Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2007
As this is one in many releases of legendary jam session, with facts already said many times, I'll focus only on what makes this diferent from others.Sound is really much improved this time,thou it's clishe to say.
Now it's easier to recognize voices and even hear some singing you haven't
noticed before.Remastering is done by Kevan Budd, famous for his work on 'Elvis at Sun'.Cheers Kevan! Four 'new discovered' songs are all instrumental versions, first one being nice jam. Stand out is Carl's guitar picking on 'Jingle Bells'.'Softly and Tendery' is one minute longer, with extra verse duet between Jerry & Elvis and again distinctive Perkins guitar solo for the first time, and this is really great! All songs are now in it's original sequence, just like on the tape found in Elvis private collection (how about that, give us more!) - ergo better sound.Booklet is rather poor,as usual with RCA-BMG Elvis releases.
First RCA edition and last year Charly records edition have mutch better design and booklets with rare photos.
Why not include all photos from the session but only famous one?
This album is not recomended for casual listener, since sound quality is not high up to today's standards and people involved in this jam session were not aware of being recorded at that time,they were just having fun.
For Rock and Roll or Rockabilly collector, however this is a must.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 February 2016

“The Complete Million Dollar Quartet”, finally released by RCA (US) in 2006, contains the complete jam session. I have compiled a song listing:

01 Instrumental
02 Love Me Tender (instrumental)
03 Jingle Bells (instrumental)
04 White Christmas (instrumental)
05 Reconsider Baby
06 Don’t Be Cruel*Elvis impersonating Jackie Wilson impersonating Elvis!
07 Don’t Be Cruel
08 Paralyzed
09 Don’t Be Cruel
10 There’s No Place Like Home
11 When The Saints Go Marchin’ In
12 Softly and Tenderly
13 When God Dips His Love In My Heart
14 Just A Little Talk with Jesus
15 Jesus Walked That Lonesome Valley
16 I Shall Not Be Moved
17 Peace in the Valley
18 Down by the Riverside
19 I’m with a Crowd But So Alone*Elvis’ impersonation of Ernest Tubb, but it ended sounding like Hank Snow imitating Tubb.
20 Farther Along
21 Blessed Jesus (Hold My Hand)
22 On The Jericho Road
23 I Just Can’t Make It By Myself
24 Little Cabin (Home On The Hill)*tribute to Bill Monroe’s bluegrass music.
25 Summertime is Past And Gone*tribute to Bill Monroe’s bluegrass music.
26 I Hear A Sweet Voice Calling*tribute to Bill Monroe’s bluegrass music.
27 Sweetheart You Done Me Wrong*tribute to Bill Monroe’s bluegrass music.
28 Keeper Of The Key (Carl Lead)
29 Crazy Arms
30 Don’t Forbid Me
31 Too Much Monkey Business
32 Brown Eyed Handsome Man
33 Out of Sight, Out of Mind
34 Brown Eyed Handsome Man
35 Don’t Forbid Me
36 You Belong to My Heart
37 Is It So Strange
38 That’s When Your Heartaches Begin
39 Brown Eyed Handsome Man
40 Rip It Up
41 I’m Gonna Bid My Blues Goodbye
42 Crazy Arms
43 That’s My Desire
44 End of the Road
45 Black Bottom Stomp
46 You’re The Only Star in My Blue Heaven
47 (Elvis Says Goodbye)

During the afternoon of Tuesday, December 4, 1956, the world’s first superstar jam session took place and the Million Dollar Quartet, coined by Bob Johnson, was born. Elvis Presley, Carl Perkins, Jerry Lee Lewis and Johnny Cash got together and made music history at the famous Sun Studio in Memphis, Tennessee. Away from the glamour of the media spotlight, the impromptu performances provide a refreshing “fly-on-the-wall” glimpse of what music truly inspired them. From the songs, we can tell that Rock N Roll was born of white gospel, black gospel, old country, new country, doo-wop, blues, pop, and cowboy songs. This is what music is all about.


The original “Million Dollar Quartet” was released in 1990. Since then, RCA has uncovered some songs that were unavailable before. Therefore, this is THE Complete Million Dollar Quartet in its entirety and original sequence. Thank you, RCA. If you are interested in the current set, you will also like a similar later set “Class of ‘55”, another jam session by Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis, Roy Orbison and Carl Perkins. This current set, of course, is highly recommended, especially for historic value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2011
This was a wonderful piece of rock and roll history to eavesdrop on. I had expected to struggle to hear what was being said and certainly there is background chatter that can't be deciphered, but many of the exchanges between the musicians can be understood. And, most importantly, the music quality is good enough and the spirit of the session is fully captured. Mostly, Elvis takes the lead but he also falls in with one of the others when they do. A very enjoyble cd.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2010
For any lover of rock n' roll this is quite simply a must have! What we have here is the sound of gods at play, to hear Jerry Lee picking up harmony lines behind Elvis, Carl pulling fat, resonating chords & the band kick in is musical heaven.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
i had this on vinyl and then the first cd release which was incomplete and now this one.a real glimpse into the past.the sound on this release is much improved and also the tracks are in the order as per the session.they were all stars of the day but elvis steals the show.very funny elvis recalling seeing billy ward and his dominoes at vegas with the lead singer imitating elvis doing "don't be Cruel",it was jackie wilson and elvis imitates jackie imitating him.very funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
This CD is rock'n'roll music history. 4 fantastic singers put together is a memorable day! A true ELVIS fan and a rock'n'roll lover should not miss that. The sound was remastered and you can listen now to it in crystal clear conditions! BUY IT!!!!! TCB
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2011
It's not great music, nor a great recording, but it is great to hear them all play together. You could almost feel yourself there with them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
It's great to hear what actually happened in the studio.
My interest was piqued by the stage show which I loved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
This CD is well worth having in your collection. It is very unusual with the four contributing in every way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2016
Fantastic bit of History for those interested in the early days of American Popular music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)