Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 10 November 2017
Er; I wasn't too impressed, given the impression that this was the greatest science fiction novel ever (see the last paragraph for a redemption on this opening statement). It simply isn't. For someone who had worked in the advertising business, the author gave every product and institution in this novel the most grinding and awkward names possible. He was either aiming to be irritating or simply lacked imagination or style. I don't know which.

The plot's OK, it's workmanlike and it sparkles from time to time but it isn't great writing.

The concept is pretty straightforward, you have to accept it was written around 1952, but even so, it only has one thing going for it. And, some of the paltry ideas of how one might live in such a dystopian future are genuinely disappointing.

Having said that; it is a bold statement, given the time it was written, when the immediate post-war US consumer economy was bursting forth unstoppably. And, to stand in its way was to be denounced as an enemy of the state, which is exactly what it is about, is the foresight that makes it prophetic, but not necessarily science fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2018
Good quality, would repeat
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2016
A must read for consumer sheep! Still relevant, still exposing the myths of consumerism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2015
Rightly suggested by Amis to be among the best Sci-fi books ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2011
The authors wrote a book in the 1950's whose main point on consumerism seems more true than even.
People who are not good consumers, are not good citizens and are shunned by society.
Being a conservationist is in fact a crime.
With all the talk these days about the need for economical growth and the way to get there is by consumers spending more this story feels very contemporary. This book made me think about our society and where we are heading and that makes it a brilliant book.
Being a citizen and a consumer are very different things and we rarely seem to talk about the former.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2014
I fail to understand the plaudits afforded to this novel. "Has many claims to being the best science fiction novel so far" according to KIngsley Amis. I would have to ask why?

From the cover and the blurb I expected some high end Bladerunner sci-fi noir - discussing in detail the problems of a massively overcrowded planet Earth struggling with dwindling resources and space, ruled ruthlessly by domineering sociopathic corporations. And whilst there is some vague inferences to that, these themes are not played out as fully as they could be, the world is only sketchily drawn for us as often seems to be the case with these older sci-fi novels. For a better discussion of these types of topics read Stand on Zanzibar or Make Room! Make Room! (filmed as Soylent Green) Instead it is a weak, flimsy and disjointed story of an unsympathetic advertising executive who entrusted with selling the thought of colonising Venus to the masses finds himself caught up in a web of double dealing, intrigue and industrial espionage. There are some interesting social observations but the quality of the writing, the weak and unbelievable characterisations and the silly plot simply do not make for a classic. Even Pohl himself joked that he though the story was rubbish which is why he had problems getting anyone to publish it. Having picked this up with high expectations it was a chore to read from about half way through - not surprising since it was apparently conceived in three parts.

Hard to believe this is from the same writer as the spectacular sci-fi classic Gateway which ranks among my favourite reads and the slightly lesser Manplus. I would definitely recommend either over this confusing mess.

Other brilliant works in the S.F. Masterworks include The Forever War, Book of Skulls, the touching Flowers For Algernon, Rendevous With Rama and the chillingly creepy Bodysnatchers.

Some of the disappointments are More Than Human, and A Case For Conscience.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2006
The Space Merchants is a superb little novel that can be enjoyed relatively quickly by all ages. It is a fast-paced, lesser-known book that is rightly part of the SF Masterworks series and indeed is considered by some to be in the top 20 sci-fi books of all time.
Mitch Courtenay is a star-class copywriter in the Fowler Schocken advertising agency who has been tasked with turning Venus into an attractive proposition for potential colonists. This much is known if you read the blurb at the back of the book but I was surprised at how much it deviated away from this and went into the realms of class-differences, environmentalism and corporate back-stabbing. Some of the ideas in this book may seem dated but it does feature two of the most original and interesting characters in any story. Jack O’Shea is a dwarf who was the first man on Venus who is now taking revenge on women who spurned him all his life by sleeping with many as possible. Chicken Little is a 15 yard wide living piece of protein that is routinely sliced to feed workers. I guess having two authors means twice the imagination!
The story is told from Mitch’s point of view which for its short length is perfect and I disagree with a previous comment that it felt laboured. I found the writing style to be perfectly adequate; it was witty, smart and sometimes completely irreverent which in the sometimes overly-serious world of science fiction I found wonderfully refreshing. Perhaps the only weakness I can see is that the characterization sometimes suffers especially as there are quite few of them over the course of 190-odd pages.
The corporate world features quite extensively throughout the novel and can be compared to Alfred Bester’s classic The Demolished Man.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2009
After appearing as a serial titled "Gravy Planet" in "Galaxy Science Fiction" from June through August in 1952, "The Space Merchants" by Frederik Pohl and C. M. Kornbluth was published in book form in 1953. Today the work is clearly regarded as a classic, and its satirical look at what society would look like in a future where consumerism becomes the major driving force is both humorous and a bit profound in terms of how close we have come to it.

There were few awards back in 1952 so it is not too surprising that "The Space Merchants" didn't win the first Hugo when measured against Bester's "The Demolished Man", but it is a little surprising that it wasn't considered for the International Fantasy award in 1952 when Kornbluth's much inferior "Takeoff" was one of the nominees, or in 1953 when "The Demolished Man" was considered and lost out to Sturgeon's "More Than Human". Perhaps it is the humorous premise on which the future society is based, and/or the light-hearted feel of the narrative which resulted in the work not gaining favor with those who select which works are worthy of consideration for awards. It was the fans who first recognized the book with the Astounding/Analog polls of 1956 where it tied for 22nd on the list of books, and in 1966 where ten years later it still finished 22nd on the list of books, and in 1975 when the Locus poll where it was tied for 24th for all-time novel. That is a pretty impressive feat to finish in roughly the same spot in polls taken over a twenty year period.

The story is told from the point of view of Mitch Courtenay, an employee in the Fowler Schocken advertising agency and a star-class copysmith. Mitch receives a promotion to take on the job of selling Venus to people, an account which Schocken has stolen from his rival Taunton. Mitch is in love with Dr. Kathy Nevin, but is having difficulty convincing her that they should stay together. There is also the illegal political group, the Consies (short for conservationists) who threaten the consumerism-based framework of the society.

Mitch's promotion and new project have him targeted by someone to be killed, and if that is not enough he is kidnapped and his identity stripped and he is placed in a position from which he might never escape. He is forced to create his own game to escape, gain his life back, and take on not only his own personal and professional enemies, but deal with the entire conflict between the Consies and society. The book is not all that long, and the pace is quite fast, but what a great ride it is from beginning to end.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2001
I first read this book twenty years ago and have just re-read it. It was written in the early fifties and describes what could arguably be described as the inevitable consequences for society of capitalism. Frederick Pohl, having been an advertising copywriter, writes in a simple style which suits his subject matter perfectly. Basically, the advertising agencies rule the world - 2 advertising agencies to be precise. In order to be a part of society, and there is enormous pressure to be so, you have to be a "good consumer" - buying and becoming addicted to whatever the agencies sell to you. The "baddies" are the consies - conservationists who endeavour to fight this most terrifying system where wood is the most valuable commodity as there is hardly any left. I have often thought what a good film this would make, but then having read the book again I realise that nobody in our 'system' would be brave enough! I can't recommend this book highly enough.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2012
Hmmmm, not a good book and I found it a hard slog to get thru it - which was a shame, as I really enjoyed the authors other work 'Gateway'. Still, maybe it was the lack of humour that threw it for me, but not a book I would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)