The American release is taken from a much better source, and the picture and sound are both pin sharp with a real vibrancy to the colours. I will definitely be waiting for Shout Factory to release Series Five rather than buy the European release. I have hopes that this will be soon, as Shout Factory have just released a complete Kojak films set, including the Marcus Nelson Murders inexplicably omitted from Universal's release of series 1 a few years ago, and they look set to release the rest of the Kojak catalogue.

An excellent set, a real gem in my DVD collection. 5 stars, no hesitation.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2012
Real nostalgia for Kojak fans - the good old days when plots were interesting and actors all looked different from one another!

This is an enjoyable series, with reasonably good picture quality but the sound balance is poor in some episodes where the background noise (typewriters and footsteps in a busy office for example) makes some of the dialogue difficult to hear.

So, I turned up the volume and got deafened by the next run of Kojak's police siren!

However, it's enjoyable just the same.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
Seasons 2 and 3 are not available in the US but are now availale in Europe (I live on the US side of the pond). These DVDs do not appear to have been remastered so if Film quality is critical, you will be disappointed. The DVDs are very watchable, just don't compare them to other releases of old TV shows that have been remastered. These old Kojak episodes are better than anything new being offered on American TV today, in my opinion anyway. You will need an "all region" DVD player to watch this on an American DVD player.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
The sound quality does vary from episode to episode The series itself and the picture are fine but strange they were allowed to sell this set with poor sound quality hence 4 of out of 5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Real oldschool stuff i like 70's tv shows kojak is still fun too watch but starsky and hutch is the best show of 70,s
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Kojak, how can anyone be disappointed in any of the shows? I love his character and I wish there were more of Kojak and Telly Savalas...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2010
After a huge wait the second & thrid seasons finally see the light of day, Kojack is right up there with the very best of the US cops shows. Unlike a few of the other 70-80s shows Kojack tended to be darker and more gritty dealing with low lifes rather than 'the mob' & dodgey corporation heads. I'd say it's nearest counter part was the Streets of San Fancisco, but there is something about shows filmed in the sunshine that seems to somehow make even the worst crimes less harsh. I think Kojack still stands up today, and is certainly in my all time top three shows;

1)Rockford Files
2)Kojack
3)Hawaii Five-0

I hope this is the start of a few other shows getting there next seasons released.... TJ Hooker, SWAT, Hunter, Hart to Hart, and Quincy....
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
No sound on episode 2, series 3. They should not be able to sell this stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I only saw some of the episodes when they were first screened way back, so I was delighted to find the series being released on DVD. The sound quality has suffered a little, but not enough to be a problem and each disc does carry a note at the beginning to warn that quality may not be as good as it was originally. Loving the series all over again!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Kojak - The Complete Series [DVD] [1973]
£38.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)