Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 1 November 2017
You can tell Elvis mastered this. An interesting fly-on-the-wall record of the fabulous 4 but one individual seemed too prominent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
Product as described with quick delivery. Very pleased with this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2017
Not a great recording
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Yet another winner from Sun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
very interesting and great music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
This was a gift. The recipient was very pleased with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
They were great indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 February 2016
CONTENT:

“The Complete Million Dollar Quartet”, finally released by RCA (US) in 2006, contains the complete jam session. I have compiled a song listing:

01 Instrumental
02 Love Me Tender (instrumental)
03 Jingle Bells (instrumental)
04 White Christmas (instrumental)
05 Reconsider Baby
06 Don’t Be Cruel*Elvis impersonating Jackie Wilson impersonating Elvis!
07 Don’t Be Cruel
08 Paralyzed
09 Don’t Be Cruel
10 There’s No Place Like Home
11 When The Saints Go Marchin’ In
12 Softly and Tenderly
13 When God Dips His Love In My Heart
14 Just A Little Talk with Jesus
15 Jesus Walked That Lonesome Valley
16 I Shall Not Be Moved
17 Peace in the Valley
18 Down by the Riverside
19 I’m with a Crowd But So Alone*Elvis’ impersonation of Ernest Tubb, but it ended sounding like Hank Snow imitating Tubb.
20 Farther Along
21 Blessed Jesus (Hold My Hand)
22 On The Jericho Road
23 I Just Can’t Make It By Myself
24 Little Cabin (Home On The Hill)*tribute to Bill Monroe’s bluegrass music.
25 Summertime is Past And Gone*tribute to Bill Monroe’s bluegrass music.
26 I Hear A Sweet Voice Calling*tribute to Bill Monroe’s bluegrass music.
27 Sweetheart You Done Me Wrong*tribute to Bill Monroe’s bluegrass music.
28 Keeper Of The Key (Carl Lead)
29 Crazy Arms
30 Don’t Forbid Me
31 Too Much Monkey Business
32 Brown Eyed Handsome Man
33 Out of Sight, Out of Mind
34 Brown Eyed Handsome Man
35 Don’t Forbid Me
36 You Belong to My Heart
37 Is It So Strange
38 That’s When Your Heartaches Begin
39 Brown Eyed Handsome Man
40 Rip It Up
41 I’m Gonna Bid My Blues Goodbye
42 Crazy Arms
43 That’s My Desire
44 End of the Road
45 Black Bottom Stomp
46 You’re The Only Star in My Blue Heaven
47 (Elvis Says Goodbye)

During the afternoon of Tuesday, December 4, 1956, the world’s first superstar jam session took place and the Million Dollar Quartet, coined by Bob Johnson, was born. Elvis Presley, Carl Perkins, Jerry Lee Lewis and Johnny Cash got together and made music history at the famous Sun Studio in Memphis, Tennessee. Away from the glamour of the media spotlight, the impromptu performances provide a refreshing “fly-on-the-wall” glimpse of what music truly inspired them. From the songs, we can tell that Rock N Roll was born of white gospel, black gospel, old country, new country, doo-wop, blues, pop, and cowboy songs. This is what music is all about.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

The original “Million Dollar Quartet” was released in 1990. Since then, RCA has uncovered some songs that were unavailable before. Therefore, this is THE Complete Million Dollar Quartet in its entirety and original sequence. Thank you, RCA. If you are interested in the current set, you will also like a similar later set “Class of ‘55”, another jam session by Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis, Roy Orbison and Carl Perkins. This current set, of course, is highly recommended, especially for historic value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
Exactly right, right price and bang on time - excellent service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2007
As this is one in many releases of legendary jam session, with facts already said many times, I'll focus only on what makes this diferent from others.Sound is really much improved this time,thou it's clishe to say.
Now it's easier to recognize voices and even hear some singing you haven't
noticed before.Remastering is done by Kevan Budd, famous for his work on 'Elvis at Sun'.Cheers Kevan! Four 'new discovered' songs are all instrumental versions, first one being nice jam. Stand out is Carl's guitar picking on 'Jingle Bells'.'Softly and Tendery' is one minute longer, with extra verse duet between Jerry & Elvis and again distinctive Perkins guitar solo for the first time, and this is really great! All songs are now in it's original sequence, just like on the tape found in Elvis private collection (how about that, give us more!) - ergo better sound.Booklet is rather poor,as usual with RCA-BMG Elvis releases.
First RCA edition and last year Charly records edition have mutch better design and booklets with rare photos.
Why not include all photos from the session but only famous one?
This album is not recomended for casual listener, since sound quality is not high up to today's standards and people involved in this jam session were not aware of being recorded at that time,they were just having fun.
For Rock and Roll or Rockabilly collector, however this is a must.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Original Cast Recording
£7.99
The Legendary Session
£7.99
The Million Dollar Quartet
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)